We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good food and service”

Ockenden Manor Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Cuckfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $72 - $96
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ockenden Manor offers a superb fine dining experience in our beautiful dining room overlooking the gardens with stunning views of the South Downs National Park. Head Chef, Stephen Crane,serves some of the finest food in southern England incorporating the freshest ingredients, sourced locally in Sussex whenever possible. Guests have a choice of fixed price menus including Stephen's selected Sussex Menu or the gastronomic seven course Tasting Menu
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“very good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had a family dinner last night to celebrate my daughters birthday. Had lovely champagne and canapés in the lounge, really pleasant atmosphere and warm welcome. The menu was lovely and had a good selection, they also catered for my 12 year old who didn't like anything !! and it was no problem. We had a lovely bottle of Chablis with dinner, chosen from a great wine list. We have been many times and usually celebrate special occasions here. The service is well executed and always very friendly. Once again we weren't disappointed, the food is absolutely delicious !!! seriously good and beautifully presented. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank salli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    62
    20
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
233 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I popped in for lunch one Saturday. The menu was great and superb value. The wine was fantastic.
Food is truly delightful and we can see why they have a Michelin star.
Service is always faultless, courteous and well executed.
The menu was good - we have been here a few times and most of the menu items we had not seen before so it was a lovely surprise to wait and see what arrived. All lovely I might add.
Thank you for a lovely meal and we look forward to a Christmas at ockenden mannor!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albourne, West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch secret”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We tried several "nice" places in Sussex for Sunday lunch but this was the only one with short-notice (4 days) free tables. Could it be because Sunday lunch is not advertised on the website, and you have to ring up to see if the restaurant does a special Sunday lunch menu? It does. The website, as far as the restaurant goes, is rubbish, possibly because it's a shared one for 3 Historic Sussex Hotels. A restaurant with a Michelin star surely deserves better.

A bit of a trek, but glad we made the journey. Very traditional Sunday lunch choices, 4 for each course, but nice pork and roast beef. Lovely table overlooking the gardens and with a view of the Downs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wsxtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Went last week and had a superb meal on Saturday night. The whole experience was excellent from the moment we arrived until we left 4 hours later. Food was high quality and great choice. I went for the wood pigeon and lamb. However, this is not a cheap night out as bill was £350 for 4 of us (includes 10% tip). Gin & tonic was £11. Dinner is £55 for 3 courses plus supplements for most dishes. However, despite the cost, you should go there at least once a year just for the experience and high quality food. Enjoy !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IainBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Sample menu was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a lovely place, great food, lovely location, not the cheapest though.
We had the sampler menu with the wine option, some of the wines were not to my taste so I would have them again but other than that lovely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keith01444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ockenden Manor Restaurant also viewed

West Hoathly, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Cuckfield, West Sussex
Hassocks, West Sussex
 

Been to Ockenden Manor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing