We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of The Beckford Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tisbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beckford Arms
Ranked #1 of 4 Tisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were on our way home from the Southwest of England to the Continent and made a stopover at the Beckford Arms. What a great countryside inn! Our room, even it was quite small as only in this one they accept dogs, was very nicely decorated. The welcome was extremely friendly (as was all the staff during our stay), the room ready with tea, coffee and a big bed and biscuits for the dog ... The shower and the whole bathroom were very, very nice. Dinner at the bar was of a surprisingly high quality, real fresh food, just wonderful; in the morning fresh milk in front of the room and than a wonderful breakfast again with very fresh food made to order plus a nice small buffet. Whenever we will pass through this part of the country again, we know where we stay ...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eiroflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 483 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

I can't remember the last time we had a weekend to ourselves and whilst I love my children to bits I couldn't think of a better way to celebrate 12 years of marriage.
From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed almost home from home. We where instantly welcomed and offered a drink and then shown our room, which was perfect in every way. had a great first night with delicious food and fine wine. After a great nights sleep we came down stairs to one of the best breakfasts I've had in a while washed down with a complimentary make your own bloody Mary, brilliant! we went for a good walk despite getting totally lost enjoyed the beautiful surrounding scenery, finally got back to a warm welcome as if we where old friends. Met the two owners who told us their story and trials and tribulations about the big fire.
I wont bore you any more but we stayed two nights and at every stage we felt like VIP's. the great thing though is that it is obvious everyone gets the same attentive service. whilst never being in your face there is always a member of staff to offer help...
What a great place great food great wine and a great team.
Thank you. Bill & Mills

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billythewindturbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This delightful combination of pub, restaurant anf B&B was one of our most enjoyable stays during our touring holiday and is to be highly recommended. Apart from the bar area there are two other eating areas and we chose the lounge which had romantic candle light and a blazing fire. The food was an absolute delight, both at dinner and breakfast. The rooms are decorated with spledid imagination and very clean. The staff were extremely friendly .

Room Tip: Unfortunately there is only one dog-friendly room and it is quite small with no real space to sit or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brighton45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Somewhere in the countryside off the A303 near Salisbury and Stonehenge is this brilliant pub/ restaurant B&B. From the high quality of the bedroom furniture and fixtures and fittings to the thoroughly professional yet friendly staff to the fine food at dinner to the delicious breakfast (how many B&Bs offer a free Bloody Mary and aspirins for hungover guests?), nothing can be faulted. Add lovely surroundings, peace and quiet and a beautiful garden and you have the perfect place. We've stayed in many pub B&Bs and this is the best of them by a country mile.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our two night mid week stay was part of a family get together August 2013. We stayed in room 1 which overlooks the crossroads where the Beckford is placed. From the outside it looks like an upmarket country inn, a good solid building with conservatory garden room extension leading to outside seating. There is a car parkbut it isn't sufficient to service the restaurant and hotel rooms so expect to have to park on the road as well. We arrived on a Tuesday lunchtime and the place was very busy, mostly it seemed with people taking lunch. I would not class this establishment as a place where locals would go for a lunchtime or evening drink, the majority of its clients do seem to be having food.

As the Beckford does not have a designated reception area you join the queue at the bar to check in. I believe it was one of the owners who showed us to our room. First impressions are very favourable. The room was quite small but beautifully decorated, mirrored glass bedside tables, modern circular low occasional table for the hostess tray, a padded window seat, five foot bed, tv and one easy chair. Added to these more usual items, were a digital radio/Ipod player, bottles of tap water, information about the area, note pads, pens, pencils, bedside lights, magazines all of which were on the two bedside tables. This left precious little room for anything personal. Our room did not have a wardrobe but a peg rail positioned on the wall opposite the door into the room, I can't remember if there were clothes hangers. Already a couple of the pegs were in use for a hot water bottle and umbrella.

The bathroom had an over the bath shower unit with glass screen, toilet and wash hand basin. We had to use the window sill to store our toiletries. A nice touch was the tartan draw string bag hanging on a hook on the door. This contained many items you might have forgotten and some most people would not have thought of packing such as ear plugs. The reason for these became apparent later in the evening.

As we were informed by the owner the Bramley products in the bathroom were made by his wife who used to develop products for the Cow Shed, and they were available for purchase from the bar. We had also used these products during our stay at the Inn at Cranborne. The toiletries are very good and smell devine.

We had reserved a table for our evening meal and I would suggest this might be essential at this establishment due to its popularity. Service was very slow. Being vegetarian and not a great fan of quiches my choice was extremely limited. I had a main course size salad starter of beetroot smoked salmon with celeriac coleslaw. Four very thin slices of salmon and a tablespoon size quenelle of coleslaw and a couple of salad leaves and that was all. At over £13 it was overpriced. Still hungry we ordered an apple and rhubarb crumble for dessert. We waited and waited, 45 minutes passed when finally our desserts arrived. We did not eat at the Beckford the following evening.

Breakfast the following morning was taken in the conservatory area where a buffet was laid out. The usual cereals, fruit, yogurts, fruit juices, and bread were available as well as a 'boil your own' egg station. The cooked breakfast looked and smelled appetising but the decaffeinated coffee was dreadful. Newspapers were available for guests to read and the overall atmosphere was relaxed, calm and unhurried.

Returning late afternoon following a day walking in the New Forest we were surprised to find our room had not been serviced, neither had the other room occupied by our family. The bed was unmade, the coffee mugs were dirty, the cafetiere still had coffee dregs in it, the milk left outside each room in the morning was still on the hostess tray, we had no clean towels nor had the bathroom been cleaned. Asking at the bar if the rooms were serviced on a daily basis the barmaid, Holly, confirmed they were and offered to ring house keeping to find out why ours hadn't been. About ten minutes later Holly and another member of staff arrived at our room to clean it. As the bar had been busy when I enquired about servicing I told Holly to just give us some clean towels, replenish the hostess tray and forget the rest.

But this lack of getting the basics right just summed up this establishment to us. Added to our room not being serviced, any water in the wash hand basin didn't drain away if the pop up plug was in position. You had to physically remove the plug system before the used water could drain. The drains in the bathroom smelt. There was very little storage space in the bedroom. Our suitcase had to go on the floor at the foot of the bed and we left our clothes in it. This might seem overly picky but the room did not have a lot of floor space and to be honest you do expect to have more than one bedside drawer each and three wooden pegs. At night we also enjoyed the tv programme being listened to by the guests in the neighbouring room.

The decor of the bedrooms is sumptious but the basics are not good. Why wasn't our room serviced? The young staff appeared leaderless. Whilst waiting for our evening meal we watched Holly serve single handed at a very busy bar whilst three other staff members stood beside her chatting to each other. Could they not have helped Holly, it would certainly have given a better impression to customers waiting to be served. Waiters walked into and out of the kitchen with empty hands and when they did appear with a meal they didn't seem to know where to take it.

As you have probably gathered we found our stay to be very disappointing. The comfort of the bedrooms is unquestionable and the 'extras' provided do more than add to your stay. But what we witnessed and experienced during our visit was very different to the positive reviews we had read before booking. Perhaps we visited at a bad time, all hotels have them, but when just considering our two night break without reference to previous reviews the Beckford is missing the mark when it comes to supporting their quality rooms with good customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Welsh40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan_pub, Owner at The Beckford Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Well that is certainly a long review and you have covered many points - customer service is something we hold very close to our hearts and we all work incredibly hard to look after every single one of our guests with the very best in hospitality.

However, we have to hold our hands up that the servicing of your room was clearly not as it should have been and apologies were made about this at your checkout. Your own conclusion that this was unfortunate timing is sadly correct and some staff changes have been made since your visit. This is not given as an excuse, as ultimately it is entirely down to us as owners, but it does as you say, albeit very rarely in our case, happen.

I think I do have to clarify that we are a pub with rooms, not a hotel, Trip Advisor is misleading in this respect as it asks you to rate us as a hotel despite clssifyiong us as a b&b – so I can see why many items you have found annoying particularly in comparison to some of say the chain airport hotels that form some of your other reviews.

Our 8 rooms are small and there are no wardrobes, but most guests seem to be ok with this and we do our utmost to reflect this in the room price. With respect to the salmon – it was wild salmon that had been smoked in our own smoke house and this is inherently expensive though I do not believe £13 was unreasonable. The crumble clearly should have come quicker and again we have to hold our hands up to this and apologise.

On a more positive note I am glad you enjoyed the Bramley Products, breakfast (though I am surprised about the decaf coffee comment as we spend a great deal of time in perfecting our coffee) and liked the décor of the rooms.

A final apology for what you felt to be a disappointing stay. We will try our hardest, as we do everyday, to make the things we can, better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I booked the lodge for a relaxing two night stay for my partners birthday. We arrived on a sunday a half hour, 2.30pm before check in in time of 3pm. Our room was not ready which was ok as we had a drink in the garden in the sun. By 3.45 we went to check what was happening. We eventually got taken down to our lodge by Patrick who was very nice however it all seemed rather rather rushed and unorganised. The restaurant was really busy and I think they could not cope with the demand.

The lodge is lovely and very relaxing. There is real attention to detail and you immediately feel relaxed. Unfortunately the time of the year resulted in lots of wasps and horse flys in the room. We could not have the doors open and spent most of our time spraying insect spray in a very hot lodge. it felt like a sauna and not quite what we had expected but it is next to fields and paddocks.

Saying that the lodge is a really lovely place to stay. Great accommodation, comfy beds, fantastic bath and well equipped. Also the toiletries are lovely (the owners wife created Cowshed range), you leave smelling lovely.

Only downside apart from the fly's is that they advertise a ten minute walk from the inn. What is not advertised is that is is down a dark unlit road with little pavements and is one of the main roads in. If you are used to the road fine but after a few glasses of wine, in the dark with only a torch it does not feel comfortable. It means that someone as to drive if you do not want to walk.

The Inn asks for feedback on where they can improve - on reflection on our visit would suggest anyone renting the lodge is offered a pick up and drive home service. It would only take a staff member 5 mins and would make such a difference to staying there.

We would love to come back to the lodge but only if there was a pick and drop off service. It would make a nice touch.

Room Tip: Choose the lodges if you want tranquillity but be prepared for a 10 minute brisk walk in the dark af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scottkelly53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Well what can I say but Wow Wow Wow.
This place is truly special, we warmly welcomed and shown to our room, we brought our Dalmatian and she was also wonderfully provided for a gorgeous bed for her and a jar of biscuits to keep her happy, we were very impressed! The room is beautiful, clean and very comfortable. The bathrooms use Bramley Bath and Beauty Products that are made here, which are lovely. The bed is extremely comfortable and we both slept very well as did our dog!

We had dinner in the evening, no need to book as automatically you are booked in if you are staying for the night. The food was locally sourced, tasty and beautifully presented so could not fault. We sat outside on the terrace which is so picturesque, service is equally as excellent. We had tried the rose wine that is produced in font hill which was delicious. Overall the meal was a success.

I am so glad that we booked the Beckford Arms with its warm welcome, beautiful food, interior, service and stunning views around it really is a gem. Will definitely be returning in the near future with our dog as we loved it.

Thank you to all the staff at the Beckford Arms for our delightful stay!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tisbury
10.4 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
207 reviews
3.7 mi away
Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
873 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
2.9 mi away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#2 of 4 in Tisbury
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beckford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beckford Arms

Address: Fonthill Gifford, Tisbury SP3 6PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Tisbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tisbury
Price Range: $124 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beckford Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beckford is situated on the edge of beautiful Wiltshire rolling parkland. It is a country pub with 8 simple but elegant bedrooms, a restaurant, a private dining room, a sitting room and a wonderful mature rambling garden with hammocks under shady trees. Bedrooms include bespoke, handmade natural bathroom products and guests may borrow DVDs from the library to watch in their rooms. On Sunday nights a classic movie is shown in the sitting room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beckford Arms Hotel Tisbury
The Beckford Arms Wiltshire/Tisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing