We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as the ad in the Scottish tourist magazine”
Review of Craiglinnhe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballachulish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craiglinnhe House
Ranked #1 of 10 Ballachulish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“As good as the ad in the Scottish tourist magazine”
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

We picked this place from the magazine and it was excellent. Too late to get the best views but very happy with the owners, food and location. Excellent advice on what to do. Our best overall guest house experience on our trip from Australia.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    36
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
250
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greene, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Superb location being less than 30 minutes to Fort William and 10 minutes to Glencoe. Wonderful and welcoming hosts. They even helped us out with hiking information/maps and packed us a lunch for our hike up Ben Nevis. Wonderful clean rooms with beautiful view of Loch and mountains. We did have concerns that it would be noisy being so close to the road, but we did not hear the cars.
The breakfasts were so generous that we were able to skip lunch everyday! We stayed 4 nights and wish it could have been more. Recommended them to my parents who will be going in September 2012. I can't wait to go back. -J and J from New York

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the road as you will have a view of the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sassanach_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed two nights at Craiglinnhe House and were fortunate to be upgraded to a front room with views over the loch. The house has a charming air about it, with lovely breakfast room and sitting room, both looking out over the loch. The main road runs between the house and the loch, but we didn't find it to be noisy. Our hosts recommended The Holly Tree restaurant for dinner and it proved to be an excellent choice. The Craiglinnhe is a good option for those who want to be relatively close to Fort William without the hustle and bustle of a busy tourism town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malingshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Beautiful place, very nice people, lovely room, very clean place, excellent breakfast, sound hiking advise. We stayed there for 2 nights on a hiking weekend, and we will definitely go back there at some stage.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunningReindeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We had a very warm welcome from Beverly, David and Mousse (the Labrador). We enjoyed a delicious 3 course meal of smoked salmon pâté , loin of pork with porcini mushrooms and poached pears with chocolate sauce. Just what we needed to start our holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrierman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed for three nights in the superior double room which has fantastic views overlooking the Loch, very comfortable with a traditional feel - in keeping with a trip to the Scottish Highlands! Nice touches were the fresh flowers in the room, book and DVD collection just outside the rooms, plus fresh milk for tea and coffee - important if you like your brews. Breakfast was excellent as we worked our way through the menu over the three mornings we were there.

Beverly and David were extremely friendly and knowledgeable of the area, however to make the most of the area be prepared to drive a little as nothing is really within in walking distance, except the Loch and Forestry Commission woods nearby - both very picturesque.

Would thoroughly recommend Craiglinnhe House.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrChilliBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dullstroom, South Africa
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed here as part of a whistle-stop tour of the UK and this was one of our most memorable stopovers. Beverley is very welcoming and friendly, the house is beautifully appointed, the location stunning. Great value for money, a winning formula.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestofspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
0.9 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
133 reviews
4.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
1.4 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
866 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craiglinnhe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craiglinnhe House

Property: Craiglinnhe House
Address: Lettermore, Ballachulish PH49 4JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ballachulish
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craiglinnhe is a charming, late-Victorian villa, built in 1885 from local granite. The house sits in attractive gardens by the shore of Loch Linnhe surrounded by spectacular mountain scenery. Our Visit Scotland 4 star grading acknowledges our high standards of comfort and quality. The five bedrooms are furnished with taste and care and are equipped with TV/DVD, IPhone/iPad docking, hospitality tray and hairdryer. Situated 25 minutes drive from Fort William, 40 minutes drive to Oban and only minutes away from Glen Coe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Craiglinnhe House Ballachulish, Glencoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing