We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place!”
large kitchen table seats up to 14 people , large tv on wall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
large kitchen table seats up to 14 people , large tv on wall
BEDROOM LARGE ENSUITE    TV        SOFA    ( first floor ) RIVER TWEED IN WINTER
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
large kitchen table seats up to 14 people , large tv on wall
BEDROOM LARGE ENSUITE    TV        SOFA    ( first floor )
RIVER TWEED IN WINTER
BEDROOM WITH SUPER KING SIZE BED & 2 SINGLE BEDS ENSUITE BATH    (first floor)
BEDROOM WITH ENSUITE,  (FIRST FLOOR)
LOUNG TV GROUND FLOOR
BALCONY LUXURY BEDROOM  HUGE ENSUITE BATH   (first floor)
EILDON HILLS
Triple  bedroom with ( en-suite ) tv. Ground floor
Triple bedroom with en-suite TV. Ground floor
REAR TERRACE
Triple bedroom with  TV. Ground floor
BATHROOM WALK-IN-SHOWER    ( ground floor )
FRONT OF THE BARN GRAVELLED PARKING AREA FOR IN EXCESS OF 10 CARS
£40 PPPN THE BRAN STICHILL MAINS    PARKING FOR  10 CARS
FABULOUS VIEWS FROM THE TERRACE
STICHILL MAINS  LUXURY BARN SLEEPS 14
 4 LARGE BEDROOMS  
4  BATHROOMS
SUNSET
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Kelso, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AClewes
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Although a little late with our review, this property was incredible! It had everything we needed for our weekend stay and more. We would definitely return if coming back to the area-it was just right for what we needed... Bedrooms were of the best quality and the kitchen was central and a great space for us all to gather and enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Kitchen/Dining area
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Muriel234
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sublime accomodation and fantastic host”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and although the pictures of the property are good they really dont do arthur and susans property justice. This is a fantastic gem of a place every room has a spacious light and welcoming feel. The kitchen diner is exquisite and Muriel and my own favorite in the property. Everything you could think of is already there. Every utensil, teas, coffee a patio with bbq area and a dishwaser and washing machine. The bedroom was a fabulous room a huge bed a free standing bath in the room leading to the bedroom with great decor through out. In all to sum up our stay we got a 5 star service in a 5 star property and we will be back for many a visit. Special thanks to Arthur a true gent and host.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We only stayed 2 x nights and really regret not booking longer. Absolutely fabulous property which caters for everyone. the property was immaculate and well equipped with everything you would ever need. Every bedroom was lovely and if the owners hadn't already picked the rooms we were using, I don't think we would of been able to. They were all as good as each other. The kitchen is 'huge' with a tremendous sized dining table. The owners were very very helpful and extremely friendly. An absolutely lovely break and can't wait to definately good back. Would recommend this and have done already to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments it was a pleasure to have met you and your family and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards Susan & Arthur.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsSwinny
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a property in a beautiful corner of the Scottish Borders!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Having just had a wonderful week at Stichill Mains with my husband, children and 4 friends, I can honestly say that this is one of the nicest self catering properties we have ever stayed in.
It is tucked away in a quiet corner of a peaceful village, but has plenty of space for parking and for outside socialising.
The house has been very thoughtfully designed and tastefully decorated, in a way that makes it both luxurious and homely at the same time.
We can't wait to return next year, and the year after that......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: Lack of wi-fi
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ailie L
Glasgow
1 review
“Perfect Accomodation”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Spent a brilliant weekend in Stichill Mains with 8 friends and the accomodation was perfect. Clean, well presented with adequate space for us all. Lovely bedrooms each with their own bathroom. The kitchen/dining area is great and very well equiped with anything you could ever need. Fortunately we had great weather and spent most of our time on the private terraced area which opens out from the kitchen and used the BBQ which is provided. Our hosts were very accomodating and helpful with organising activities.
I would highly recommend this accomodation and will hopefully be returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kmoncur
1 review
“Absolutely excellent accommodation”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed at the accommodation with friends over Easter . We had a fabulous time . The inside accommodation is to a very high standard. The bedrooms and living room are a fantastic size. The kitchen area is brilliant and we spent most if the weekend in this room gorgeous to chill out in. Kitchen was very well equipped and we did not want for anything. We will all be back. Sue and Derek made sure we had everything . Thank you the property is a true credit to you both.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$54
/ Night
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing