We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of Wheatsheaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wheatsheaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Cuckfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
luxembourg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We have stayed here before and had a nice room but on this occassion we had a loft room, ie very small with a slanted roof. These rooms appear to make up the majority of the hotel number 1 to 10 I think.

The bathroom was very old a little gruby but clean if that makes sense. The walls are not very soundproof and there is alot of noise from the outside as the windows are not double glazed.

The review by Chris-Jackie is pretty accuracte and the photos are spot on so if you want to see what you are getting take a look.

We had to check out early and they left a continental breakfast outside the room which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    41
    17
    14
    3
See reviews for
23
39
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights in April in a double room. Bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and well presented. The room and un-suite are not the largest but more than adequate. Room had a blackout on the window so light wasn’t a problem and the noise from the pub itself and road was minimal. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Didn’t eat in the evening but the menu looked inviting and there was a great range of real ales available.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverfox468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We booked this room based on other good reviews, and were aware that we were staying in a pub. The room seemed fine at first but the window wouldn't stay open meaning that we were very hot during the night, the radiators made a loud clicking noise, the walls were not very soundproof and the upstairs floor boards very creaky. Overall we did not sleep very well at all. Bathroom was functional. Breakfast was tasty.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed in Cuckfield again for a few nights at the Wheatsheaf - and same quality service, great food, immaculate room. Reviews commenting on the size of a £60 room should really try staying somewhere one third the size in Paris. The rooms aren't huge, but neither are the prices, and the rooms are extremely all appointed - full bathroom, TV, tea and coffee etc.

I'll be back for sure - thanks again Wheatsheaf Team!

Room Tip: Room 6 if it's free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Very nice place, the room we had(twin room) was smallish but very clean & comfy. Very pleasant staff & good food . The breakfast was delicious. The room had free wifi & a small size flat screen, good shower but the shower curtain should be binned for a panel.

Would I go back? Yes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Great to see the Wheatsheaf doing so well in these straightened economic times. Clearly they are so busy that they neither answer the phone nor return messages left on the voicemail when I tried to make a dinner reservation. Perhaps you should tell George Osborne your secret.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Excellent food, clean comfortable room, fantastic breakfast and great staff. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Room 6 faces away from the road, but the traffic didn't last much beyond 8pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuckfield
2.3 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Burgess Hill Hotel
6.2 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatsheaf Inn

Property: Wheatsheaf Inn
Address: Broad Street, Cuckfield RH17 5DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Cuckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cuckfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheatsheaf Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Wheatsheaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatsheaf Hotel Cuckfield
Wheatsheaf Inn Cuckfield, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing