We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beckford Arms

Beckford Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Tisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $39
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We enjoyed the food, the atmosphere and the gardens. What great staff - they were all charming, efficient and helpful. It wasn't quite value for money because of one small snag......

The menu requests you don't feed the dog but throw his/her ball - obviously a beloved member of the team. It wanders around under the tables and we certainly didn't want to get hold of the ball in the middle of a meal. Because of this we sadly won't return.

A dog under the table in the bar area is OK but not in the restaurant areas.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank friggletowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    95
    28
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, really lacks any personal service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The food is great. The Chef is very skilled. However, the atmosphere is not relaxed. The staff are un-welcoming and snooty. This could be the best pub in the county, the staff need to be happier and more approachable. There are far to many public school gap-year staff, who seem all to keen to make it clear they are 'above' being helpful and understanding.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Under a mile from home- so worth a try.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This pub has a good reputation and it did not disappoint. We had main courses of Thai curry and mutton wellington. Equally well we could have had interesting looking bar snacks.
I believe that the owners have got the ambiance absolutely right but with another pub purchase 30 miles away I fear that the "brand " may become too diluted.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank longley203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yum Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stumbled upon the Beckford Arms and so glad we did,
The staff are amazing nothing is too much trouble even when very busy.
They make us and our black lab Max so welcome, we travel 40 miles to go back and each time it gets better.
Looking forward to trying there new place The Talbot near Frome.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

A friend and I visited the Beckford Arms after we'd recently had it recommended to us and I'm pleased to say it definitely did not disappoint!
We shared a lovely starter of beetroot cured salmon- flavoursome and presented beautifully.
To follow I had the Asian Fish Curry, a favourite dish of mine since travelling in Thailand last year (nowhere in the UK has been able to replicate the gorgeous dish... until now! I could close my eyes with each mouthful and swear I was back there agin!).
My friend had the Mutton Wellington with Olive Oil Mash which, again, did not disappoint. And finally for dessert, a Chocolate Orange Mousse- words cannot describe! And the Pineapple Panna Cotta with Ginger and Chilli Syrup.
In short, BEAUTIFUL. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beckford Arms also viewed

 
Tisbury, Wiltshire
Donhead Saint Andrew, Shaftesbury
 

Been to Beckford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing