We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They got it right!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cuckfield
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was meeting some business colleagues for lunch. I had not been there before so I was very surprised to enter a building that had bucketfuls of character. Oak panels, warm welcome and plenty of space to be accommodated, despite alterations going on.

The restaurant had a very pleasant aspect, crisp linen clones and very attentive staff. The food was excellent, did not take too long to serve and was very well presented. The wine list, was, shal I say, brief but what we had was good quality.

Delightful, clean, quaint, charismatic and attractive are ways to describe this splendid hotel tucked away in the Sussex countryside. Go again? You bet!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beech79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 813 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

Ockenden Manor is nestled in the lovely village of Cuckfield in mid Sussex. Given its Michelin star, I was expecting something pretty special. Unfortunately, (at least on the day I was there) it suffered a lack of attention to detail that would have put it firmly in the realm of perfect. Attention to detail is everything, and there were aspects of the property that reeked of sloppiness, which given its prices, position and marketing was completely unforgiveable. To be fair it was having a facelift with painting, but the paint pots were left untouched from our arrival at 12.30 to 3.30 with no worker in site. A General Manager worth their salt would have ensured the clutter was put away. Likewise, as you enter the office door was wide open, empty glasses, office clutter on full view – again a small detail but as ever devil is always in the detail. Internal paintwork was patchy, the radiator paintwork on the entrance literally crumbling off. Flowers, while beautiful in their selection were just lacking in someone bothering to check them over.

So nit picking aside (and again I do this, only because it purports to be a luxury establishment), the service was good, attentive and friendly. The lunch was excellent value for money. The dining room overlooks the South Downs and gardens which given the rather poor weather were not as full of the joys of spring as I am sure they usually are. The set menu was well thought out and certainly gave a good indication of the a la carte menu that was also on offer. The white onion soup and truffle oil was delicious and creamy. The Coq Au Vin was perfectly accomplished though rather pared down from its rustic origins. Dessert was beautifully presented and again well worth the money. Overall, an excellent place for lunch or dinner, but would benefit enormously from a more vigilant attention to detail. It deserves it and with so many other stunning properties near by such as Gravetye Manor should do so.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed in Raymond room for nights of 10th and 11th April - upgraded on arrival from standard room which was a very nice touch. Comfortable room and superb spa. Enjoyed a day and a half using the gym and chilling out by the pool. Had two fantastic, professional treatments and a nice lunch in the spa. Had dinner both nights in the hotel and thought the food was superb - especially the desserts. Particularly would want to commend all the staff who were friendly, courteous and professional. Thank you for a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spiggot18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We always make a point of staying somewhere rather special on our birthdays and as Ockenden Manor was on our doorstep it seemed only fair we should give it a try! Not only did we get a "late deal" we were also upgraded to a de luxe room, this really was appreciated, however for £142 50 in comparison to other accommodation I would say that was only a fair price. The "proper" price of £315 would have been described as a "huge rip off". The hotel, although possessing heaps of Olde Worlde Charm as you would expect, also feels "tired"and in need of some TLC.The Spa is "the saving grace" and highly recommended. The staff in both are excellent with special mention for the lovely young lady on hotel reception. We didn't eat in the restaurant having read mixed reviews and viewing the menu at £54 for a 3 course fixed menu with supplements for cheese rather than pud and seabass rather than cod bringing it up to £63 each before adding the very high cost of the wine and then the tip of course. We went over the road to the Thai and paid a third of the price and had a wonderful meal.We wouldn't go back to the hotel but would consider joining the spa.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayJ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

As always a lovely haven in beautiful Cuckfield. Sit in the old world sitting room and relax. Great wine and fab service. Room Emma is cosy and sumptuous. Do go. You won't be disappointed. And now Spring has sprung the gardens are wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shona7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Dining at the Michelin Starred restaurant was great; the spa, pool and facilities superb.
Service very good, husband's birthday and I had to request twice that he had Happy Birthday on his dessert plate- but it got done. A really luxurious break. Delightful.
Keep in mind it is an olde country house hotel, and the rooms reflect this nicely- although I agree with other reviewers that the curtains and cushion covers could do with an update , in a material that refelcts the old world charm. Presently they are a faded riot of 1980's frills, bit the quality of the bed and the view made up for it, and everything is clean as a whistle.

Room Tip: We got a ground corner room with views of the gardens and fields from 2 sides! Beware the loud bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megaposs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ockenden Manor for 2 nights as the first part of our honeymoon. We were looking for a few days of pampering and relaxation following a hectic few weeks so booked the Spa package which was inclusive of half board in the restaurant and treatments as well. Overall I think the package price was reasonable and comparable with other spa retreats in the area.

We checked in to the hotel in the afternoon and were upgraded to a Spa suite which was such a lovely gesture, we really appreciated it. The room itself was spacious and the bathroom was fabulous with everything you need to make your stay luxurious. The Spa suites are located in the same building as the spa (which is away from the main house) so it was nice to be able to walk back to our room in robes and flip flops without leaving the building when it was snowing outside.

The Spa itself was lovely and the treatments were great. The only thing I would mention is that they also offer external membership for non guests so even though the hotel was quiet, we found the pool area very busy at times - this also meant that there were quite a few children playing in the pool which I don't think is appropriate for this kind of space as it made the environment a lot less relaxing than we had hoped when paying for a spa experience.

Ive read some reviews regarding poor service in the restaurant but we couldn't fault it! All the staff were friendly and attentive and we never had to wait for our food or for someone to top up our glasses etc. The menu was extensive and the food was beautiful - the only disappointing element I would say is that there seemed to be a lot of 'deconstruction' going on with the dishes - I know this is the 'in' thing for restaurants to do at the moment but sometimes its just nice to get something that resembles its name, especially with classics like a tart or pavlova.

Overall the service was great and everything was really nice, but Im not sure that there is anything that stands out to make me think wow.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckendenManor, Manager at Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay.
Just to point out that you did stay during the Easter holidays and we do welcome children. We offer family swim times from 10am until 11am and 3.30pm until 5.00pm everyday and then the rest of the time it is an adult only space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuckfield
7.8 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
5.2 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,708 reviews
23.8 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Birch Hotel
The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
434 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
6.9 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa

Address: Ockenden Lane, Cuckfield RH17 5LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Cuckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cuckfield
Price Range: $255 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ockenden Manor is a charming and tranquil Elizabethan Manor House tucked away in Cuckfield, one of the prettiest Tudor villages in England. With its history and character, elegant sitting room warmed by a roaring log fire and cosy, wood panelled bar, it's a wonderful place to escape to and yet it is just an hour from London and 20 minutes drive from Gatwick. The hotel is set in nine acres of peaceful gardens and parkland with views across the West Sussex countryside to the South Downs and some of the great gardens and stately homes of Sussex and Kent are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ockenden Manor Hotel And Spa
Ockenden Manor Hotel Cuckfield
Ockenden Manor Cuckfield
Hotel Ockenden Manor
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa Cuckfield, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing