We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Townhouse
Ranked #5 of 16 Kelso B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked to stay here on the recommendation of a golfing friend. As someone who loves old buildings the refurbishment of this Georgian townhouse was without fault, no detail was left undone. In our bedroom the curvature to the end of the room made by the stud wall and the cornices were impeccable and made one truely respect the ingenuity of the georgian architects as in effect they had ceated an inner wall keeping the heat in, in the colder months. The furniture was extremely tasteful and sympathetic to the building.
The hostess could not have been more helpful, sociable and charming. Breakfast excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms here are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 71 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

The townhouse is central Kelso. Parking is available just steps away. Christine was a wonderful hostess and our room was just fantastic. We had the biggest and most comfortable bed we have ever slept in and we have travelled to USA for the past 20 years! kelso and the surrounding area is well worth a visit and Christine is keen to tell you about places of interest to experience. the Townhouse may be at the top of the price range but it is well worth the extra for the facilities on offer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjlynass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinweb, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Its very kind of you to take the time to comment on your stay with us and I'm delighted you liked the bed. When I decided to try my hand at running a B&B I thought a comfortable bed essential so I'm really glad you like my choice of mattress. I hope you will come back and re-experience it sometime. Best regards Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was our second stay in The Townhouse. On both occasions we were staying overnight following a trip to Kelso races. The location is perfect as it's right in the heart of Kelso so very hand for doing some shopping, going to the races and going out for dinner/drinks. The decor is outstanding, a lot of thought and care has clearly gone into making this B&B very homely and the welcome by Christine makes the whole experience an exceptionally enjoyable one....not to mention the very comfy bed and a bathroom that most boutique hotels could only dream about having. Can not recommend this B&B enough. Once you have stayed here you won't think about going anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KHilton3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Christine & Hugh were excellent hosts. Our en suite room was spacious, beautifully furnished and overlooked the Square [from where we had an excellent view of the Civic Week ceremonies!]
It was a pleasure to stay here on the first night of our "Borders Abbey Walk" and the thought of staying on our last night, helped us through the difficult parts of the 68 miles ! Great "mod cons " in a traditional setting.

Room Tip: "The Square" faces east so sunny in morning. Good for people -watching. Bed v comfy and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed on a Saturday night when attending a friends party in Kelso. Our hosts couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating. Our room was peaceful, tasteful and stylish, with all amenities as well as lovely antiques. Breakfast was delicious and there was a great choice of items. The perfect place for a peaceful break from the kids - we only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomandbarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinweb, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you it's great to get feedback and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again. Regards christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I was very glad we went to The Townhouse. Hugh made sure that we found the place when we rang for extra directions and Christine did a warm welcome too.
The largest room I have ever been had at a B&B !
Great place - many thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllenYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Four of us stayed in this beautiful, homely period townhouse when visiting the Borders for a weekend.

The Townhouse has a fantastic location, centrally located with good parking. Kelso itself seems to be a fine little place, with beautiful views across the Tweed, and of course, the very impressive Floors castle.

We received a fantastic welcome on arrival. The house is beautifully decorated, in keeping with the age of the building. We stayed in the double room, with shared bathroom. Again, lovely, immaculately clean room with a large comfortable bed - and the Tunnocks tea cakes in the room were a wonderful touch!

The communal lounge is very homely, with an extensive collection of books.

Breakfast was delicious, fantastic selection.

All in all and excellent stay in this fine old house, with the perfect hosts - we would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: The double room with shared bathroom is beautiful, and only across the hall from the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0.1 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 16 in Kelso
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbeyside Bed & Breakfast
3 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Address: Oven Wynd, Kelso TD5 7HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range: $131 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious Bed and Breakfast with Georgian charm in the centre of Kelso walking distance for all local restaurants, racecourse and Springwood Park. Three letting rooms available; The room called The Square has an emperor sized bed with double en suite shower room, two arm chairs and a small sofa, as the name suggests it overlooks Kelso's famous cobbled square. The Attic Room has a super-kingsized bed which can either be made up as a superking or as two singles. the room has an ensuite bath/showerroom, its at the top of the house and is not suitable for people with limited mobility. The Hogarth has recently been refurbished and has a kingsized bed and a en suite shower room with a powerful shower and optional massage jets. All rooms have TV's with free-view channels, WiFi and breakfast is included in the room price. The house was constructed in 1790 and is in the conservation area of Kelso the house is listed, having now been tastefully modernized it still retains great charm. Two rooms overlook Kelso' main square and the third is situated at the rear of the house. Its a great location if you are visiting Kelso for Racing, Fishing, Golfing, attending a wedding or just visiting the area for a few days or indeed passing through on the way North.The house is right in the center of Kelso and sits above Orvis for those of you who know the Square, but its entrance is down the cobbled Oven Wynd. Its a town center location and most times its very peaceful but occasionally when events are taking place in Kelso it can be a bit noisy on the occasional Saturday night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Townhouse Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing