We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballachulish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fern Villa Guest House
Ranked #7 of 11 Ballachulish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just back from another lovely stay at Fern Villa. Catherine and David, many thanks again for making us feel so welcome in your home. Comfy beds, clean rooms, fluffy towels and a breakfast to die for, what else could you want!! Also they dont charge the earth like some places do, and all the above makes us and others keep on returning. Set in a beautiful part of the country, Ballachulish is a great base for enjoying the outdoors. Our hosts couldnt do enough for us and are very warm and welcoming. David you cook one great breakfast and your porridge is the best I have ever had!!! See you both again on our next trip to that neck of the woods.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmorrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernvilla, Owner at Fern Villa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. It is very rewarding for us when we hear that guests have enjoyed their time with us and better still when they come back to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 178 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

If your looking for hosts who go the extra mile, i can say David did. There were 8 of us staying there 2 nights while completing Marie Curies Mountain Challenge. David was up making breakfast for us at 6.15 and was there when returned exhausted and un fed. David rang around to find some where that would make us food, then he drove to collect it for us. What more could you ask for after 23miles of trekking. 2 of our friends stayed extra 2 nights to climb ben nevis and David was again up looking after them for early breakfast. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast had a lot of choice would recommend to others. the pub close by was very friendly and food was usually pub grub but ok.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernvilla, Owner at Fern Villa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. After completing your charity walk it was our pleasure to make sure that you were all fed and watered. Hope the walk went well in the Lake District.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Although this was not what we expected (we were expecting a higher level of accommodation) our hosts were very nice. The restaurant nearby (pub) not fantastic (pub food of course) but ok. Hence, a nice place to stay in Glencoe.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlesLvalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernvilla, Owner at Fern Villa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are sorry to learn that we were not what you expected. Could you please let us know what website you visited to lead you to that conclusion? We want to make sure that our guests are completely happy with their stay with us and that we are not misleading in any way. Many thanks Catherine and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This guest house is a wee gem in the West Highlands, and very handy for trips to Isle of Skye, the Jacobite steam train, Glencoe, Ben Nevis etc.
David and Catherine are perfect hosts, friendly without being intrusive, and full of information about the area. The breakfasts are to die for, with enormous choice of fresh produce cooked to perfection, and served in a beautifully laid out dining room. My wife particularly liked the Loch Fyne kippers. I liked everything, but must mention the haggis, black pudding and homemade porridge (David is a qualified porridge maker!).
We found out about this lovely place when looking at the glencoescotland website, which is excellent and bang up to date regarding availability. Unlike others, Fern Villa offers quality without ridiculous prices. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite small, but perfectly formed with everything anyone would want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeccyNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernvilla, Owner at Fern Villa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Thank you for your review it is always great to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay with us. If you visit us again we will hopefully be able to book you in to the larger double at the front of the house. We are glad you appreciated the breakfast, we take pride in offering quality produce which is Scottish wherever possible. Thanks again. Catherine and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Everything here is how you would want it. Easy to find, easy to park, friendly people with time to chat, clean comfortable room, good breakfast and great value for money at the lower end of the B&B price scale.
No worries at all. It's a pity that Balaculish doesn't have a decent pub but that takes nothing away from David and Catherine's place. Would I go back ? Yep, certainly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bussetboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernvilla, Owner at Fern Villa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's always a pleasure to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have just returned from a three night break at Fern Villa 12-15th July 2012. From the moment we arrived David and Catherine made us so welcome. Our bedroom downstairs was small but cosy, the en suite was like a tardis, good shower !! The breakfast was amazing, especially the porridge, highly recommended !! Kenny was cycling through Glencoe on the Friday and David could not have been more helpful,and providing secure lock up for bike throughout our stay.We ate at the Laroch bistro just two minutes from Villa, Sybil and her staff were very friendly and made us feel at home. We also ate at the Clachaig in Glencoe village for a lunch time, well worth a visit.
This has to be one of the nicest places we have stayed, well worth the money and one of the cleanest. David and Catherine spend a lot of time on attention to detail and make your stay feel like a home from home. We will be back !!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tishywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review and we'll pass on your comments to Sybil. We are always pleased to receive feedback and it's all the better if it is positive. Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

David and Catherine are both caring and genuine people. nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was superb. both were willing to help you with any trips or walks that you had in mind. from the moment we booked we had an email welcoming us with details of how to get there. we were taken aback with the friendliness shown from the minute we became a guest. stinky pinky and brecken (dogs) were just as friendly as their owners. thank you for a wonderful stay. jim and chris xx

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithyRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, all four of us appreciate it! It's so nice to hear that people have enjoyed their stay with us and can feel relaxed and at home. Hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
2.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.2 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
363 reviews
2.9 mi away
Creag Mhor Lodge
Creag Mhor Lodge
#6 of 11 in Ballachulish
429 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Glencoe Inn
The Glencoe Inn
#7 of 11 in Glencoe Village
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Villa Guest House

Address: Loan Fern, Ballachulish PH49 4JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ballachulish
Price Range: $61 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small and friendly 3 star guest house in Ballachulish, just a few miles from spectacular Glencoe and 15 miles from Fort William. An ideal base for your holiday whether you are looking for adventure or relaxation. We have 3 double and 2 twin rooms, all en-suite with cosy duck feather duvets and plenty of towels. Each room has hot drink making facilities, TV, alarm clock and hairdryer. The downstairs double and 1 upstairs double and 1 twin are smaller rooms whilst the front double and front twin are larger. If you are staying for a few nights then we do our best to book you in to one of the larger rooms. You are welcome to use the guest lounge at any time, where you can find books and maps of the area. We hope to welcome you to Fern Villa soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fern Villa Guest House Ballachulish, Glencoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing