We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Location and Quality”
other travelers have booked this property
The Old Pickle House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Pickle House
Dining Room/Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The Old Pickle House
Dining Room/Sitting Room
Kitchen
Downstairs Shower Room
Bedroom 1
Bathroom
Bedroom 2
Roof Terrace
Roof Terrace  Fantastic Views over Kelso
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kelso, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Aaron E
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location and Quality”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Loved our stay at The Old Pickle House in Kelso! Clean and comfortable just off the town square! Very short walking distance to lots of neat shops and restaurants as well as Floors Castle and the River Tweed. Beautiful area!

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine B
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Old Pickle House”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Well presented property in the centre of the lovely town of Kelso with good quality bedding, linen, crockery, wifi - had everything ! We stayed for a week with friends in our early 60's and walked, golfed, ate at many of the local pubs and restaurants and visited the nearby towns. Surprisingly for Scotland in summer we had glorious weather and made good use of the roof terrace but be warned it is a loft ladder access - though owners are hoping to replace this with a spiral staircase which would be a great improvement.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: A bit dark in main sitting room as on first floor and got no sun
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klew2010
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Kelso scooter rally”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is the 2nd year we have been lucky enough to stay in this house. Beautiful doesnt do it justice.
Every little detail is fantastic in fact on several occasions we said we would like to live there.
Well done on the cleanliness and the decor, just everything. I would recommend it to everyone.

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjamiewil...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My friends and i booked the old pickle house for our annual golfing trip to kelso for the second year , the house itself was lovely and ideally situated just of the town sqaure so you are not far from shops restaruants and pubs !. Also the town itself was really nice, people are friendly and a few good "meal deals " at kelso golf club and the hirsel golf club as both are within a short distance. I would recommend the old pickle house to anyone, there was six of us staying and would say this was ideal.

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billylaff...
Gourock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay great town house great location”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed at old pickle house and I would highly recommend this accommodation, which coming from me is a compliment as I am the most fussy guest you could imagine. I have to say we could find no faults with this house .I have never been in a rented house that made me feel so much at home everything from decor to bedding to cutlery was first class and the location in center of town was ideal for us. I will most definitely be back

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and facilities
Liked least: The Stairs (but no big deal)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June E
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful cottage, home from home, excellent location.”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Myself and my family spent five nights at The Old Pickle House and it was just everything you could ask for, first class accommodation. It was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and spacious, and had everything we needed, down to the soaps, shower gel and shampoo, a nice added touch. You could not ask for anything more.
Kelso was a lovely little town, peaceful and pictureseque, with The old Pickle house being in the centre of it all, everything close to hand.
We will definitely come back to stay again in the future. Thanks again. JE

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortableness and homeliness of The Old Pickle House.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the old pickle house with my family. the house is lovely and provides everything you need even down to shower gel and bath foam.Very central location with pubs restaurants and shops minutes away.Kelso is a little market town and the locals are very friendly.Beautiful town clock which chimes on the hour.Didnt meet mr and mrs darling but spoke on the phone they are really people.I will certainly be returning to this lovely house xx Only one complaint went for lunch at a local restaurant on New Year's Eve and ended up with sickness and diiahorrea so won't be going there again .

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing