We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Certificate of Excellence
Lanark, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“family stay”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were a party of 13 including 2 babies and 3 young children. They all had a fabulous time.
We were given a separate room for dining and they even provided a tv and dvd player in case the children got bored. The food was very good and all our rooms were beautiful. My daughter and damily even had patio doors and a table and chairs outside on the lochside. We all had lovely views of the loch. We mad good use of the pool but unfortunately the jacuzzi was out of order. The staff were very attentive and good with the children

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy M, General Manager at Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
I am so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us recently and that the Glencoe Suite suited your needs for dinner and entertaining the children. It's not something that we had thought about initially but we will definitely keep it in mind for future.
I am glad that you liked your rooms and enjoyed the views that they have to offer and that you managed to make good use of the pool.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Isles in the future.

Kind regards

Tracy Mackintosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    550
    275
    132
    58
See reviews for
347
805
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Isle of Glencoe hotel, the hotel itself is in need of modernising but was clean and in a fabulous location. We stayed in room 205 and our view of the loch was amazing.
The bedroom and bathroom was basic and very clean, we found the bed on the first night too hard but we discussed this with reception who provided a mattress booster and we never had any trouble on the 2nd night.
The food was delicous with a good selection on both evenings and the breakfast was great with good choices.
The staff were all very friendly and a special thanks to Richard in reception who checked us in on Friday and provided us with all the info we needed and recitifed our dinner reservation that I had made on the monday that was missed off the list.
The leisure facilities are great, to have a hotel with a pool is a bonus for me. The pool was great and was nice and warm. The sauna was perfect for me as it never got too warm and I could have happliy sat in there for hours.
Overall, I would stay at the Isle of Glencoe Hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa-Ross1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy M, General Manager at Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased that despite the Hotel needing some work done that this has not put you off enjoying yourself and that my staff were able to provide you with the information that you needed and I have passed on your thanks to Richard. I am also pleased that you felt that the Bio-sauna was just what you were looking for and that the pool was nice and warm for you.
I have also advised my Kitchen team that you were very pleased with both our dinner and breakfast offering throughout your stay, which is a good boost for them.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Isles again in the future.

Kind regards

Tracy Mackintosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

just spent the weekend using a groupon voucher and what a fabulouse time we had,lovely spaciouse rooms,comfy beds etc the place was spotless,staff were wonderfull,welcoming,helpfull especially the gentleman on duty on Saturday Richard!!!made use of the pool and spa facilities which were good,the views are spectacular from the bar/dining room,didnt have dinner but had two lovely buffet style cooked breakfasts....really cant fault this hotel and cant wait to go back.would recommend !!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillianfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy M, General Manager at Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Isles. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and felt that the Hotel was well presented and you enjoyed the comfy bed.
I have passed on your thanks to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Isles in the future.

Kind regards

Tracy Mackintosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

just did an itison trip, great deal, d,d/b, plus wine...lovely hotel, wonderful setting, waking up to look out on a loch from the foot of your bed, its just a fab way to start the day. good room, lovely meal, lovely warm pool, friendly staff,.... good base for touring about.... lovely walks on doorstep, and nearby... At the foot of Glencoe...... its magnificent.......A very enjoyable trip..... AND WE HAD SUNSHINE ALL THE TIME.... oh and twooooo stags, posed for us....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphy-edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy M, General Manager at Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments in relation to your recent stay with us here at the Isles. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with what the Isles had to offer. I have passed on your comments to my team, who all work hard to provide a good experience to our guests. You were very lucky with the weather too and we enjoyed the sunshine for well over a week.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Isles in the future.

Kind regards

Tracy Mackintosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a stay at the Isles of Glencoe Hotel. This was a DBB with bottle of wine Deal and was fantastic value. The hotel is lovely, warm, comfortable with a lovely bar area and dining area overlooking the water. The staff are so friendly and helpful, particularly the dark haired waitress who served us at dinner and breakfast this morning. The pool was great, the Bio Sauna very enjoyable. The food was excellent. Our room was lovely, overlooking the water, very clean and comfortable. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. I have no idea what the normal rates are but it was superb value for the It's On Deal. We will be watching out for another opportunity to visit there. I can't believe some of the less than favourable views on Trip Adviser. Some people must be very picky and be expecting 5 star London luxury in a Highland hotel in a small village!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LaneyBOban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy M, General Manager at Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments regarding your stay with us recently. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed on your comments to my team.
We all work very hard to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay and your feedback is particularly appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Isles in the future.

Kind regards

Tracy Mackintosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

In my opinion Glencoe is the most breathtaking part of Scotland with dramatic scenery at every turn and wonderful views from most of the hotel windows. We have visited Ballachulish several times and always thought we would like to stay in the Isles of Glencoe. We finally stayed there for one night as part of a Groupon deal. I had tried to book a second night but the hotel was full.

O)n arrival I was pleasantly surprised with the friendliness of reception staff at check in and I was very pleased with the amazing view from our room. I also enjoyed using the leisure facilities (pool and sauna), and was really quite enjoying my stay until we went for dinner. To say the food was bad is an understatement. I had a beef dish and my husband had pork. It was bland and unappetising and to make matters worse I ordered cheese and biscuits as a desert. I could hardly believe it when what I got was some crackers and the saddest looking bit of cheddar cheese you have ever seen in your life.

Unfortunately things did not get any better at breakfast next morning. It was dry, unappealing and over cooked. In the end I was glad we had only booked for one night, and although I will go back to Glencoe I doubt whether I will ever use this particular hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cab57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy M, General Manager at Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us here at the Isles. I am pleased that you were happy with your room and enjoyed the views across Loch Leven and mountains of Glencoe.
I am disappointed that you did not enjoy dinner or breakfast throughout your stay and am surprised that you chose not to bring this to my attention while you were at the Hotel. I have currently been working in the Restaurant on a full time basis and seek feedback from my guests throughout dinner and breakfast, but am not aware of any recent issues with our food offering. Had you brought this to my attention, I would have worked with you in order to resolve the issues that you had and maybe I could have helped to make your stay more enjoyable.
I hope that you will reconsider your decision not to stay at the Isles again, as I would very much like the opportunity for you to experience good food, both at dinner and breakfast.

Kind regards

Tracy Mackintosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

What can I say - the views alone make this hotel worthy of recommendation!!!

The room was immaculate - the staff were friendly and helpful - the food was lovely.

My only feedback (please don't read as complaint) is we found the bar area to be a bit lacking in atmosphere - some music/entertainment and some slightly more subdued lighting in the bar area would have been more inviting to us personally. Again, please don't take this as a complaint as we were very impressed with the hotel as a whole.

Highly recommended for anyone who wishes to have a break in this stunning part of the country.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squinn001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy M, General Manager at Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed on your comments to my team.
With regards to the Lounge, I do agree that at times, the atmosphere can be lacking, especially if the Hotel is quiet. We do play background music, but don't want to have it playing too loud and maybe we do play it too low. Renewing the lighting in the Lounge is in our plans for the public areas and I hope that this will take place in the near future.
I do very much appreciate your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Isles in the future.

Kind regards

Tracy Mackintosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
2.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
133 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,169 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
866 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
678 reviews
3.6 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre

Property: Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Address: Near Fort William, Ballachulish PH49 4HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isles Of Glencoe Hotel And Leisure Centre
Isles Of Glencoe Ballachulish
Isle Of Glencoe
Isles Of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre Ballachulish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing