We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballachulish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fern Villa Guest House
Ranked #7 of 10 Ballachulish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely Place!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had a lovely stay here, and couldn't find anything to complain about. The house itself is a charming stone cottage. Our room was very cozy and comfortable, and had a nice view towards the Loch and the mountains. It was probably the most peaceful sleep I've ever had. David and Catherine were the most gracious hosts! And of course, the breakfast spread was brilliant!

I'd love to come back here, and wouldn't shy away from recommending the place.

Room Tip: We took a front facing room. The view towards the lake & mountains, especially at dawn, is reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prayashgiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernvilla, Owner at Fern Villa Guest House, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your review, it was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    44
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
18
105
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Enjoyed a comfortable and attentive stay at Fern Villa. Great breakfast, comfortable, clean bedrooms, good WiFi and efficient booking system. Good location for Glencoe and Nevis Range ski centres. Can't fault our stay which was exceptional value for money. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cranfordbraemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernvilla, Owner at Fern Villa Guest House, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Thanks to Catherine, David and family for a fantastic and welcoming stay. I stayed with 5 friends and we all agreed Catherine and David went above and beyond to make us feel so welcome we felt we were at home. David stayed up until the early hours of the morning to welcome us to their home on arrival. We were there for a climbing weekend and the rooms were warm, very comfortable, clean and spacious. The breakfast was fantastic and there was plenty of choice. I personally would recommend David's "award-winning" porridge. Nothing was too much trouble for David and Catherine who filled our water bottles/flasks of tea/provided hot drinks after our return from a days climbing and ensured all our wet gear and boots were dry for the next day on the mountains. They made us all feel at home and if I should ever return to that area, I would definitly be returning to Fern Villa. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma_Crowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernvilla, Owner at Fern Villa Guest House, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was great to meet you all and to hear that you enjoyed your 3 days with us. Hopefully next time there wont be any need to use the drying room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the night and it was lovely! The room was very clean and had everything you needed, the hosts were very kind and helpful with recommending places to eat and things to do in Glencoe. The breakfast was great too, if you're a fan of fish I would highly recommend the kippers for breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernvilla, Owner at Fern Villa Guest House, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your kipper!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

-The staff were welcoming and friendly, clean and quiet room. It 'been a pleasure to spend our stay at Fern Villa. Also the breakfast was delicious and filling. We'll be back soon again , places to visit are many and the Guest house is located very close to the location of interest.

-If you love photography, there is no better place in the world where you can find incredible locations such as those of Glencoe. Lakes and mountains serve as a magnificent backdrop to your stay. One of the most representative areas of the place is without a doubt Glen Etive and can be reached via A82 (the main road), is like entering a Jurassic era, where the atmosphere make it even more exciting by the deer, the inhabitants of the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frullinato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernvilla, Owner at Fern Villa Guest House, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here recently for a weekend walking trip to Glencoe and were a bit disappointed overall. The hosts are very pleasant and very accommodating, and the place certainly is reasonably priced, but the quality of the accommodation isn't great, despite their website, which makes it look lovely. The whole place in need of an update. We had a small double which really was pretty small. The bathroom was fine - small but adequate - but the bin hadn't been emptied from the people before us, which was a bit offputting. We did see one of the larger doubles at the front and it looked much nicer, so perhaps best to steer away from the rooms at the back if possible. Breakfast was nice and filling.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are much more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernvilla, Owner at Fern Villa Guest House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a response even though some of your comments were disappointing to hear. We are sorry if we missed the bin on the changeover of the rooms, had you let us know we would have nipped up and changed it straightaway for you. The photos on the website are very recent and show the current decor so I am unsure why you would expect anything different. The room size is also pointed out on the website along with a photograph and the comment for you to make sure you are happy with the room size before booking the room. We are intrigued by your comment that the house needs updating and would be happy to hear your suggestions. However we do advertise ourselves as a family home and not a boutique b&b. We are currently in the process of having the lounge furniture re-upholstered and new windows throughout the house are being fitted in December. The 2 back bedrooms have been recently decorated and have new bed linen and again the dining room was painted last year and new table linen bought this year. Sorry we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed for just one night on our way home from the West Highlands. I wanted to spend some time photographing Glencoe and the loch, but sadly the heavens opened and the mist set in.

Our room was the small double and it was very small, but this was made clear on booking and was priced accordingly. It was perfectly adequate for our one night stay.

It is not a fancy guest house and perhaps in need of a little updating; nonetheless it was comfortable, clean (no smell of dogs as mentioned by another guest) and friendly. Breakfast was tasty and there was a good selection.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola-and-Chaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernvilla, Owner at Fern Villa Guest House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and were glad to hear that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us.

You're right, we are not a fancy Guest House and advertise this as our family home and hope to make guests feel that they are staying in a home from home. I'm pleased to hear that you couldn't smell the dogs, the earlier comment certainly made us paranoid, but thankfully they were the only ones to comment in the 7 years we have been here!

We are updating slowly usually room by room, however the whole house is getting new windows installed in December which I hope will improve its appearance. The smelly dog people also complained about the shelving racks in the en-suites so I am pleased to announce that they have now been replaced and we also have new toilet roll holders and toilet brush holders, so we look a bit posher in there now. Plus the lounge furniture is currently being re-upholstered. As we can accommodate 10 guests we have to offer 10 seats in the lounge, today's furniture is much to bulky so we've had to refresh rather than replace.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
0.2 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,164 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
675 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Glencoe Inn
The Glencoe Inn
#7 of 11 in Glencoe Village
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Villa Guest House

Property: Fern Villa Guest House
Address: Loan Fern, Ballachulish PH49 4JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small and friendly 3 star guest house in Ballachulish, just a few miles from spectacular Glencoe and 15 miles from Fort William. An ideal base for your holiday whether you are looking for adventure or relaxation. We have 3 double and 2 twin rooms, all en-suite with cosy duck feather duvets and plenty of towels. Each room has hot drink making facilities, TV, alarm clock and hairdryer. The downstairs double and 1 upstairs double and 1 twin are smaller rooms whilst the front double and front twin are larger. If you are staying for a few nights then we do our best to book you in to one of the larger rooms. You are welcome to use the guest lounge at any time, where you can find books and maps of the area. We hope to welcome you to Fern Villa soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fern Villa Guest House Ballachulish, Glencoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing