We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballachulish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strathassynt Guest House
Ranked #5 of 11 Ballachulish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was the first of 3 nights away on our Yamaha XVS 1300 motorbike trip up in the highlands of Scotland whilst daughter away on her outward bound school break. Glencoe was beautiful watching the sun rise when I went for an early morning walk. How lucky you are to live in such a lovely village and surroundings. Thank you for making us welcome when staying over night on 21st May at your excellent B&B with great facilities.

Room Tip: We staying in a room at the back and it was nice & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine R, Owner at Strathassynt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

You are most welcome. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and was able to make the most of this wonderful area of Scotland on your motorbike. Thank you for your very positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 173 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stopped in Ballachulish for one evening on our way to the Isle of Skye and had a great time. The B&B owners were very welcoming, the rooms were clean and updated, and breakfast was good too. Overall, an excellent value and a cute little town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler9523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine R, Owner at Strathassynt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. We hope you enjoyed your time on Skye after you left us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Strathassynt many times in the 9 years we have been together, and even stayed for a couple of nights on honeymoon 4 years ago. Mike and Chris are outstanding hosts and have always made us feel completely at home.

A great breakfast that sets us up for the day, cosy, immaculately clean rooms and a lovely comfy lounge, this is the best value for money we have found anywhere in the UK.

We are visiting family in Falkirk shortly and have booked a couple of nights at Strathassynt as a treat. Can't wait!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsJulieGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here on a weeklong walk along the West Highland Way. Everything was spotlessly clean and the hosts were very friendly and welcoming. Even though we'd been walking all day, we really liked strolling around the village of Ballachulish. I appreciated that there was a lounge for guests to use and would certainly recommend this B & B to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine R, Owner at Strathassynt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for you positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and found everything to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Very hot , clean accomodation , ideal for work , rooms clean , bit small , free wifi , and sound breakfast served from pre order menu night before , hosts keen enough to help as long as frends not around

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nissangun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine R, Owner at Strathassynt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for your review and I'm sorry you were not completely happy with your stay. If I may pick up on a few points you have made in your review. 1. Regarding the room being hot. The heaters in the rooms are fully controllable and windows can be opened if needed. If referring to the rest of the Guest house, this can be difficult to judge and alter for the individual as we get a lot of foreign guests who are used to warmer climes. Therefore we make a judgement based on all of our clientèle. 2. Regarding the size of the room we have no single rooms and consequently our en-suite double and twin rooms are used for single occupancy. We feel these rooms are well-proportioned and considerably larger than most single rooms you may find in other establishments. 3. With regard to the breakfast, we NEVER ask guests to pre-order the night before as a breakfast menu is given to the guests to choose from only whilst breakfast is being served. So with this in mind I'm at a loss to understand your comment that breakfast had to be ordered the night before? 4. Finally I do not understand what is meant by 'Keen enough to help as long as friends are not around'. We have always prided ourselves on our customer service and are always keen to assist our guests with any queries they may have and to chat with them at any time. As our guests have always come first, I can only apologise if you feel you had anything less attention than we endeavour to give to all who stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

One night stop. Very friendly owner greeted us and explained everything well.Very comfy lounge with toys, games etc. Selection of snacks to buy. Loads of info about area and sample menus from local businesses. Free wifi no prob. Twin room on first floor lovely and warm with pleasant rear views. Info re operating TV much appreciated!!!! Good selection of cereals, fruit for breakfast. Hot breakfast well cooked and presented. Location very good. Local pub and co-op across the road info centre nearby too. On the whole very pleasant stay. Only criticism - couldnt fit large kettle under tap in sink!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATHLEEN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine R, Owner at Strathassynt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We particularly appreciate your comments about our Guest House being a Home from Home as this is exactly the experience that we hope all of our guests have! Next time we replace the kettles we will definitely bear in mind your comments as well!!
Mike Richardson - Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this b& b by glencoe visitors centre who are fantastic people. On arrival we were greeted at the door by the owners. They were genuine and sincere. They showed us the lounge and dining room and then up to our room. It was clean, warm and homely. 1 double bed and single with ensuite bathroom. The ensuite was immaculate and clean. Very comfy room. Huge range of DVDs, books etc to use. We were suggested pub across road for meal. Great owners there too. This is a great B and B!!! I felt welcomed and at home. Breaky the next day was a cooked Scottish style. I was impressed as very over breakfast that are cooked in oodles of fat and oil. This was very tasty but healthy. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jommyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine R, Owner at Strathassynt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review. I'm so glad you felt at home during your stay as this is just what we aim to do. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Scotland. We look forward to seeing you again should you visit Glencoe again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
2.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.2 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
363 reviews
2.0 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
718 reviews
2.8 mi away
Creag Mhor Lodge
Creag Mhor Lodge
#6 of 11 in Ballachulish
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathassynt Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathassynt Guest House

Address: Ballachulish PH49 4JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ballachulish
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Strathassynt Guest House Ballachulish, Glencoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing