We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
First floor bathroom- the bath has a view of the stars!
Welcome to Kersmains Cottage....
The grounds of Kersmains...
Kersmains Cottage...private entrance and secluded garden
Cosy up by the log burner...
Large walk in power shower...
Guest Reviews...
Private garden for picnics or lounging in the sunshine....
Floors Castle just minutes from Kersmains
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kelso, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TobyB848
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great, well equipped cottage. Lovely friendly people. Beautiful part of the country. Will be back.. soon. A++.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2015
What a lovely review- thank you! You are welcome back anytime and we are just delighted that you all enjoyed your stay. Best wishes, Ashley.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow
Reviewed May 11, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MELANIE25...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Practically perfect in every way!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Gorgeous spot gorgeous rooms kitchen very user friendly everything you need when you go away to relax. Bedrooms just perfect, very comfy indeed,what more can I say will go back as soon as possible! Lots of lovely little touches most enjoyable.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon!Kindest Regards, Ashley & Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benoconne...
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Cottage in the Scottish Borders”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed from 27th Dec to 2nd Jan and had a great Festive break with family. The cottage is beautifully decorated and has plenty of space, with some great views out across the rolling hills of Kelso. Ashley & Simon were really helpful and nothing was too much trouble.They even organised a day out for us at Kelso races which was a great experience and something we would highly recommend! We brought our dog and there were lots of great walks leaving right from the front door of the cottage. We spent New Years at the nearby Roxburghe Hotel, we met a few interesting characters and felt a little under dressed next to the men in full military regalia complete with swords!! A night we will never forget! Back to the cottage, only suggestion would be an additional shower in the upstairs bathroom but other than that had a great time and would gladly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing break in the Scottish borders.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Kersmains, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. You are always very welcome and we hope to see you back again. Kindest Regards, Ashley & Simon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A haven of peace and tranquility”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at the cottage for a short break in December. On arrival quite late on a stormy night the cottage was lit, warm and beautifully decorated for Christmas. A further happy surprise was the welcome basket of local goodies.
The cottage was extremely spacious for our grown family of five with large bedrooms and plenty of living space. The kitchen was well equipped and very clean.
If you are looking for an ideal spot to explore the borders then look no further - you will not be disappointed.
Ashley and Simon are welcoming and answered all pre arrival emails by return.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you back to Kersmains again sometime soon. Kind Regards, Ashley & Simon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay2930
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots of space”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Stayed here as a family - a party of six adults. The location was great for cycling and bikes were stored securely. The cottage offers us lots of space to spread out and has a great utility/boot room for wet and dirty gear. The beds very comfortable. We like to cook when we are all on holiday together and found the lack of a dishwasher meant we spent a great deal of time washing up. The downstairs shower room was spacious but had no extractor fan and no mirror. Another shower in the upstairs bathroom would also help. The large sitting room/sunroom provided a great space to chill out but the only source of heating was a log burner - great but can you really charge folk extra for logs in this case? Great potential.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Kersmains Cottage and we are delighted that you all enjoyed the many cycle routes that we have on our doorstep. We provide a large starter basket of logs, kindling and firelighters for guests, which does allow for a few days use of the log burner, and only charge £5 for a full basket refill. As we do not cap the use of heating, hot water or electricity in the cottage, we feel this is reasonable and have found that it has always worked well. There is also an oil filled electric radiator in the sun lounge which perhaps you didn't see but we would have happily helped with this if you had mentioned this during your stay. As we are on the farm and only a few seconds away from the cottage we are always on hand to help in any way we can. We will certainly include a mirror in the downstairs shower room, but given that there is a bath upstairs, and a large shower downstairs we feel this is plenty for a 3 bedroom cottage. Thank you for your response and we hope to have you back to Kersmains again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing