We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous world class experience for all the family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hendersyde Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous world class experience for all the family”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

As someone well travelled- Hard to beat this experience anywhere in the world!
We stayed at Millsyde but also booked one of the small cottages for our party of 8.
My husbands 60 birthday celebration could not have been better- beautiful farm location, close to amenities of Kelso, something for all the family with an age range of 4- 60.
Immaculate Millsyde with every luxury from home- cosy, underfloor heating, beautiful kitchen, fully equipped with beautiful crockery and glassware, dishwasher, washing machine and drier, spacious rooms, beautiful linen and luxury beds, with so many personal touches from Sue, the owner. Board games, large screen TV, set tea table on arrival with warm rock cakes, home made bread and fresh farm eggs, fresh flowers and even a bottle of bubbly to celebrate my husbands birthday.
My expectations were high as I had researched the venue and they were surpassed!
We sampled fishing with eoin and cly shooting with Alastair at the Roxburghe hotel- a real experience enjoyed by the whole family. Pony trekking at Bowhills stables, individually hand led, as we were beginners. A fantastic meal, also catering for children at the Cobbles with scallops and fresh spring lamb.
The whole experience made the birthday celebration an experience for the whole family to remember for many years to come.
Thanks to all those who provided an experience that would be hard to better anywhere in the world! Special thanks to Sue at Henderson farm for making it so special. My grandson hasnt stopped talking about feeding the lambs since he got home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
57
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Emmen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stayed at Hendersyde many times. Our latest stay, now at Millsyde, tops the list. Millsyde is in a league of its own: "home-from-Home accomodation" that can be positioned in the one-of-a-kind category. Clean & well-proportioned rooms, superb hospitality, a dream of Kitchen. It all comes highly recommended.We will undoubtedly be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have stayed at West Cottage - one of three - for many years & love the cosiness & "home from home" feel that the host provides. The cottages are well positioned with a view over fields down to the Tweed & to sit outside in the peace & quiet is a little bit of heaven.

Sue is a fantastic host & welcomes us with rock cakes & eggs & the kettle is always at the ready for a brew. Nothing is too much trouble & she will go out of her way to help.

Having dogs, the cottage is ideal as the garden is secure thus ensuring we can relax.

The cottages are an ideal base to explore Borders area with great walking country & places to visit. Being approx. 30 miles from the coast, Hendersyde gives you the best of both worlds & we would recommend it to anyone.

Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DenysC136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south lanarkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is one of those places where the owner & accommodation has earned & deserves a top class review.So much time,thought, energy & kindness along with great attention to detail in a beautiful home in a idyllic countryside location wins hands down for me! no one would be disappointed here! by choosing Millsyde your not only supporting excellent caretakers but giving the Scottish borders & all their friendly inhabitants the recognition they deserve! Thanks Sue! x

Room Tip: Highly recommended holiday cottage rental
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiem658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Fabulous place to stay. Milsyde was the ideal place to have a family get together. The accommodation was first class, 5 star luxury. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone. The attention to detail was evident in every room. Fabulous big kitchen ideal for family dining and beautiful longe with wood burner. We will certainly return time and time again. A great place to stay and explore the Borders.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a excellent time the cottage is very cosy and was an great base for us as we were going to Kelso races. Sue is an excellent host providing us with homemade cakes, fresh eggs, plenty of useful advice & even a lift to the racecourse. All in all we had a brilliant time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We've stayed at the smaller traditional cottages at Hendersyde for a number of years. Millsyde is a fabulous new addition, luxury, well equipped accommodation with the same attention to detail and warm welcome from Sue. Great location for outdoor activities in good weather and a great woodburning stove for those cold winter days when you just want to keep warm and read a book.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelso
2.3 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
363 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
322 reviews
5.3 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
940 reviews
9.3 mi away
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hot...
#1 of 2 in Cornhill on Tweed
340 reviews
18.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendersyde Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendersyde Farm Cottages

Property: Hendersyde Farm Cottages
Address: Kelso | The Scottish Borders., Kelso TD5 7QA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Kelso
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are always welcome at Hendersyde, our family farm, which lies between the River Tweed and Eden Water, downstream from the delightful market town of Kelso, in The Scottish Borders. If you are looking for a blissfully peaceful holiday cottage, surrounded by walks, wildlife & wonderful views, Hendersyde might just be the place for you! Millsyde is special! A single story, level entry, holiday home, tucked away above The Eden Water, the views look over gently rolling farmland to the nearby woods. Sleeps 6. East and West are traditional farm cottages looking over The Tweed Valley to The Cheviot Hills in Northumberland. Sleep 4. Fuel, linen, towels & Wi-Fi are included. There is a couple's discount on all bookings.Well behaved dogs are welcome in West. Book Direct through Hendersyde. If you have any queries I will be happy to help. Sue ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hendersyde Farm Cottages Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing