We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant, Comfortable and Friendly”
other travelers have booked this property
The Old Smithy Kelso, All Ground floor accommodation ideal for the disabled, no stairs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Smithy Kelso, All Ground floor accommodation ideal for the disabled, no stairs
The Old Smithy 3 Bedroomed Detached Cottage Nr Kelso with private off road parking Beautiful views from The Old Smithy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The Old Smithy Kelso, All Ground floor accommodation ideal for the disabled, no stairs
The Old Smithy 3 Bedroomed Detached Cottage Nr Kelso with private off road parking
Beautiful views from The Old Smithy
The Old Smithy Kelso, detached 3 Bedroom Cottage with Wi-Fi, private parking, en suite facilities
Entrance to The Old Smithy Cottage now with Ramp, parking close to the door for disabled persons
A variety of teas, coffee, hot chocolate, sugar and milk awaits your arrival at The Old Smithy
A Little Surprise Chocolate on your bed
The Old Smithy, a place to relax and have fun
Holiday Cottage 'Just for You'
River Ednam The Stone Bridge at the end of the Garden
River Eden at the bottom of the garden,  lovely countryside views
Floors Castle only a few minutes away and well worth a visit
The War Memorial at the side of the cottages in Ednam, Kelso
Scottish Borders Countryside
Scottish Borders Countryside
Cattle in the Scottish Borders Countryside
A view of The Old Smithy
Each bedroom has a wardrobe with hangers
A place to sit and have breakfast and watch the world go by
View from the window
A view across the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kelso, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Scenic725...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Brilliant, Comfortable and Friendly”
Reviewed October 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We recently stayed at The Old Smithy in a large family group for a birthday celebration and it was fantastic. The location is easy to find - with fantastic instructions provided by email, and it was a nice leisurely drive. Gail was extremely friendly, and met us on arrival to show us around. The cottage was extremely roomy, clean, comfortable and cosy. There are large gardens around the property, and if the weather had been better I'm sure we'd have spent a bit more time in them. The cottage is very close to the local amenities in Kelso (approx 5 min drive) and has everything you'd expect if you want to cook and eat in.

Overall this was a marvelous stay and we wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Would highly recommend The Old Smithy.

Thanks for a brilliant time Gail and Adrian.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2017
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your mum had a lovely birthday surprise. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Regards Gail and Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2017
Dear Sandra, David and Frances. Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are added our little extra touches so hope to see you and your friends and family visit us in the future,

Regards

Gail
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Simon B
1 review
“Beautiful pet-friendly cottage”
Reviewed September 9, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Beautiful cottage. Very friendly welcome by the owners. Spacious, warm, with views of the rolling hills from the patio. A lovely retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2017
Dear the Berry family. Thank you so much for the lovely review. Since your visit in August, we have added some personal touches, including a welcome basket including local provisions, tea, coffee, milk. Welcome pack for the dog, various kitchen utensils. We do hope that we will see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy F
1 review
“Didn't want to leave.”
Reviewed September 6, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We only stopped for 3 days for our wedding anniversary. Nowhere near enough time to explore what we eventually wanted. Superb cottage for 2 or 8. We loved it, just changed ownership week before us arriving and was a bit apprehensive. I needn't have been. It was excellent with some extra touches introduced by new owners really clean, perfect location for the borders and surrounding areas, loads to see. Owners in same location if any problems arise.
Pet friendly, well equipped kitchen. Owner asked us if there was anything they could do better for future guests we gave some recommendations and they acted on them.
I have been to more expensive cottages in the lakes, but enjoyed The Old Smithy much more.
Will definitely return (Hurry up with that hot tub Gail.)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2017
Dear Jed and Angie, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and want to return in the future. Since your visit we have added some more personal touches to provide a luxury feel at a reasonable cost. Will keep you updated re the hot tub and special themed weekend breaks. Take care and hopefully see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas G
1 review
“Excellent, quiet location but everything you need is on the doorstep,”
Reviewed August 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Family gathering for wedding,nine adults,four kids and day visitors plenty space for all,ideal location for all amenities and services taxis etc.Plenty room for kids to play while adults enjoyed themselves. These cottages are certainly well set up and the owner Susan certainly makes booking etc. easy. All guests really enjoyed their stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Dear Douglas, Many thanks for your lovely review, so pleased that you enjoyed the cottages and had great time, looking forward to you returning sometime. Kind Regards, Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesox
Darlington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Finished to a high standard, lovely setting and comfortable beds. Just need the freeview TV re tuning as Beeb 1&2 only watchable channels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
Thank you for your kind review, glad you found the cottage comfortable and beds comfy, and thanks for the info on the TV which has now been re-tuned. Hope to see you back again sometime. Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johncity7...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow what a find”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Arrived Tuesday 27th June 2017
The pictures looked great but the cottage is even better than that, You could not have a better location for our 2 night stay.
All 3 bedrooms are a good size with really comfortable beds, As I booked the cottage I picked the on- suite bedroom what a good choice.
The lounge area is really big with plenty of seating, Big television and DvD player what more could you want.
The kitchen area is huge with seating at the big table for 6 - 8 people with a range of
Electrical equipment second to none.
The visitors information book is great with takeaway menus, Taxi numbers and free WIFI We all struggled to get a phone signal so the WiFi certainly came in useful.
Final thoughts a lovely cottage a great location and we are already looking to return at some point.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2017
Thanks for the great review and we look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing