We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely quiet location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballachulish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ballachulish Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

My partner and I have just stayed in Ballachulish Hotel for two nights. Lovely tranquil and scenic location, perfect base for discovering Fort William and local attractions. Not much nearby so definitely need a car, might be too quiet for kids. We paid a bit extra for a lake view and it was really nice. The restaurant, bar and staff were all really nice. The building is a little old but I think this adds to the charm, if you want new and modern, this is not for you!

The only negative was the water in the taps - it was really brown which I think is because of the rural location. We bought lots of bottled water for brushing our teeth, making tea etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hi Amelia
Thank you for your lovely comments and i am so gld you enjoyed your stay at the Ballachulish
Our Water system is our own system which is fed from the hills and we treat in our own plant room and sometimes can be slightly brown due to the peatiness of the ground but is very safe to drink as tested every day. I do look forward to welcoming you back one day
Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    428
    227
    96
    67
See reviews for
117
704
39
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is lovely, set in a gorgeous location with beautiful views across the loch. Staff are attentive, approachable and helpful. The food is good, particularly at breakfast where we were spoilt for choice. The rooms are quite basic, but do the job, although the mattresses are very hard- a point worth considering. However, the floors are so creaky and this is a major problem. We were on the ground floor, and anytime the people above walked about their room it honestly sounded as though the ceiling was about to come in. This began at about 5am and became so unbearable that we had to just get up and go for breakfast, where we met the people in the next room who had done the same thing! Unfortunately, for this reason I don't think I would stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Estrella91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Estrella91
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay and your positive feedback, unfortunately your were awakened by other guests and this is something we will be addressing in the very near future.At the beginning of this year we were taken over by Crieff Hydro who have invested a lot of time and source into the hotel and an investment plan is about start very soon were a lot of issues are to be addressed(including soundproofing). It is a very exciting time for the staff and i do hope that you give us another visit as we do want to get this grand old lady back to the former glory were she does belong
Kind regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed here for two nights, the place has great character and the room over the loch was just great.Restaurant food was very good and service quick and efficient . Liked the fact that the hotel accepted dogs ( I am dog owner) , and the rooms was light, spacious and full of charm, loved it

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billybrian8265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Billybrian
Thank you for your great review and how much it means to our staff that you have gone away very happy and hopefully looking to book your next stay with us, our canine friends are always welcome here as it is an ideal spot for them with lots of lovely walks surrounding us. Look forward to welcoming you back
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights with Great Rail Journeys. What a lovely location over looking the Lock and what a lovely building, The reception was very old, suits the building lovely wide stairs that creek every time they are used but fits in with the old place. We had a room overlooking the Lock what a fantastic view never shut the curtains woke to the view every morning. Food was lovely and the staff very friendly. Walked to the nearest shop which took 1 hour got lift back. One thing I would recommend would be transport /taxi for guests to use to go into Fort William at night. There was only one taxi in the area and which was hard to get hold of.

Room Tip: Room at the front overlooking the lock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 880richard880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear 880Richard
Thank you for your lovely comments and very glad theat you enjoyed your stay at the Ballachulish. We have many Great rail visitors to our hotel and it is nice to show off our wonderful views and scenery we have here in the highlands. Being slightly away from the village it is difficult espicially in the summer monthe to get taxis or public transport but we do our best to try and get people to and fro in the area. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future
Kind regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed overnight for one night on a dinner, bed and breakfast package (£99). We were allocated room 105, which is a large, bay windowed room with a lovely views of the loch.

The room had a large ensuite with over bath shower. The room, like the hotel , is comfortable but well worn. The furniture is worn as are the furnishings. The headboard was stained, but the mattress was reasonably comfortable. Only one of the windows could be opened as the others had been painted shut.

The ensuite was clean, but there was evidence of mould around the shower screen and tiles. The bathroom is internal, but there is an extractor fan.

The 2 course dinner was very nice. I had soup and steak salad, which I enjoyed; the other half had fish and chips which he liked too.

Breakfast was a hot and cold buffet arrangement with a reasonable selection of food.

The hotel really needs some money spent on it to replace and upgrade carpets (ripped) and furniture. You can tell it was a grand hotel in its day and it is still comfortable if worn.

Staff were very nice and they were able to store our bikes for the night.

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, mainly for the view, location and food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz12Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Deat Liz 12
Thank you for your lovely comments, it makes my staff day when we get good feedback frrom guests as it makes it all worth while, We are about to go through a very exciting stage at the hotel, witn no investment in the last 7 years , this year we have been taken over by Crieff Hydro who have spent a lot of time in sourcing and training and big investment plan is on the way to improve this old lady back to were she once belonged. I do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very enjoyable stay in a charming room in the older part of the Hotel which was first opened in 1836! You can read the wages records for the first staff displayed on an old piano in the lounge and there are amazing photos of the first ferry crossings at Ballachulish. The road noise was not a problem and the scenery is spectacular. The dinner was really good but buffet breakfast the usual disappointing stuff. The staff were very friendly and helpful too - would definitely recommend this Hotel as a stop off when touring Scotland.

Room Tip: Older part is best - very good jacuzzi bath in the ensuite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beehopeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Behopeful
Thank you for your lovely comments which makes it all worth while for myself and staff at the hotel, great things are coming soon for the hotel with a major investment from our new owners who have in the last 6 months spent a lot of time effort to get our product right. i do look forward to welcoming you back to our grand old lady in the near future
Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is over rated. The setting is romantic if you have a street facing room but then the noise from the busy highway is offensive. Rooms need a major upgrade. We found mold in the shower, thin walls, poor mattresses and windows that either did not open or opened with extreme difficulty. There was no AC but in the highlands that is not required. But with lack of ventilation in the small bathroom an open window would have helped tremendously with the humidity. The downstairs rooms were quaint with a view of the river and beautiful scenery. They had some outdoor seating that was nice once we cleaned off the bird droppings and spider webs. The hostess for tea/coffee in the sitting room after dinner was a positive, though. A good cleaning of the rooms and some new mattresses would greatly help this hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor facing street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Jan
Sorry that we did not come up to your expectations of a highland hotel, due to a lack of investment in the hotel over the last 7 or more years we are about to put things right with our new management team at Crieff Hydro with a major investment in our property to get the tiredness away and give her a breath of fresh air which she deserves. i do hope if you are ever back in Scotland that you do give us another try as we feel a change of life coming back to this grand old lady
Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ballachulish hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
2.1 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
3.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.6 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballachulish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballachulish Hotel

Property: Ballachulish Hotel
Address: Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballachulish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Ballachulish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballachulish Hotel Glencoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing