We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tara Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 16 Kelso B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We only stayed one night on our way to Newcastle but I would recommend you stay longer if possible as there is lots to see and do in the area. Although, the B & B is a little out of town, this is part of it's attraction and it is a nice walk in and out of town. The room was small but beautifully decorated and more than adequate for our needs. The breakfast was great and Janet and Bruce were most helpful and very friendly. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: If staying longer perhaps request the bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Thanks for your positive feedback. We do prefer to be on the edge of town with views of open land, with the garden in the country, although respect that some visitors may want to be in the town centre. We are only 20 minutes walk, less than 3 minutes by car but will assist with transport if needed. We do have security of parking, garage and other facilities that are not available for a town centre location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 53 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were going to Mellerstain House for a friends wedding, we got the name of the B&B from the bride because it was near to the venue. We were driving down from Glasgow on the morning of the wedding, and made good time but it meant that we were earlier than our estimated arrival time. We were welcomed in and made to feel at home straight away and our room was ready for us to go straight into, there was no mention of us being earlier than planned. This can be a problem in some B&B's or hotels.
The room was lovely, big and nicely decorated. The bed was SO comfy and the en suit was also a good size and well decorated.
Janet and Bruce were so friendly and helpful, they went above and beyond to make us feel welcome in their home.
Breakfast the next morning was so good, just what we needed after being out partying! The option of when you would like breakfast was perfect.
Kelso is a beautiful place and would recommend anyone that looking to stay somewhere while they visit should definitely stay at Tara Bed and Breakfast!

Thank you for letting us stay. :)

Roisin and Shona Mackinven

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roisin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Thank you for the kind words, we always try to please. Mellerstain House is a very good wedding venue, we've had many people stay with us who have been to events at Mellerstain. There are many stately homes that now do weddings in the Borders, but if not coming to special occasions are well worth a visit. The Borders and especially Kelso is a fantastic base for visiting stately homes, castles, abbeys and other sites of historic interest. You could easily spend a week touring around this area however at least come for a few days away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

third year here and have already booked for 2013 no more to be said ,simply the best atmosphere,cleanlyness,value for money and hospitality you will find !!!!! Dave.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Great to have you again, glad to see you enjoy your stays and hopefully look forward to many more years. Not difficult to recognise the scooter guys, not old though!! See you next year, if not before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Janet & Bruce have a stunning home which is impeccable. They are so friendly and provide advise on the best places to visit and eat. We had lovely weather and it was so lovely to be able to sit in their beautiful garden overlooking the fields beyond. The breakfast every morning was superb and nothing was too much trouble. The room was outstanding, bed very comfortable and the shower amazing. I would recommend Tara Wooden Mill to all my friends, family and will definitely stop there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppy061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjtaylor123, Owner at Tara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

We are glad to have another satisfied customer, who also reviewed other establishments in this area, highlighting there is so much to offer in the Scottish Borders and North Northumberland. We have had better weather than most parts of the UK to date and lets hope we'll get a summer to enjoy the garden.
Look forward to your early return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Janet and Bruce have an amazing home. They were so welcomng and cared for our every need. They were there for us but not in our faces. Their knowledge of the area was exceptional from things to see to where to eat and drink. I will certainly return and recomend to my friends.
I would feel comfortable staying here on my own as well as with family and friends.

Room Tip: all the rooms are exceptional with amazing showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjtaylor123, Owner at Tara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

We enjoy looking after our guests and very much appreciate it when they confirm we are able to help with accommodation in Kelso and for other events in the Scottish Borders. We look forward to you returning and hopefully you will again enjoy your experience at Tara and our lovely area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

we booked on line and Janet and bruce couldnt have been more helpful. They were very welcoming into their lovely home. Every detail was perfect..the bedroom was lovely and exceptionally clean. A lovely breakfast was on offer which catered for all tastes.all in all a lovely relaxing stay and all at a good price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hildales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjtaylor123, Owner at Tara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Thank you for your comments, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you returning in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a weekend and it was very relaxing. We were unsure of the area but we certainly picked the best B&B to stay in. It's warm and very comfortable. Janet and Bruce are extremely friendly and really went the extra mile to ensure we had the best possible stay. The town isn't too far away and is within walking distance but Bruce even offered us a lift which we thought was very generous. One of the highlights has to be the cooked breakfast in the morning, it was simply delicious. We highly recommend this B&B if you're visiting Kelso and it will definitely be our choice if we return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynx13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjtaylor123, Owner at Tara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

We're glad you enjoyed your weekend and hope that you do return to Kelso or the Borders/North Northumberland and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelso hotels
4 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
1.2 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
381 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
160 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Central Guesthouse
1.2 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#5 of 16 in Kelso
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Bed and Breakfast

Address: Wooden Mill, Kelso TD5 8HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range: $50 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara provides luxury accommodation on the edge of Kelso and adjacent to the River Tweed with the aspect of a nice garden area over looking open countryside. The modern bespoke accommodation has been designed to the highest standards, all rooms have en-suites with power showers, free high speed wifi internet, freeview/DVD flat screen televisions, complimentary tray, ample storage and more. Require anything more? Just ask. Our aim and committment is to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tara Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing