We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good room, poor dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Certificate of Excellence
Marin County, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, good room, poor dinner”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Many hotels and restaurants in this region don't offer Xmas Day service. This hotel is one of the very few that did.
However their 15 Pound Xmas evening buffet was a disaster. It was apparently a 'curry' dinner with congealed rice that had to be scraped off the serving spoon, two liquid-ey dishes - one that that barely resembled a dal and the other a chicken curry with a few shreds of chicken.
Dessert \was profiterolles with the chocolate covering gone missing and a basic cheesecake.
Presumably the kitchen staff had the night off. The staff seemed more concerned with protecting the tables that had already been set for breakfast the next morning!
We did ask for and get a full refund. So that's the 'good' news.
On the other hand the full breakfast was good - typical local ingredients. And overall the staff were friendly and helpful.
It's a decent place, just don't expect too much....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moddydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    564
    277
    135
    64
See reviews for
357
817
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Do not believe any bad reviews about this hotel it is great. Food is good especially breakfast, get a loch view room, incredible views, entertainment, pool and gym were great, surprised at the size of the sauna could get at least 12 people in it. Best thing of all is the friendly staff. Remember it is only a 3 star and some sad people want to moan about anything. I guarantee you will have a great time. Thank you to all of the staff at this delightful hotel and I intend to return.

Room Tip: get a loch view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I and family stayed over Christmas and had a great time here, what made it so special was the staff, warm, welcoming and with great humour. tHE LOCATION IS OUTSTANDING, THE POOL IS GREAT AND JUST WHAT YOU NEED, THE LOUNGE AREA IS COMFORTABLE AND EASYGOING, THE ENTERTAINMENT WAS GREAT. Well done and thank you. We will be back.IDW

Room Tip: anyroom is acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The hotel is in a beautiful location and we were lucky enough to have a room with French doors looking over the loch to the mountains beyond. Some of the furnishings look a bit worn and need to be updated but it was the end of the year and I presume there will be some redecoration / upgrading before next season. The staff were truly wonderful - nothing was too much trouble, so that we really felt relaxed and at home. We would be happy to stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

After getting great deal for our anniversary we arrived and due to mix up we had to wait on our room
Girl at reception was first class and nothing was a problem
We went to our loch view room and it was nice and roomy
The views were beautiful though over Pap of Glencoe and into Kinlochleven and The Mamores

We went for dinner and here lay the problem food was rubbish and overpriced and rather than a pleasant dinner staff busied themselves cleaning and getting breakfast tables ready
Food poor and worse you've gotta pay at the table ... Even though you're a guest
Breakfast at 0930 was worse as I guessed the majority was cooked early in the morning

We heard a few people with complaints on the food and again the girl at reception was most apologetic and helpful

If a little bit of work on the food side of the hotel was looked at this could be a delightful place
Until then it will be a place I pass heading north

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoogzGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great hotel if you like scottish countryside. Outstanding location with staggeringly beautiful views from rooms, bar and restaurant. Swimming pool was lovely and warm, a rarity in Britain! Rooms were pretty but basic. What they lacked in finess they made up in spades with the views. Food was nice but not outstanding, well presented but quality could be improved a little bit. (Ie ditch the cheap ice cream!) Excellent staff! Overall a superb wee hotel in the most beautiful part of the country. I'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judgeatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Booked a 2 night stay through a promotion with It-Is-On. Hotel is a great location, room was large with stunning views down the loch with a backdrop of the mountains, absolutely perfect. Food was excellent both breakfast and dinner and the waitress (didn't catch her name on our first evening dining in and breakfast the following morning is an absolute asset to the hotel, all other staff couldn't have been more helpful. Didn't get to try the leisure facilities this time but will on our next stay. If I had to split hairs I would say the mattress on the bed had seen better days but it didn't spoil an otherwise very enjoyable stay. Great place to base yourself in a visually stunning area. Would happily recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Rooms 1.06 and 1.07 have patio doors from your room out to a sitting area on the banks of the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM B, General Manager at Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments with regards to your stay here with us at The Isles of Glencoe Hotel It is much appreciated.

I agree we have stunning views and I read your other comments with interest and I shared them with my team, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
2.1 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,198 reviews
2.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
146 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
878 reviews
2.0 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
692 reviews
3.6 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre

Property: Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Address: Near Fort William, Ballachulish PH49 4HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isles Of Glencoe Hotel And Leisure Centre
Isles Of Glencoe Ballachulish
Isle Of Glencoe
Isles Of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre Ballachulish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing