We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge on Loch Goil

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loch Goil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge on Loch Goil
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loch Goil
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolute Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

What can we say about The Lodge? To be completely honest, the simplest way to describe it is to tell you there are no words to describe it! An absolutely stunning location - peace, tranquility and beauty.

Superb service - Alice, Ian and their team (especially Joan and Hazel) are consumate professionals with only one goal - to ensure their guests have the most amazing experience of their lives. The personal attention made us all feel like VIPs but we were never smothered. Our needs were met, we were taken care of but also given space to enjoy the venue and the experience in our own way.

The food is absolute perfection - I cannot tell you how delicious and well- presented all of our meals were. Every course was one mouth-watering delight after another and I cannot wait to go back for more!!

The rooms are all beautifully presented, each with their own personality and quirkiness. Everyone commented on how beautiful they were and how comfortable the beds were.

The overall experience was above and beyond expectations and we cannot recommend this venue more highly. You may visit a number of 5 star venues in your lifetime but you will never, ever find a match for The Lodge.

Thank you to everyone at The Lodge for making our special day (25/09/2010) the most amazing, memorable and perfect experience - we could not have asked for more.

L & L

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lpaton82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    3
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
66
37
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
north west england
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

My husband and I joined 30+ other guests for the wedding of our friends at The Lodge over the Easter weekend, and were also lucky enough to stay in one of the sumptuous rooms overnight.

As a wedding venue it is excellent, booked for single use the wedding party has the run of the building, which is of the arts and crafts style and authentically decorated and furnished for a real Scottish retreat feel. The room for the ceremony is magnificent and the cosy lounges and bar area are great for pre-post ceremony drinks and mingling before the reception. The new, airy conservatory is also a bonus, giving excellent views over the loch and estate. The tree house, cottage and viewing decks, all on the loch, are also fantastic features for an unusual location. The staff on the day were excellent, and the quality of the seven course menu second to none. The rooms themselves are amazing, all individually decorated and more like suites than rooms. Overall, a fantastic venue!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 31songs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

I'll keep this brief and tell you all you need to know. We recently attended the Lodge for a wedding and here is what we thought...

Location and grounds- stunning
Rooms -comfortable, lavish and ornate. Each room has its own identity and is decorated to an impecable standard and mainteined extremely well.
Service - second to none. I wont name names to avoid embarassing individuals, but you know who you are. The staff did everything to ensure that the special day ran without a hitch. Having managed restaurants in the past, i am the worst person to cater for, but was astounded by the professional and all encompassing service we received at the Lodege.
Food-Home grown flavours, succulent meats, great combinations of foods. Given that the kitchen was catering 5 courses for such a large number we never waited long for food and everything was piping hot when it came out. Flawless!

I would love to get married in this wonderful place!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank Kirstin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful house on the breath-taking shores of Loch G.oil.
Pure elegant luxury, from the claw foot bath-tub, to the roaring fireplace, not to mention the champagne in the romantic treehouse, which hangs over the loch.
After an excellent dinner in the awesome dining room( which will make you feel like you are dining in a castle!), we enjoyed our single malts in the bar. After a full day of fresh highland air, we slept amazingly in our down filled bed.
Awoke to the quiet morning and watched the mist rise off the loch, then enjoyed a sumptious breakfast.
I also have to mention the staff, who go about their work quietly, and seem to anticipate your every need.
If you enjoy luxury and some of the most beautiful scenery in the world, this is for you.
I only hope we can visit again!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaMarie-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2006

The Lodge on the shore of Loch Goil is the most attractive and warmly welcoming private country house in the Scottish Highlands. It's close enough to Glasgow to be accessible (only an hour's drive), yet it is nestled deep among the mountains of the rugged South West to feel secluded and a true escape from all things urban.
I spent a long weekend here with a group of girlfriends: we caught the sleeper train up from London to Arrochar & Tarbet (20 minutes drive through dramatic scenery) and settled into The Lodge to enjoy some true Scottish hospitality. We were spoiled with yummy cooked breakfasts, amazing weather - it was cold but clear and we went for several bracing walks around the loch and saw seals - and wound up our days with tea by the fire in the lounge, where we could read, listen to music and hang out.
If any of us needed space we would retire to our rooms, which all had stunning views over the hills and loch, as well as deep baths (also with views) and huge beds.
Each evening we were treated to own organic dinner party in the Arts & Crafts period dining room and there's even a tiny bar, we called our private members' club for the duration of our stay.
If you are after a country house party, but with the luxury of staff and service, this is the place to book. All you need to bring to thoroughly enjoy a visit to the The Lodge is good walking gear - everything else is has been considered and provided.
We all agreed that we would like to return to The Lodge with a lover and spend a more romantic time here by staying in the Summerhouse or Tree House, both of which are fully self contained and beautifully built in wood in the grounds. I can't recommend this Highland secret and hideaway highly enough.
Belinda Buckley, Surrey, England

  • Liked — Beautiful house, stylishly decorated
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Transient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loch Goil
14.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
10.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
9.6 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
7.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Loch Goil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Loch Goil

Property: The Lodge on Loch Goil
Address: The Lodge Loch Goil, Loch Goil PA24 8AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Loch Goil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loch Goil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge on Loch Goil 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on Loch Goil is one of the finest 5-star exclusive-use venues in Scotland, our ethos is pure relaxation and total privacy in picturesque and luxurious surroundings. A bespoke experience offering excellence in cuisine, accommodation and service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel Loch Goil
The Lodge Loch Goil
The Lodge On Loch Goil Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing