We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tara Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 16 Kelso B&B and Inns
Lake Zurich, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Felt like home”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Janet and Bruce were great hosts from the beginning, very friendly and welcoming-we felt like family! We really enjoyed relaxing after a long day of traveling to the in-room TV and Internet they provided to connect with home. A key was given (to the front door and our room) and we were asked when and what we want our breakfast on an order slip the night before. Breakfast was served in a nicely set dining room! Janet and Bruce recommended and booked us a reservation for dinner (that was amazing). They also gave us a lot of great recommendations for day touring in the area. Don't worry about not being right in downtown Kelso as Janet gave us a ride one night for dinner and we took a taxi home (for very little money) as it is only a few miles away and totally worth the view and feel of the countryside! We look forward to bringing our family back here in the near future! Thank you Janet & Bruce!! :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjtaylor123, Owner at Tara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks Kelly very much for your very kind review. Janet and I are delighted to receive your positive support. We do try to help with transport into Kelso, when we are able to show you places to eat and drink and suggest other possible venues whilst staying with us. We are only 15 minutes walk into the town, only a few minutes by car. Most of our guests prefer our open aspect of the countryside as we are only moments away from all venues. It's the first time we've heard of downtown Kelso! I'm sure the businesses in the town haven't heard this statement before. We've had many Canadian and US visitors this year, this area must be getting popular!
We look forward to you visiting again and hopefully with your family. If crossing the Big Pond is a little too far, please book in at Tara Southern Dunes, which is very popular for North Americans; to stay in a luxury pool villa, on a golf course in Floridian sunshine all year round. All the very best to you and Brad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
23
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very clean, comfortable accommodation, great breakfast, very friendly hosts who even offered to give us a lift into nearby Kelso, have no hesitation recommending this bed & breakfast to other fellow travellers

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjtaylor123, Owner at Tara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks very much for your review and hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as we were at a festival Bruce and Janet were excellent. Janet's breakfasts were spot on and plentiful. They went out of there way to make us feel really welcome during our stay. They helped tremendously with our getting out and about. So helpful lovely couple and would recommend to anyone we have even handed out some business cards for them. We would definitely stay there again. Thanks to Bruce and Janet from Chris and Emma

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjtaylor123, Owner at Tara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We stayed here as we were at a festival Bruce and Janet were excellent. Janet's breakfasts were spot on and plentiful. They went out of there way to make us feel really welcome during our stay. They helped tremendously with our getting out and about. So helpful lovely couple and would recommend to anyone we have even handed out some business cards for them. We would definitely stay there again. Thanks to Bruce and Janet from Chris and Emma

Thanks Emma and Chris for your very positive and kind response. We look forward to you returning and hopefully those you've passed on our information to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Had a fantastic stay, beautiful room and I have to say probably the best breakfast I have ever tasted, lovely relaxed atmosphere and the hosts were so helpful and accommodating, Will be back next year for sure

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjtaylor123, Owner at Tara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for your review and kind comments.

It is a privilege to have guests who are supportive and respectful. We are in a hospitality industry and it is great to see when you are appreciated. Janet is 'over the moon' and I hope to bring her down for some more breakfasts!

Look forward to welcoming you back next year and hope you can stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Bruce and Janet were excellent hosts! I stayed at Tara for almost two weeks, and they really made me feel at home. My room had everything I needed -- comfortable bed, nice closet space, reliable internet connection, and a great shower. They were particularly helpful as I tried to find my way around Kelso and the surrounding area. I was very happy with my choice to stay at Tara for my extended stay. If you are planning on traveling to the Kelso region, I definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjtaylor123, Owner at Tara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks very much for your review and the kind comments. We were pleased to have a famous golfer stay with us who chose us in preference to the hotels in the area. We have had a few Americans stay with us this year, so must be doing something right, when you consider all the great accommodation we've experienced across the 'Pond'.
Janet and I wish you well in your European Tour pursuit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights for the Borders Union Show, we were given very nice, clean and comfortable rooms. The breakfast was excellent. The most outstanding point being the hospitality and helpfullness of our hosts. - Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjtaylor123, Owner at Tara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks very much for your review and good to hear you were pleased with your accommodation. We do always try to help our guests and have now developed many friends along the way. Hope to see you back in Kelso and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We arrived as a last minute booking at this B&B after a problem elsewhere. Facilities are good, excellent breakfast and very warm personal welcome, including recommendations on where to eat and what to see. Kelso is good destination with lots of choice in unspoiled countryside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AileenAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjtaylor123, Owner at Tara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

It appears that Kelso is becoming a very popular destination and rightly so. This part of the UK is relatively little known, but once visited we get many people staying longer and returning as it has lots to offer and suits many different tastes.

Janet and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the area, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelso hotels
1.2 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
322 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
363 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 16 in Kelso
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pemberley Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Copper Tree Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Springwoodbank B&B
Springwoodbank B&B
#9 of 16 in Kelso
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Bed and Breakfast

Property: Tara Bed and Breakfast
Address: Wooden Mill, Kelso TD5 8HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara provides luxury accommodation on the edge of Kelso and adjacent to the River Tweed with the aspect of a nice garden area over looking open countryside. The modern bespoke accommodation has been designed to the highest standards, all rooms have en-suites with power showers, free high speed wifi internet, freeview/DVD flat screen televisions, complimentary tray, ample storage and more. Require anything more? Just ask. Our aim and committment is to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tara Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing