We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badminton without Lacock Pottery would never be the same”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lacock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lacock Pottery Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Lacock B&B and Inns
radlett
1 review
“Badminton without Lacock Pottery would never be the same”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We found Lacock Pottery by chance, some years ago. It was recommended to us by a restaurant owner in Melksham. We have been staying with Simone and David every year ever since (too many to remember exactly). We just love the atmosphere, the food and of course David's story telling. Each year as Badminton looms, we think of all the wonderful times we have had. The mud, the sun and anything in between. Simone and David always make as feel like one of the family. We can't wait for May to arrive.

Room Tip: We are always in the room with the separate entrance, lovely and peaceful. The godchildren often go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopymashers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    13
    1
    4
    6
See reviews for
26
98
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Goonellabah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Lacock is a beautiful historic village with the B & B at the end of a little lane opposite the church. Very quiet and peaceful as is the village. Stayed in the front room with our own entrance through the garden gate. Every amenity provided including a very comfortable bed. Beautiful cooked breakfast with entertaining hosts. Two beautiful nights.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbahduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Located at the end of the village by the church, The Pottery is a beautifully restful place to stay, away from the roads and with lovely open views - on 3 sides in the room we stayed in. Peaceful, clean, comfortably and traditionally furnished you nevertheless get TV and good Wi-Fi, too.

We spent a delightful weekend there and will definitely be going again and again.

David and Simone were perfect hosts who immediately made us feel at home, and the breakfasts were wonderful both in their vegetarian and carnivore variants. The local sausages were excellent, as was the bacon and bread, but Simone's homemade jams are to die for!

Thankfully you can buy them in the pottery, so we were able to take some home.

Highly recommended: a traditional English Bed and Breakfast with an artistic family feel, lovely village setting and fabulous country air.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelbenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Lovely comfortable room, delicious breakfast and entertaining hosts!
A perfect spot within a charming village.

Room Tip: The Governor's house is separate from the main house with its own entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Lacock is a truly stunning village; like stepping back in time to a bygone era! No wonder it has been used for so many period drama's from Cranford to Harry Potter. The Pottery is a delightful period building nestled into a quiet corner of the village. We stayed in the twin room which had a lovely view of the village church opposite. The beds were a little dated in appearance but extremely comfortable and we slept soundly. We were made to feel very welcome by our hosts, Simone and David, and given recommendations for dinner locally. Having read several reviews on here, we were aware that David might be quite eclectic and were not proved wrong! He is an absolute card, which we loved, but can see that he may not be to everyone's taste! He has an extensive collection of antique furniture and artifacts of which he is very proud and will wax lyrical about for hours, given the opportunity. Given the rarity of some of the items he is also very protective of them so be careful where you sit or what you touch in the lounge or he may have your guts for garters! Simone's breakfast is outstanding! Definitely not for those on a diet; we couldn't eat again until past 3 in the afternoon! If you are up for a unique stay, with some witty banter, in a charming part of rural England then this is the place for you! Thank you Simone & David for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highflyer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West malling
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Simone and David were the perfect hosts!

Lovely room, friendly atmosphere, excellent location.

We have stayed in many 5 star hotles throughout the world and this was the best breakfast we have ever had. From homemade jams, bread and ketchup to home grown tomatoes and fresh eggs this is a breakfast worth travelling for!!!!!!

Dont be put off by the negative review. Whoever they were must have been having a bad day.

We will be back:)

Liz & Gordon

Room Tip: Book early, relax & enjoy! Wander through Lacock and soke up the atmosphere. For your evening me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I really like this place. I work in the area on a regular basis and I am so pleased that a colleague suggested that I should try the Lackock Pottery B & B. The village itself is well known and is popular with tourists because of the many fine buildings in it's perfectly preserved village centre, as well as for the Harry Potter connection.
But in the evening the village is quiet and the Pottery is the perfect place to be. It is a lovely building, full of character and I much prefer to stay here if I can rather than at a bland hotel chain.
Simone and David are always very welcoming and everything is maintained beautifully. The rooms are comfortable, quiet and always spotless. Simone cooks a perfect English Breakfast (no lunch required) and David often adds fresh berries from his garden. If you have time there is always an interesting conversation, on just about any topic, to be had too.
Simone and David make the Pottery a real home from home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerrySmith-Level5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacock
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 1 in Lacock
288 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
695 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
7.5 mi away
The Polebarn
The Polebarn
#3 of 4 in Trowbridge
193 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#4 of 4 in Calne
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lacock Pottery Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lacock Pottery Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lacock Pottery Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1-2 The Tanyard Church Street | Church Street, Lacock SN15 2LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Lacock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lacock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Lacock Pottery Bed And Breakfast
Lacock Pottery Hotel Lacock
Lacock Pottery Bed & Breakfast England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing