We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great weekend!”
£40 PPPN THE BRAN STICHILL MAINS    PARKING FOR  10 CARS
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
£40 PPPN THE BRAN STICHILL MAINS    PARKING FOR  10 CARS
    
Large kitchen table seats up to 10 people , large tv on wall BEDROOM LARGE ENSUITE    TV        SOFA    ( first floor )
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
106 reviews
£40 PPPN THE BRAN STICHILL MAINS    PARKING FOR  10 CARS
Large kitchen table seats up to 10 people , large tv on wall
BEDROOM LARGE ENSUITE    TV        SOFA    ( first floor )
BALCONY LUXURY BEDROOM  HUGE ENSUITE WITH BATH  (first floor)
bedroom with en-suite TV. Ground floor
STICHILL MAINS  LUXURY BARN SLEEPS 14
 4 LARGE BEDROOMS  
4  BATHROOMS
BEDROOM WITH SUPER KING SIZE BED & 2 SINGLE BEDS ENSUITE BATH    (first floor)
BEDROOM WITH ENSUITE,  (FIRST FLOOR)
LOUNG TV GROUND FLOOR
BATHROOM WALK-IN-SHOWER    ( ground floor )
REAR TERRACE
FRONT OF THE BARN GRAVELLED PARKING AREA FOR IN EXCESS OF 14 CARS
FABULOUS VIEWS FROM THE TERRACE
bedroom with  TV. Ground floor
Bedroom with ( en-suite ) tv. Ground floor
Kelso Abbey
EILDON HILLS
SUNSET
Hume Castle.
RIVER TWEED IN WINTER
Junction pool river Tweed Salmon fishing
Floors Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kelso, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Erin M
1 review
“Great weekend! ”
Reviewed February 18, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Stayed here for my 21st birthday with 15 of my friends and had the best time! The house was a great size, clean and modern and the owners Susan and Arthur couldn't be any nicer. Would definitely recommend to anyone!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrustyCum...
cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely New Years break with friends.”
Reviewed January 30, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed Wednesday until Sunday over new year. We were a group of 8 adults and five children looking to spend new years together in one place. Stichil Mains was perfect for our gathering. The house was cleaned to a high standard and had everything and more for our stay, plenty of utensils, towels, toilet rolls, iron and board, dishwasher tablets etc. Asda and Sainsburys deliver too!
We were lucky to have the upstairs bedroom with the huge bathroom, I am a light sleeper and this room was perfect for me. Beds were comfy and we all slept really well. Little park across the road for the children came in useful. Kelso a few miles drive, we ate at The Cobbles as recommended by Susan, great food and at a fair price, we booked as it can get busy.
The owners Susan and Arthur were lovely from the time of booking and even after our stay, so thank you, you have a lovely property and we loved our stay. I would recommend this property and the reviews speak for themselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen/dining room was a great size for our group to spend time together.
Liked least: no internet
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect party house”
Reviewed January 27, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

A group of 12 of us stayed from a Saturday to Monday this January for a stag party. The barn is in a perfect spot for clay pigeon shooting at Roxburghe Hotel (15 minute drive) and we also went to Land Warrior airsoft near Temple (a 50 minute drive). The barn itself slept all of us easily with multiple bedrooms, bathrooms and shower facilities making it easy and comfortable. The star of the show has to be the kitchen with it's huge wooden table and open kitchen obviously lending itself to parties and gatherings. We spent most of our Saturday night in the kitchen area just playing games and consuming healthy and controlled levels of beer....

We were met by Arthur as we arrived, whereby he'd already unloaded our Sainburys delivery into the fridge (the aforementioned beer) and gave us a quick tour. Very kind and welcoming and also a shooting instructor at the Roxburghe Hotel. Later on in the evening Arthur took the stag and myself over to his and Susan's house (just across the parking area) where he treated us to some very yummy port and a chat. Subsequently we invited him to the barn for drinks with the gang and with him he brought 3 guitars for a singalong. Such a nice welcoming atmosphere was set by our host throughout. Unfortunately we didn't get to meet Susan, through which I organised the stay but I trust she had a good birthday with her family.

Would definitely stay again and have already recommended it to my friends.

Thank you to Susan and Arthur for our wonderful stay.

Peter (and the gang)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The massive kitchen and welcoming hosts
Liked least: N/A all good
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
600eddie
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 23, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Had 60th birthday here with family .Great house you could spend all day in kitchen area it's that large .Kelso only 5mins drive away and we'll worth a visit .Susan and Arthur lovely couple .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large kitchen
Liked least: No wifi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew C
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Great property, awesome hosts”
Reviewed December 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Booked the property for a large shooting party, from start to finish Susan and Arthur were amazing hosts, nothing was too much trouble. The house was fantastic and we will definately visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious kitchen / dining area
Liked least: No freezer inside the property
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2015
Andrew, It was a pleasure to meet you your family and friends, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you all in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, perfect for group gatherings.”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Susan and Arthur made us very welcome. The property was spacious and the kitchen/dining space was fantastic - we spent all of our time in there round the large table. Great that we could also take the dog. The surrounding scenery was fabulous and the village of Stichill lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen/dining space
Liked least: No wifi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire_j...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Loved it, didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We spent the weekend at this amazing cottage with my family and my sisters family in September 2015. From the moment we arrived Susan made us feel at home as she showed us around. The accommodation was perfect for us, especially the fantastic kitchen/dining room.
Also, waking up to the views across the hills on a beautiful sunny day made it even more special.
We will be back xx

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing