We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”
Review of Queens Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queens Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kelso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

After a mix up at a different hotel, we were redirected to this one. The staff were very welcoming & we wanted for nothing. I think it was our good luck, for the mix up to happen as we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay. It happened to coincide with Kelso's Civic week and we were delighted to be treated to Bagpipe music on the first evening & again early on the morning of our departure. The stairs might be a problem for those having mobility problems - probably best to ring ahead. The Hotel is in an ideal spot - right next to Kelso Abbey - great for history fans but car parking is a bit of an issue. Breakfast was very nice & relaxing up in the little breakfast room. We happened to stay during a heatwave (UK, not our Australian sort) & the room was quite warm. I didn't ask for a fan so I don't know if any were available. Our room had an enormous bathroom in comparison which had a rather uneven floor, common in old buildings - part of it's charm in my opinion but perhaps might annoy others. I'd certainly stay there again if given the opportunity .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ginny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 158 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had a table booked for 14 at 6.30pm we were entertaining buisnes colleges. When we got there at 6.30 they had gave the table away so they sat us in the bar and we did not get our food until 9.30pm stakes were cold. When we complained they just kept saying we only have a small kitchen and we are busy. Just not good enough.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Portmore F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markhay, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Have to respond to your post,
you forgot to mention that a group of your colleagues said they had booked your table and as we don't know or havnt met you how were we to know it wasn't there table ,
We did our best in that situation it threw the whole place into turmoil ,
We apologised and did all we could under the circumstances that wernt our doing and as your colleagues mentioned in the morning they knew fine well that they had taken your booking as did your group but you were more than happy taking the free snacks and drinks on offer and then the deduction from your bill as a good will gesture.
Considering it was out of our control we in my opinion did all we could to please you and the gentleman who booked the table was happy enough to wait and was informed it would be a long wait ,
But in saying all that I still didn't feel that the language directed at myself and our staff was warranted,there was no need .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Queen's Head is a very central and from the outside looks very traditional. Inside it's no different. Swirled carpets, wood chip and artex abound. The rooms are generally clean and the fixtures and fittings are 'vintage' rather than cutting edge modern.

The room was spacious if not large. The bed was comfortable. Refreshments in the room included bottled water and some nice biscuits - nice touches.

Free wifi was available which worked fine with my iPAD but required some geekery to get my phone to work with it. A professional wifi installation with kit fit for purpose rather than soho netgear (a wifi repeater was in the room) would do the job better I'm sure.

The bathroom was very clean and functional. Plenty of hot water and large fluffy towels.

There was a good choice of breakfast items including porridge. A full Scottish breakfast, poached haddock with poached egg and french toast were on offer. Unfortunately, because of a very nice meal the night before I wasn't very hungry so just had cereal & toast.

I had a room at the back of the hotel and there was some noise from the road. I would really not want a room at the front of the hotel because the traffic going past on the cobble stones makes a terrible noise.

Gripes: carpet in the room could do with a good clean (see picture),

In summary, the location of the hotel is excellent and it offers very good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Six of us stayed at the hotel whilst playing at a local music festival. We had two doubles and a twin. All the rooms were really nice and very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent full scottish breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very helpful and cheerful staff, top quality cooked breakfast, well appointed comfortable large room and bathroom, massive bed !, town centre location. We were visiting as part of our friends wedding but based on this trip we may well be visiting again. Thank you to everyone at the Queens Head.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanLlandudno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while on a cycling tour of the borders. Most welcome at the reception, was able to leave bikes in the boiler room. Great room at the top with 3 beds and view over main street. Breakfast was very good Scottish fayre including haggis

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hissett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The staff were all delightful, helpful & courteous. We were accommodated after a bit of a mix-up & bookings at our original hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank You All.

Oh, BTW If I need to find accommodation in this area again I would definitely be happy to stay here :)

Room Tip: 2013 Heatwave! The room was a bit hot but I probably could have asked for a fan. The front of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelso
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
380 reviews
3.0 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Plough Hotel
The Plough Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yetholm
122 reviews
8.7 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
17.2 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head Hotel

Address: 24 Bridge Street, Kelso TD5 7JD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kelso
Price Range: $103 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queenshead is a small family run hotel.We are continualy upgrading and renovating the hotel.we have lots of repeat loyal customers.We have taken out a membership free of charge to our guests, at the local fitness centre to add to our ongoing improvements for your stay.The Queens head is located just off the main town centre and was a former coaching inn,2 minutes walk from the river Tweed and 5 minutes drive to the local golf courses and Kelso race course. we continue to strive to meet your expectations whilst not perfect we try. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Queens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Head Hotel Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing