We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good weekend break with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cuckfield
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good weekend break with excellent service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ockenden Manor for 2 nights as the first part of our honeymoon. We were looking for a few days of pampering and relaxation following a hectic few weeks so booked the Spa package which was inclusive of half board in the restaurant and treatments as well. Overall I think the package price was reasonable and comparable with other spa retreats in the area.

We checked in to the hotel in the afternoon and were upgraded to a Spa suite which was such a lovely gesture, we really appreciated it. The room itself was spacious and the bathroom was fabulous with everything you need to make your stay luxurious. The Spa suites are located in the same building as the spa (which is away from the main house) so it was nice to be able to walk back to our room in robes and flip flops without leaving the building when it was snowing outside.

The Spa itself was lovely and the treatments were great. The only thing I would mention is that they also offer external membership for non guests so even though the hotel was quiet, we found the pool area very busy at times - this also meant that there were quite a few children playing in the pool which I don't think is appropriate for this kind of space as it made the environment a lot less relaxing than we had hoped when paying for a spa experience.

Ive read some reviews regarding poor service in the restaurant but we couldn't fault it! All the staff were friendly and attentive and we never had to wait for our food or for someone to top up our glasses etc. The menu was extensive and the food was beautiful - the only disappointing element I would say is that there seemed to be a lot of 'deconstruction' going on with the dishes - I know this is the 'in' thing for restaurants to do at the moment but sometimes its just nice to get something that resembles its name, especially with classics like a tart or pavlova.

Overall the service was great and everything was really nice, but Im not sure that there is anything that stands out to make me think wow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckendenManor, Manager at Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay.
Just to point out that you did stay during the Easter holidays and we do welcome children. We offer family swim times from 10am until 11am and 3.30pm until 5.00pm everyday and then the rest of the time it is an adult only space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    204
    91
    54
    36
See reviews for
99
433
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This property has all the makings of being a really fabulous place - it just needs some love and attention and probably a few million quid to get it up to a really good level! The rooms and decor were dated, some rather shocking wall paper and floral designs however you could argue this gives the place character. The main hotel itself is charming however again the lounge area could be updated - the bar area is very cosy (however no draft beer I am afraid)
Food was very good which I think deserves a mention and could not be faulted......
All in all - if someone could plough some cash into this place it could be great - I fear any money set aside was put into the very modern spa (which was great) rather than the hotel itself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newman8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckendenManor, Manager at Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, the family is always investing in the main hotel building having just completed the Victoria and Elizabeth Room during February & March. The room that you stayed in was only done five years ago and generally we use Zoffany, Colefax and Fowler along with Farrow & Ball and all the rooms our individually decorated.
We are currently redecorating the Drawing Room, having re-upholstered some of the sofas last year. We generally refurnish 2 or 3 bedrooms every year completely and are always maintaining. Refurbishment will always be on going in hotels, being rather like the forth road bridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently stayed in this charming hotel when I attended a wedding there.

The hotel itself is a beautiful old manor house with welcoming open fires, beautiful public areas and friendly and helpful staff. It is a minute's walk to the village of Cuckfield which is worth a visit. Take time to visit the church which has been beatifully restored inside. If you're lucky, the vicar will be there and he will prove himself to be an excellent and informative guide.

The wedding was small and excellently catered for in the wood panelled Burrell Room. The food was delicious and staff very professional and attentive.

I would recommend the hotel for a special celebration.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariecurie_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed just one night in a standard room and loved this old manor hotel. Yes the decor in some of the rooms could do with a bit of attention, yes the floor creaked as you walked across the room, but that is all part of the cosiness and charm. If you want to stay in a soulless white box of perfection go to Cowarth Park, which has all the atmosphere of a mortuary.

The spa was really something special, as was sitting in a hot tub outside as the snow gently settled on our heads. The treeatments were punctual and very professional. My wife and I were full of praise for the staff.

The evening meal was delicious, with no complaints about temperature. The food lived up to the billing, especially the desert (never had pavlova tasting that good before!). The breakfast was the only let down. Hardened re-heated sausages and bacon, scrambled egg that was rock hard containing no milk or butter, poached eggs that were leathery. A real shame especially as the quality of the night before had raised expectations.

Overall we would love to return. A romantic spot in a nice setting with a lovely fire to sit near (tip to hotel, there is nowhere in the lounge to sit with feet curled up together. Lose some of the edwardian sofas and put in some sink into jobs for couples to relax on). We would highly recommend, but we may co to the cafe round the corner for breakfast next time.

Room Tip: We had a standard double. Small but clean and comfortable. bed was a bit soft but that is always a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraintWHalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you want to treat yourself there is no better way than a night at Ockenden Manor & Spa. With a relaxed atmosphere in the historic hotel with log fires burning to the modern and relaxing spa where you can totally unwind.
The 7 course taster menu was wonderful and a real experience.
Although this is not cheap it is well worth spoiling yourself once in a while and this is the place to do it.
We thoroughly recommend this.
Gary & Mary

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friends25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

A beautiful old Tudor mansion with new spa facilities in a building nearby. Our room, a master in the main hotel, was large and clean, and endearingly creaky and old, with low ceilings, black beams and a real sense of history.
The hotel has pretty grounds and a nice bar with ancient wood panelling and leather seats, good for a quiet drink if a little pricey.
The spa is a treat, particularly the outdoor hot-tub and steam room. We spent two days there but could have stayed a week. We didn't eat at the restaurant as it was expensive, and there were plenty of places to eat in the village for less.
All in all, highly recommended for a relaxing spa break

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The hotel is very dated (I know the difference between traditional and dated) hence extremely pricy for what you get. Bar food is expensive and portions are tiny. Breakfast was dull and not tasty at all (I had the Full English).
Spa is excellent, modern, relaxing and clean. Please note that hours for kids are limited, and that the spa is not in the same building as the hotel (2 minutes walk outside).
Overall not a great value for money due to hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel and go for the Spa only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAR0SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuckfield
7.8 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
5.2 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,584 reviews
23.8 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
9.3 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
2.7 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa

Property: Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Address: Ockenden Lane, Cuckfield RH17 5LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Cuckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cuckfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ockenden Manor is a charming and tranquil Elizabethan Manor House tucked away in Cuckfield, one of the prettiest Tudor villages in England. With its history and character, elegant sitting room warmed by a roaring log fire and cosy, wood panelled bar, it's a wonderful place to escape to and yet it is just an hour from London and 20 minutes drive from Gatwick. The hotel is set in nine acres of peaceful gardens and parkland with views across the West Sussex countryside to the South Downs and some of the great gardens and stately homes of Sussex and Kent are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ockenden Manor Hotel Cuckfield
Ockenden Manor Hotel And Spa
Ockenden Manor Cuckfield
Hotel Ockenden Manor
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa Cuckfield, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing