We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break - Would Go Back”
Review of Ballachulish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballachulish Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My partner got me a weekend trip away after much deliberation I decided a trip to Glencoe and the Ballachulish was the hotel. After reading trip advisor I must admit I was sceptical however I went with an open mind and how WRONG the reviews were....the hotel staff were very welcoming when we arrived and the room was better than expected, the bathroom was bigger than expected too and had in my opinion a very good and powerful shower,the overall look of the hotel is very nice and in keeping with a country hotel....although some off the fixtures and decore is outdated every effort is being made to update.

The only niggle I had was the food...the menu was the same the entire trip and was over priced also the lack of imagination on the "specials" menu was laughable the main special was salmon fillet both nights and then a trio of ice cream. The breakfast was good offering a hot and cold buffet although it seemed like the mushrooms and black pudding were put in the serving dishes with the grease it was cooked in was very off putting and made the pudding soft making it hard to pick up with tongs..

Overall a good stay and would go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryn4005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

672 - 678 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way up to Skye. 2 males on reception pleasant however not the most efficient. Hallways very musty smelling. Room a good size and overall clean with a lovely bathroom. A few points ruined our stay however. The first issue was that the room was freezing even with the heating up full, secondly we were right above the kitchen and a VERY VERY loud fan came on before 6 am.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was average and cold. The serving staff appeared to need training as they seemed totally confused and constantly took meals back and forth to the kitchen looking for the right table and never even asked when we both left almost full desserts.
All in I would avoid as not worth the price charged.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowScotlandUk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Advertised as a romantic room, the room, thread bare chairs, view over the rusty boat shed, bed spread in need of wash....oh and the toilet with a view ( in) from the fire escape!

Layout poor, a mirror but no light, a kettle but no plug within reach.

Food was excellent, sirloin cooked to perfection and excellent service. But choose your buffet breakfast plate wisely.

Staff kindly and attentive, compensating somewhat for the dire room.

Totally over sold and under delivered on the romantic package, and over priced for what it is. More hostel than hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Famfun11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Another visit to the hotel and again Frank and his team couldn't be more helpful. Our intention was to stay one night but after making enquiries we stayed for another night. The food great as usual, good to see some different wines available maybe some more Italian wines?? Great place to relax and just chill. Hope to be back soon.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JohnYvonneMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We spent a night at this hotel and we were surprised at how good it was the settings and the bedrooms are excellent and the staff were very helpful and were keen to spend time showing us the layout as it was a bit confusing for us with all the different corridors the lounge bar is very nice and the restaurant has an excellent range of food to choose from nothing was too much trouble for them will certainly have a return visit

Room Tip: we had a room at front of hotel and the views were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahw547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here for one night on business with work colleagues. Lovely hotel in good, peaceful location and easy to find. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly, food was good. Can't really fault this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dieterjonentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Lovely Scottish hotel traditional decor but great place to rest your head after exploring , food not bad , breakfast in good , beautiful views , room was cleaned every day and fresh towels staff were helpful Could happily stay for a week was very relaxing

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
2.1 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
170 reviews
3.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
720 reviews
1.6 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
683 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballachulish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballachulish Hotel

Address: Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Price Range: $74 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballachulish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ballachulish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballachulish Hotel Glencoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing