We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Highland hotel in a great location”
Review of Ballachulish Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ballachulish Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Old World Highland hotel in a great location”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 1 night on a short road trip around the Highlands.

The Good
Lovely large clean room with amazing views of the Loch, four poster bed, old world Scottish Highland feel in the older part of the hotel…room 204 I think it was.
Hotel has a stunning location over looking Loch Linnhe and nice walks nearby.
Hotel itself had a lot of charact - great big drawing room to quietly read a book with a nip of whiskey or chat to other travellers in the late evening after dinner.
Dinning room views were amazing - sun setting over the Loch as we ate our dinner of Balmoral chicken stuffed with haggis and whiskey cream sauce…yum!
Staff were helpful and polite.
Great buffet breakfast.
Great base to do the amazing walks/hikes around Glen Coe just 15mins drive from the hotel.

The Bad
The hotel overall could do with a facelift in places e.g. the bar is a little cheap looking, dinning room tables and table wear were overly worn and need to be replaced as it takes away from the overall experience of the hotel.
Slow service in the dinning room - not that we minded as we were happy to while away the evening watching the sun set but some others might of minded the 45min wait if they were hungry!

We will be back to stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

Tips
Ask for a Loch view room in the older part of the hotel.
Hike Glen Coe …its one of the most beautiful Glens in Scotland and recent film shoot for Jams Bond Skyfall is in Glen Etive, the Glen just beside the 3 sisters. We did both Glen Etive and the Lost Valley hikes...stunning!
Make sure to visit Kilchurn Castle – home of the Campbells who slaughtered the MacDonalds at Glen Coe…it’s a very well preserved castle ruins with great views down the Loch.

Room Tip: Ask for a Loch view room in the older part of the hotel....204 has a four poster and overlooks the L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review following your stay with us. It was very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your experience here at the Ballachilish Hotel and your positive comments with regards to our accommodation, food and service will be passed on to all members of my team.
We are currently in the middle of costing out a refurbishment programme which will include our bedrooms and Public areas. We hope that you will return to stay with us again when next up in this area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    450
    243
    107
    71
See reviews for
130
749
41
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Keeping it short:

2night stay (leaving tomorrow)

Location brilliant, view from our room beautiful and customer service equally great.

I really cannot fault the hotel in anyway and even when the obnoxious bald guest was rude to some staff they dealt with him professionally and courteously (this guy was vile in my opinion).

Go, it's got old charm and a creecky staircase...& stunning views...& good service...&...it's just really really good.

Thanks for having us....glad we found it and would love to come back again :-)

Room Tip: If you want the water views remember there is a road between the hotel and the water so there will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive review following your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and your kind comments with regards to my staff will be passed on to all at our regular meetings. We hope that you will return again soon when next in this area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Enjoyed overnight stay in this hotel but beware there is no lift and there are at least three floors! You really need to be quite fit to manage these stairs with your luggage - we were on the second floor and it was quite difficult. The breakfast was lovely but the evening dinner was OK but nothing to write home about. Staff were friendly and we enjoyed the walk at the front of the hotel in the morning after breakfast.

Room Tip: beware of the stairs! Otherwise everything OK hotel was peaceful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay. We do offer porterage to all our guests as a standard on check in and I do hope that this was offered to you. It was good to note that you enjoyed your walk around the hotel taking in the wonderful views. we do hope that you will return again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We booked a room here at very short notice. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a lovely view over the loch. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Dinner was delicious - I thoroughly enjoyed the mussels for starters. My husband enjoyed the complimentary golf on the course next to the hotel . All in all a thoroughly enjoyable break in this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: It's worth asking for a loch view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your very positve comments following your short stay with us. Your kind comments with regards to our food will be passed on to all concerned. The complimentary round of golf is always well received and I am glad your husband enjoyed this experience. We hope that you will return again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a nice aspect and reasonable location. The room was very small though and the hike up the stairs to the third floor a bit daunting. The walk onto the adjacent golf course and along the stream was very nice. The service and the food was below standard. Price was relatively high given the other places we have stayed in. I would give this one a miss if you have the time to keep going.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was sorry to note that you felt the service and standard of our food was not satisfactory. I am not sure if you passed on your comments to my staff on duty who would have tried to rectify any issues you may have had. We will discuss your comments and continue to improve on these with all members of my Food and Beverage team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We dropped in to the hotel for a drink and to get out of the rain as we were considering a hotel in the area to book for the night. As we walked in the receptionists didn't bother looking up but continued to talk to each other so we made our way into the bar/restaurant. It was terribly cold so I asked if the fire could be lit. I was informed it was now summer, which in Scotland doesn't start until August and this was only May, so they would not light it for us. As it was so cold I was hoping to get soup and a toasted sandwich to heat me up but they were only doing cold sandwiches. We ordered a glass of wine and a beer and sat down. I was quite shocked to find out my glass of wine was almost £7 which is more than I would pay in my home town of Edinburgh. By this stage I was feeling quite chilly from both the welcome and the fact the bar/restaurant had no heating on. We finished our drinks and left and decided that this was certainly not somewhere we would want to spend to night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
It was disappointing to read your comments with regards to a negative Customer care feeling from my Reception and Food and Beverage staff on duty the day that you popped in for lunch. We will discuss these at our regular meetings and pass them on to all our staff. I do hope that if in the area again you would try our facilities as I can assure you that your experience is not our normal standard. We get so many positve reviews about our staff and service from our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ballachulish hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

just back from having an overnight stay at the hotel, the location is a great stop over when touring the highlands, and we had the room with the sea view on the first floor which was so relaxing looking out at the lovely view, the food the staff and the room all excellent
Will not hesitate in going back or to reccommend.

Room Tip: we had the room on the first floor with the sea view, which was lovely I would ask for the same room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive review following your one night stay with us. Its great to read that you will return at some stage when you are next in the Highlands.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
0.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
139 reviews
2.1 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
3.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
686 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
872 reviews
1.6 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Ballachulish Hotel

Property: Ballachulish Hotel
Address: Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballachulish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballachulish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballachulish Hotel Glencoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing