We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photos are deceiving”
Review of Clachaig Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballachulish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clachaig Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Ballachulish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here after a recommendation from a friend. The Inn looks lovely at first view, beautiful location. the room we were given had 3 single beds, and was a good enough size. But, the cleanliness wasn't good. Half empty bottle of water was found down beside the bed, lots of dust under the bed and the bathroom could have been cleaner. our room was above the bar and couldn't get to sleep til well after midnight as staff were banging doors and talking loudly. An extractor fan was switched on around 6am so a long lie wasn't gonna happen either. Food was average, nothing to write home about. I did bring this all to the attention of the staff, but got no reply.

Room Tip: do not choose a room over the bar!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol1Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 828 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here during a hiking trip to Glencoe. It is indeed in a beautiful location, set apart from the nearby small town and a great starting point for hikes in Glencoe or the Ben Nevis area. The room was clean and comfortable, and the 2 pubs on site served up tasty, hearty food perfect after a long day of hiking. Breakfast was excellent and served promptly so you can get an early start on hiking. The cost of bed and breakfast was a little dear, but well worth it for the location.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Emily713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Nothing out of this world, but a lovely place to spend an evening (in the Boots Bar) after a long day on the hill. Good food at a reasonable price, though i was a little underwhelmed by the onion rings, and a mind boggling selection of whisky, if you're that way inclined. A really good atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We camped near by and went for dinner and drinks here. Fantastic live music and a cracking atmosphere. Food was nice and staff very pleasant. Needless to say, I will be back. The location in Glen Coe is stunning and highly encourage everyone to see this part of the world, and if you can like we did, take in a few Munro climbs too

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The location of the Clachaig inn is it's strong point, if like us, you were lucky enough to have the sun shining when you visited, then the view is just spectacular. However I doubt even the rainiest of days could spoil the gorgeous view. I could easily sit there all day taking in the surroundings.

Another positive for us is that our wee dog was allowed in too, so after a busy day walking we were grateful for a drink and bite to eat with our furry friend at our feet. Staff were very attentive and offered bowls of water for our pooch on each visit.

We ate here twice during our stay in glencoe, food was ok, but feel it is overpriced for what we got. Especially as there is only table service when your meals are served, otherwise drinks, sauces and food orders must be placed at the bar. I ordered fish and chips on one visit and was told by staff that they do not recommend it as it is frozen fish? Wonder why it is on the menu if its not recommended that you order it? Very strange. This could be a great place to eat with a little tweaking, but this is just my opinion.

We will definitely return if we are in the area again, especially to admire the gorgeous Scottish scenery.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank nursey14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

May 28 – 2009 – late review but needed to pay tribute to the recommendation of the Clachaig Inn in Glencoe. Great place to visit in Scotland. This was one of our last stops in a two week Scotland self-guided vacation/tour, and even after seeing some beautiful landscapes and castles, Glencoe was one of our favorite places. You get caught up in the atmosphere of the Clachaig Inn – one of the great places we stayed. The setting is beautiful and it's easy to find. It is a perfect base for walkers and hikers. The beer tasting event that was held the first night we were there was great - one of the highlights of our trip. Very relaxed and fun.

The inn is old, and the rooms a bit dated, but adequate; you shouldn't be in the rooms anyway, except to sleep. Rooms were a bit expensive compared to other B&B options –so not the best value for a night's sleep but the great atmosphere does make up for it. If you’re in Glencoe and can afford an extra $20/30 per night – stay here – it’s worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsmbridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Clachaig Inn is in the middle of Glencoe and therefore the perfect place to sit and look at the beautiful mountains and scenery, especially if you get a sunny day and can sit outside. The bar staff are nice and friendly and the bar has great photos and pictures of climbers, along with a range of Mackie’s crisps. Unfortunately the toilets a in dire need of refurbishment. However, it is well worth calling in for a snack/drink if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobLong214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
5.1 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,243 reviews
5.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
167 reviews
3.0 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
363 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
907 reviews
10.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clachaig Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clachaig Inn

Address: Ballachulish, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ballachulish
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Glencoe, Clachaig Inn is a popular hostelry with a rich mountaineering heritage. Accommodation is provided by 23 en suite bedrooms, most of which enjoy the spectacular mountain views. Clachaig has 3 lively bars award winning bars and specializes in cask conditioned ales and malt whiskey. Food is served throughout the day and the menus use a variety of locally sourced ingredients. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clachaig Hotel Clachaig
Clachaig Inn Ballachulish, Glencoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing