We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character :)”
Review of Ballachulish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ballachulish Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Character :)”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed here for two nights, the place has great character and the room over the loch was just great.Restaurant food was very good and service quick and efficient . Liked the fact that the hotel accepted dogs ( I am dog owner) , and the rooms was light, spacious and full of charm, loved it

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billybrian8265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Billybrian
Thank you for your great review and how much it means to our staff that you have gone away very happy and hopefully looking to book your next stay with us, our canine friends are always welcome here as it is an ideal spot for them with lots of lovely walks surrounding us. Look forward to welcoming you back
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    446
    241
    103
    70
See reviews for
128
739
41
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights with Great Rail Journeys. What a lovely location over looking the Lock and what a lovely building, The reception was very old, suits the building lovely wide stairs that creek every time they are used but fits in with the old place. We had a room overlooking the Lock what a fantastic view never shut the curtains woke to the view every morning. Food was lovely and the staff very friendly. Walked to the nearest shop which took 1 hour got lift back. One thing I would recommend would be transport /taxi for guests to use to go into Fort William at night. There was only one taxi in the area and which was hard to get hold of.

Room Tip: Room at the front overlooking the lock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 880richard880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear 880Richard
Thank you for your lovely comments and very glad theat you enjoyed your stay at the Ballachulish. We have many Great rail visitors to our hotel and it is nice to show off our wonderful views and scenery we have here in the highlands. Being slightly away from the village it is difficult espicially in the summer monthe to get taxis or public transport but we do our best to try and get people to and fro in the area. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future
Kind regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
170 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed overnight for one night on a dinner, bed and breakfast package (£99). We were allocated room 105, which is a large, bay windowed room with a lovely views of the loch.

The room had a large ensuite with over bath shower. The room, like the hotel , is comfortable but well worn. The furniture is worn as are the furnishings. The headboard was stained, but the mattress was reasonably comfortable. Only one of the windows could be opened as the others had been painted shut.

The ensuite was clean, but there was evidence of mould around the shower screen and tiles. The bathroom is internal, but there is an extractor fan.

The 2 course dinner was very nice. I had soup and steak salad, which I enjoyed; the other half had fish and chips which he liked too.

Breakfast was a hot and cold buffet arrangement with a reasonable selection of food.

The hotel really needs some money spent on it to replace and upgrade carpets (ripped) and furniture. You can tell it was a grand hotel in its day and it is still comfortable if worn.

Staff were very nice and they were able to store our bikes for the night.

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, mainly for the view, location and food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz12Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Deat Liz 12
Thank you for your lovely comments, it makes my staff day when we get good feedback frrom guests as it makes it all worth while, We are about to go through a very exciting stage at the hotel, witn no investment in the last 7 years , this year we have been taken over by Crieff Hydro who have spent a lot of time in sourcing and training and big investment plan is on the way to improve this old lady back to were she once belonged. I do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very enjoyable stay in a charming room in the older part of the Hotel which was first opened in 1836! You can read the wages records for the first staff displayed on an old piano in the lounge and there are amazing photos of the first ferry crossings at Ballachulish. The road noise was not a problem and the scenery is spectacular. The dinner was really good but buffet breakfast the usual disappointing stuff. The staff were very friendly and helpful too - would definitely recommend this Hotel as a stop off when touring Scotland.

Room Tip: Older part is best - very good jacuzzi bath in the ensuite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beehopeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Behopeful
Thank you for your lovely comments which makes it all worth while for myself and staff at the hotel, great things are coming soon for the hotel with a major investment from our new owners who have in the last 6 months spent a lot of time effort to get our product right. i do look forward to welcoming you back to our grand old lady in the near future
Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is over rated. The setting is romantic if you have a street facing room but then the noise from the busy highway is offensive. Rooms need a major upgrade. We found mold in the shower, thin walls, poor mattresses and windows that either did not open or opened with extreme difficulty. There was no AC but in the highlands that is not required. But with lack of ventilation in the small bathroom an open window would have helped tremendously with the humidity. The downstairs rooms were quaint with a view of the river and beautiful scenery. They had some outdoor seating that was nice once we cleaned off the bird droppings and spider webs. The hostess for tea/coffee in the sitting room after dinner was a positive, though. A good cleaning of the rooms and some new mattresses would greatly help this hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor facing street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Jan
Sorry that we did not come up to your expectations of a highland hotel, due to a lack of investment in the hotel over the last 7 or more years we are about to put things right with our new management team at Crieff Hydro with a major investment in our property to get the tiredness away and give her a breath of fresh air which she deserves. i do hope if you are ever back in Scotland that you do give us another try as we feel a change of life coming back to this grand old lady
Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ballachulish hotels

Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a great stay; the room we got was fantastic; greatly appointed and tastefully decorated with a superb view over Loch Leven/Loch Linnhe. Lovely having a beer after a great hill walk outside in the front of the hotel overlooking the loch. The dinner was great too, with fresh seafood.
Sadly, the canteen style breakfast was rather disappointing, hence not five stars.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear JAn K
Thank you for your lovely comments and that yopu enjoyed your stay very much at the Ballachulish, a bit disappointing for you for the breakfast set up but going forward it is something we are looking at in the near future
I hope the next time you are in the area you come and visit us again and awra best as we say in Scotland
Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greetham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

A hotel that has character, but needs some investment. Don't let that put you off as its a nice place to stay. The food was good, but the service was very slow at times. They seem to run on a minimal staffing basis, so patience is needed. The location, view and setting is wonderful, but you are next to a metal road bridge. Would I go back? Yes as the positives outweigh the negatives by a long way

Room Tip: Rooms are OK, but need updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Martin F
Thank you for your review and i feel that you got it spot on and regarding service we feel its not to be rushed although i have spoke to my team about it. At the beginning of the year we were taken over and a big investment plan is on the way were we keep to the same character but just give us a bit of a facelift and we do hope to keep that quaintessand too make the place more comfterable.I do look forward to welcoming youback to the Ballachulish in the very near furure
Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
0.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
133 reviews
2.1 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
3.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
678 reviews
1.6 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
632 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballachulish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballachulish Hotel

Property: Ballachulish Hotel
Address: Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballachulish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballachulish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballachulish Hotel Glencoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing