We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Townhouse
Ranked #5 of 19 Kelso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Good upmarket accommodation, enormous room overlooking historic cobbled square with large shower room. Very comfortable bed and excellent breakfast. Christine is a most friendly and welcoming owner. The Townhouse is located in the centre of Kelso and ideal to visit the attractions of the town and the surrounding Scottish Borders.

Room Tip: It has to be the front room overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinweb, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for such positive feedback it's very kind of you to take the time to write a review. Kind regards Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
44
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a lovely quiet room even though we were 50 yrs from the cobbled town square. The bed was so, so comfortable. Beautifully served breakfast in a lovely dinning room over looking the square. Christine the proprietor could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinweb, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi thanks for taking the time to write about your stay - I really appreciate it. I'm glad you found the room peaceful it is amazing how quiet it can be although still so close to the centre of things. I would caution anyone who wants a really quiet stay from coming at the weekend - Saturday can be a bit noisy late in the evening as revellers wait for taxis. Very unusual to get much noise during the week though. Regards Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest of Dean, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had some difficulty in finding it originally, glad we persevered though.....

Location is brilliant, overlooking the town square and Hall (situated opposite the Bank of Scotland).

Lovely accommodation and very friendly welcome from Christine. Room was superb, with nice details on hand such as a compendium of games, just right for those wet borders weekends..:-)

The bed was probably the most comfortable that I have ever slept in, and breakfast is beautifully cooked.

It is towards the more expensive end of the scale, but could not recommend a stay here highly enough...

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be very well maintained and appointed with an individual look to them. All h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajwalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked to stay here on the recommendation of a golfing friend. As someone who loves old buildings the refurbishment of this Georgian townhouse was without fault, no detail was left undone. In our bedroom the curvature to the end of the room made by the stud wall and the cornices were impeccable and made one truely respect the ingenuity of the georgian architects as in effect they had ceated an inner wall keeping the heat in, in the colder months. The furniture was extremely tasteful and sympathetic to the building.
The hostess could not have been more helpful, sociable and charming. Breakfast excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms here are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The townhouse is central Kelso. Parking is available just steps away. Christine was a wonderful hostess and our room was just fantastic. We had the biggest and most comfortable bed we have ever slept in and we have travelled to USA for the past 20 years! kelso and the surrounding area is well worth a visit and Christine is keen to tell you about places of interest to experience. the Townhouse may be at the top of the price range but it is well worth the extra for the facilities on offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjlynass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinweb, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Its very kind of you to take the time to comment on your stay with us and I'm delighted you liked the bed. When I decided to try my hand at running a B&B I thought a comfortable bed essential so I'm really glad you like my choice of mattress. I hope you will come back and re-experience it sometime. Best regards Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was our second stay in The Townhouse. On both occasions we were staying overnight following a trip to Kelso races. The location is perfect as it's right in the heart of Kelso so very hand for doing some shopping, going to the races and going out for dinner/drinks. The decor is outstanding, a lot of thought and care has clearly gone into making this B&B very homely and the welcome by Christine makes the whole experience an exceptionally enjoyable one....not to mention the very comfy bed and a bathroom that most boutique hotels could only dream about having. Can not recommend this B&B enough. Once you have stayed here you won't think about going anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHilton3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Christine & Hugh were excellent hosts. Our en suite room was spacious, beautifully furnished and overlooked the Square [from where we had an excellent view of the Civic Week ceremonies!]
It was a pleasure to stay here on the first night of our "Borders Abbey Walk" and the thought of staying on our last night, helped us through the difficult parts of the 68 miles ! Great "mod cons " in a traditional setting.

Room Tip: "The Square" faces east so sunny in morning. Good for people -watching. Bed v comfy and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0.0 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
0.1 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 19 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duncan House
Duncan House
#3 of 19 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: Oven Wynd, Kelso TD5 7HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious Bed and Breakfast with Georgian charm in the centre of Kelso walking distance for all local restaurants, racecourse and Springwood Park. Three letting rooms available; The room called The Square has an emperor sized bed with double en suite shower room, two arm chairs and a small sofa, as the name suggests it overlooks Kelso's famous cobbled square. The Attic Room has a super-kingsized bed which can either be made up as a superking or as two singles. the room has an ensuite bath/showerroom, its at the top of the house and is not suitable for people with limited mobility. The Hogarth has recently been refurbished and has a kingsized bed and a en suite shower room with a powerful shower and optional massage jets. All rooms have TV's with free-view channels, WiFi and breakfast is included in the room price. The house was constructed in 1790 and is in the conservation area of Kelso the house is listed, having now been tastefully modernized it still retains great charm. Two rooms overlook Kelso' main square and the third is situated at the rear of the house. Its a great location if you are visiting Kelso for Racing, Fishing, Golfing, attending a wedding or just visiting the area for a few days or indeed passing through on the way North.The house is right in the center of Kelso and sits above Orvis for those of you who know the Square, but its entrance is down the cobbled Oven Wynd. Its a town center location and most times its very peaceful but occasionally when events are taking place in Kelso it can be a bit noisy on the occasional Saturday night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Townhouse Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing