We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great accommodation, location and hosts”
other travelers have booked this property
Private hot tub.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private hot tub.
Sumptuous library lounge with log burning stove While away the hours reading a book and listening the crackle of the cosy log burner.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Private hot tub.
Sumptuous library lounge with log burning stove
While away the hours reading a book and listening the crackle of the cosy log burner.
Sit by the fire with a good book and a glass of wine
Fitted kitchen complete with both dining and soft seating areas
Luxurious power shower with complimentary toiletries...
Peruse the many books on display in the library lounge
Soak away all your stresses in your own private hot tub.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kelso, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
braehead2...
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
“great accommodation, location and hosts”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Nicely set out accommodation with tasteful décor. Quality furnishings. Peaceful surroundings. Very helpful hosts.
Ideally situated for sight seeing without travelling any distance at all. Spoilt for choice regarding historic sites and Great Houses/palaces .The quaint market towns of Melrose and Kelso get top marks for their variety of ' individual' shops and the Teviot smoker/ water gardens , a few miles from the house , is worth a visit. They also do very nice meals.
If you like to walk or cycle , there are plenty of opportunities to do this.
A marvellous area of the Border country.

Date of stay: August 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Thank you Lesley- you certainly packed plenty into your stay! We look forward to welcoming you all back next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
173saml
Dalston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding find near Floors Castle”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a find and a perfect bolt hole whilst watching our daughter compete at Floors castle horse trials. This must be the ultimate B&B with large spacious lounge, breakfast conservatory and bedroom en-suite. Its a shame we could not stay longer or just spend more time enjoying the Bothy experience. Next year. Ashley was the most gracious host and served a great breakfast. My expectations were high based on reviews and but the accomodation and welcome far exceeded this. We will be back next year.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Space, friendliness and by far exceeded our expectations
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments Sam,it is very much appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you both back to Kersmains for a longer stay next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed April 7, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at the Kersmains Bothy in March 2016. We were blown away by how beautiful the décor was and the small touches to really make our stay special. We felt the owner went above and beyond to make sure we had an enjoyable stay and couldn't ask for a nicer host. We only stayed for 1 night but wished it was 1 week! We hope to be back in the future and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing and homely stay in the Scottish borders.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the decor
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2016
Thank you both for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! We hope to welcome you back again soon! Ashley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleighc...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect, relaxing stay!”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My fiancé and I visited Ashley's Bothy on Saturday for a 1 night stay, and we had the best time! The fire was so cosy, sofas were super comfy and a great DVD collection - perfect place to hideaway with a glass of wine and listen to the rain battering the windows! The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great too. We were served a full cooked breakfast in the conservatory in the morning by Ashley (at a time of our choosing) and this was cooked to perfection. The Bothy didn't have Wifi (that we could find anyway!) but this was actually quite refreshing to get away from phones for a while!

I would thoroughly recommend the Bothy to anyone looking for a quiet and relaxing place to get away from it all - it was exactly what we needed! Thank you :-)

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susieggg
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we had stayed longer”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What a marvellous place to stay - superb accommodation, with a very comfy bed, a super cosy separate lounge with log burner and sofas - the perfect place in which to relax with a glass of wine - and an elegant conservatory for a private breakfast for two. So much space to ourselves and all so beautifully decorated.
Host Ashely couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming and served a delicious breakfast - at a time to suit us.
The Bothy really is a perfect spot for a few days of relaxation - I wish we had booked a longer stay and we will definitely return.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The space available -so much more than a B&B room
Liked least: A bath tub would have made it absolutely perfect but the shower was good!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2015
Thank you both for such a lovely review of The Bothy,we are delighted to receive such great and detailed feedback. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and look forward to welcoming you back to Kersmains sometime. Best Wishes,Ashley.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdaly25
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect stay Kersmains”
Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Bothy B&B. Our 14 month old son was with us so we really wanted more than just a room for a few nights. When we came across The Bothy it looked ideal. In fact The Bothy B&B was perfect - more than enough space for us to relax in the evening and enjoy the peaceful scenery around us. It was in a great location to explore the Borders area. We will definitely be back to Kersmains for another stay in the future. Thank you for being so welcoming!

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3-Wim-60
Schilde, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ideal retreat to visit the border abbays”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

we were looking for a B&B in the borders to visit the abbays and castles in this region. and we were very glad we could stay in the Kersmains Bothy. Not only for the good location, but also for the warm welcome by Ashley and Simon. The Bothy itself offered us a very spacious retreat: a large bedroom with well equiped bathroom, and as a magnificent surplus an even larger library/sitting room with adjoining a veranda. Looking for inn's, restaurants or any other info, Ashlet was also helping us.

summarized: we can remmend without any doubt this B&B

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2015
Dear Wim,
Thank you ever so much for such a lovely review. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around Scotland. Hope to have you back again sometime. Best wishes, Ashley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing