We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely spot with mountains all round”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clachaig Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballachulish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clachaig Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Ballachulish B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely spot with mountains all round”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed here with friends for a 40th Birthday gathering. Perfect spot to head off walking.
Stayed in The Lodge where you go outside main hotel and have individual doors to the rooms.
The rooms are OK but nothing special - feel a bit dated I suppose.
The residents bar was great but there was live band in the other bar one evening which would have been such fun but it was just so crowded we were forced back to residents bar.
Breakfasts were amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetoescapePip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    227
    129
    41
    34
See reviews for
129
305
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Only had 1 night here as we travelled from Edinburgh north to Inverness. This place has the most wonderful staff, cosy rooms, and hearty breakfasts. It was fun waking up to mist-covered mountains and flowing streams! The co-located pub is very welcoming......great menu, warm atmosphere, and plenty of beers to choose from. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Withernsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights around glencoe.... This was by far the most expensive at £92.50 per night.... According to website was on offer to. Yes paying for convenience as bar/meals etc but wasn't blown away by the room as very small. Can't fault staff as very friendly and breakfast was good if not chaotic. Had room above boots bar so worried wouldn't sleep but bed comfortable and coupled with a days walking fell asleep easily. However the tv reception in room was poor so disappointing if not wanting to stay in the bar all night. Food was ok but nothing special. Not sure worth the price tag.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Clachaig is a welome place ... for a Macdonald.

Weather was wild with snow, hail and wind. Clachaig was warm, comfortable and ... homely.
When weather cleared view from the room (12) was a movie in itself.
Rooms are comfortable if a little on the small side, beds comfortable.
Food and drinks were good. Breakfast was good too.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Clachaig is easily accessible.
Recommended stay.

Room Tip: Twin room 12 has great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed in one of the lodges behind the Clachaig,clean,warm, wellfurbished, good price,great experience!

The hotel bar experience was very poor. Food was not great!
Sunday night 2nd March there was no heating at all in the bar!
I have been visiting the Clachaig since 1970 ( When the bar was a wooden shed!) and this has been the worst experience , very poor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANTOURI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanbornton, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Had rained through Inverness, Portree, Plockton for a week, and same here so no climbing Buchaille. Lovely lounge with blazing fire and smell of wet wool and boots. Rooms were very nice with comfy beds. Food back when we were there was very good. Have always wanted to come back for a stay but kept driving and ended up north of here. Recommend it to the younger crowd now.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudiA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

This place caters mainly to walkers, climbers and skiers, and does it well. It's got a nice feel and the rooms were comfortable, if unspectacular.

Food was decent but could be better. Venison casserole was quite tough and disappointing. The bar was huge but cold, with one fire out of 4 lit. Decent portions though, which is often the main criterion after a day in the outdoors!

Breakfast was excellent and service was very good.

You might have a nicer and more reasonably priced stay in a B&B but this place does the job fine. Very handy for Glencoe Mountain skiing.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MJStal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
5.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
3.0 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clachaig Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clachaig Inn

Property: Clachaig Inn
Address: Ballachulish, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ballachulish
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Glencoe, Clachaig Inn is a popular hostelry with a rich mountaineering heritage. Accommodation is provided by 23 en suite bedrooms, most of which enjoy the spectacular mountain views. Clachaig has 3 lively bars award winning bars and specializes in cask conditioned ales and malt whiskey. Food is served throughout the day and the menus use a variety of locally sourced ingredients. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clachaig Hotel Clachaig
Clachaig Inn Ballachulish, Glencoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing