We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Super Location”
Reviewed January 21, 2008

I stayed here with my wife for two nights on 18th 19th January,I could not really fault the place at all.We had our wee dog with us and we all had a very enjoyable weekend in a very nice hotel in a superb location! The conservatory area for dining was first class with tremendous views up Loch Leven to the Pap of Glencoe and beyond.The leisure facilities were also excellent,the sauna was a joy after a day on the hills.A visit to the tourist information centre is also a good idea with lots of leaflets providing information about Glencoe and surrounding area.The ploughmans lunch I enjoyed in here was worth the visit alone.All in all a good weekend away.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — no real complaints,but a wee bit of entertainment would havebeen nice.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    543
    271
    131
    56
See reviews for
341
796
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

My partner and I spent one night at the Isles of Glencoe on a £39 pppn dinner, bed and breakfast deal. We were given a Loch view room (see pictures for the views from the room). There was a queue of Krypton Factor winners working out how to work the heating in the room we had but apart from that, we had a fantastic night. The food was excellent. Dinner was three courses from the set menu with excellent choices. Breakfast was excellent. The pool is small but nice including a jacuzzi. There is a separate sauna. The staff were friendly and overall it was an excellent night.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash_Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2007

Located on the banks of Loch Leven the hotel is in a wonderful position just a couple of miles beyond the Glencoe valley and about 14 miles from Fort William.

The hotel is fairly new I would say built in the last 15 years and generally is in a very good state of repair. The room we had was of an above average size and was comfortable. The only negative point was some signs of dampness around the shower area.

There was some road noise from the nearby A82 but this was not to bad.

Staff were fine if not exceptional.

We had a late booking between Christmas and New Year and got a very good price.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digbydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2007

We had a great stay at this hotel. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff. We had a Loch View room and what a view that was. Simply stunning. The room its self was very generously sized with a huge bed and good sized storage and bathroom. Although I think I would have happily stayed in a cupboard size room if it had that same view!!
We made full use of the leisure facilities. It was very busy with famillies during the day but after 5pm it really quietened down. Nice size pool and sauna.
Had a drink in the hotel bar which seemed more like a foyer than a Highland bar. Could maybe do with being made a bit cosier. However if you fancy a drink somewhere a bit more authentic Scots then head through the underpass. A 3 minute walk takes you to Ballachulish where you will find The Laroch Bar. Here you can get food and a drink in more welcoming surroundings.
Breakfast in the morning was a great selection and again you had the opportunity to take in those views while at your table. Make sure you go for an early morning walk too to take in that Highland air.
Overall, friendly staff, good rooms, nice pool and the nicest surroundings. Could happily have stayed for longer than the one night.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Hotel bar
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shooshi-lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

Having read the reviews about this hotel before we booked we decided to take a chance and book but it was a mistake.

Staff - I cannot say anything bad about any of the staff that we met at the hotel. They were all very well mannered and very helpful.

Food - as we did not dine in the hotel at anytime again I cannot comment on the food.

Leisure facilities - although it is quite a small swimming pool it is adequate for anyone with a family.

Rooms - this is where all my comments would arise. On arrival at the hotel we were told that we had a family deck den. On arrival in the room at first glance it all seemed fine. Our son was really pleased as the room has a king size bed with a television and there is a separate area with bunk beds again with a television which gives everyone some privacy.

There are tea/coffee making facilities which we were pleased to see as some 4* hotels do not offer this.

The room also had patio doors which led out to a small patio with great views.

The bathroom looked as if it had been recently refurbished apart from the floor covering which really needed replaced. Everything else was fine with nice white towels etc.

The room carpets had some stains on them, but although not nice it can be expected in a family room.

It was only when we returned at night that I noticed more. When we closed the curtains they were also well marked. I had thought the carpet might have things spilt with children but the curtains were not at all clean.

Leaving these points aside we thought we would get a good nights sleep before heading off to see some of the scenery the next day, absolutely no chance. You would have thought the family in the room above us were about to land in our room. Running up and down the room, jumping off the beds. We do not assume that they were doing this intentionally it is purely down to the soundproofing within the hotel. We stood this for so long then almost at midnight we had to ask to be moved to another room to allow our son to sleep. We were moved to another room but if I had been given this room on arrival I would not even have booked into the hotel.

Needless to say in the morning, without even waiting for breakfast we checked out of the hotel. The Manager was full of apologies but we really only wanted a decent nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2007

We stayed for two nights at the Isles of Glencoe hotel having read some previous trip advisor reviews. The location is great - lovely views over the water, despite the rain, but the quality of the hotel was not as good as expected.
The curtains on the sloping velux window were missing some hooks and hence did not close properly.
In the bathroom the taps were extremely strange with pull levers that seemed to work in the opposite direction to what would seem natural. When turning them on they often sprayed you with water.
The car park was badly lit which meant finding your way across the waterlogged gravel was difficult in the dark.
The restaurant had no atmosphere in the evening and was cold. Unfortunately in winter it is dark in the evening so you could not see the views while dining. We know this is off-peak season, but it was deathly quiet and not inviting.
The same conservatory style room was used for breakfast in the morning and water was dripping in through the roof. The breakfast buffet had a good selection of hot and cold food but we were a little concerned about the amount of food cooked and on display for the number of guests staying - there seemed to be far too much.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advisor87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east kilbride
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2007

Went to glencoe on 3rd november, the hotel is excellent value for money, the view from our room is amazing, the hotel is spotless and all the staff are friendly, i would highly recommend this hotel to everyone, will be returning soon...cant wait

would recommend to go in november to see the firework display ..amazing

  • Liked — the view from our room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cgllchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
2.1 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
2.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
3.6 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre

Property: Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Address: Near Fort William, Ballachulish PH49 4HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isles Of Glencoe Hotel And Leisure Centre
Isles Of Glencoe Ballachulish
Isle Of Glencoe
Isles Of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre Ballachulish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing