We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Campers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cuckfield
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy Campers”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Ockenden Manor is a smallish, unpretentious country hotel with a new spa complex located in the grounds. The building itself is a charming mish mash of styles with wood panelling, old pictures, log fires and comfortable lounge/ bar areas where you can relax with a pot of tea, a glass of something before dinner in the restaurant or just chatting by the fire. The dining room is bright and spacious and although we only stayed half board, the breakast was very nice, served by friendly smiling staff. Clearly Ockenden is the place to go for a good meal although sadly we had to watch the pennies so can't really comment about the food apart from breakfast.

At the time of our visit there weren't too many guests so it almost felt as though we had the place to ourselves. The spa complex a few minutes walk away was a treat with a large indoor/outdoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room sauna etc. Stylish, clean and modern with friendly, helpful young staff.

Our room was just right. A four poster bed, lovely bathroom with roll top bath and walk in shower, spacious, warm, nice view. No complaints.

As a gay couple, we found this hotel to be very welcoming with none of the awkwardness
that affects some independent hotels. Thank you to Ockenden Manor for that.

So if you're straight, gay, straight, but thinking of becoming gay then Ockenden Manor is a wonderful place for a relaxing break just 10 minutes outside Haywards Heath (for the train) and easy to find if you have a car. Now if they could only open a reasonably priced Thai restaurant.

Room Tip: Speak to the very helpful staff and I'm sure they can meet all your requirements if they know wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horatio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    205
    92
    55
    36
See reviews for
101
436
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Just spent a glorious festive season at Ockenden Manor. The highlight was swimming outdoors at sunset on Christmas day in the new swimming pool at the spa. The service was faultless and the food divine. A good time was had by all.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassyb672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a comfortable country hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Not the most slick operation ever, but not really the worse for that. We had been told a ghost story about the manor before we went and the bartender told us more, but we failed to see a ghost. We went for the Sunday night deal and it really is much cheaper, as other reviewers have said.

The food is a bit old bufferish - venison, game, stilton, oysters with only one vegetarian option but fish was on the menu too. I have to say that I thought that the puddings were delicious - there were 4 of us we each had a different on, and they were all good. So often a meal gets et dwn with a pudding that doesnt realy taste of much more than sugar. attractive dining room too.

Only 4 stars because while it says it's a hotel and spa, there isnt a spa. What there is is a fairly large building site to the side of the hotel which I guess may be an extension/spa eventually. Also no lift, an though there are a couple of ground floor rooms for people with limited mobility there didnt seem to be any entirely step free access anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notretired01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckendenManor, Manager at Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
I am sorry if our menu was not to your liking, it is seasonal and currently features local game from the Balcombe Estate. I am pleased that you enjoyed our dessert menu so much.

With regard to the hotel ghost, I am sorry we can’t guarantee that she will appear for our guests, although I am not sure that many of them would wish to see her!

Our Spa opens on the 22nd December and we are currently upgrading web sites and guides to reflect this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We had our wedding celebration meal and stayed the night at the manor and it was a perfect evening, we were a small party of 12 and hired the Burrell Suite, a beautiful tudor oak panelled room with a large round table. The food and service was outstanding, everybody enjoyed the dish they had chosen and the staff were very helpful. Our bedroom (Hugh) was lovely with every attention to detail and the breakfast was also to a high standard. We were extremely pleased and would recommend it as a party venue, and also as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are more modern and some are tudor-style traditional. We stayed in 'Hugh'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed here for my wedding night, staff very friendly and welcoming, food is the best iv ever tasted, the beds are just too comfortable for their own good, all around excellent recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We had booked a last minute nights stay at Ockenden Manor and were really looking forward to a relaxing night away. After reading such positive reviews and looking at pictures on the website we were really excited and felt sure we would be in safe hands...how wrong we were! We had booked one of the top suites at the hotel (The Merrick Suite). On entering the room my heart sank. I felt if this is a top suite then goodness knows what the rest of the hotel is like? Yes it was spacious and had a seperate living area but the room was tired and dated and looked as if it could do with some redecoration in order to bring it into the 21st century. The view from the balcony was also rather bleak and wasn't in keeping with the rest of the room. It felt as if there were lots of different styles in the room and it simply didnt work. However, we decided to smile and enjoy our trip. As I had a lot of work to do I was looking forward to the WIFI that had been promised when I placed my booking. After turning my laptop on I realised that using the internet would be no simple task. Reception told me that on that particular side of the hotel wifi isnt always available so sent up a broadband land, still no internet. We then had to ring a helpline ourselves where we were told the hotel had signal issues and that It wouldn't be working for the duration of our stay. Problem as i had to use internet and the hotel promised a facility that wasn't working. This gave us no choice but to check out as i had to be able to work on my laptop. We were offered our money back but no apology or explanation. I mean what hotel in the 21st century doesn't have efficient wifi? I was really shocked and felt as if the staff couldn't care less whether we stayed there or not and that was really saddening to see. I wont be returning and would advise anyone booking to look round the rooms and check everything is in working order before checking in!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckendenManor, General Manager at Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
We are sorry about the issue we had with our ISP over the weekend, that you wished to stay and that this prevented you from staying with us as this affected the entire hotel. We currently do not have wifi in the hotel except for the public areas although some bedrooms are able to see the signal.

As part of our ongoing investment into the hotel and due to the increasing demand from our guests with their smart phones & iPads to have wireless access throughout the property, we are currently in the middle of having wifi installed, this has taken sometime due to being a Grade2 listed building. The installation of this will be completed by the 20th November.

I am surprised you found the view from the balcony bleak as the view overlooks the grounds towards the South Downs National Park in the distance. All are rooms are individually decorated and this does mean that people have their favourite depending on taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaulieu, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Cuckfield is a great place to explore from and Ockendon Manor is in the heart of the village, so much so that we thought that our 7.5 tonne truck would be a non-starter to park at the hotel - however the staff could not have been more helpful.

Adequate parking made our stay easy and got a major headache out of the way.

This hotel gave us everything we wanted - a warm welcome, help in planning our cycle ride around the glorious countryside and up to Wakehurst, a comfortable bedroom and outstanding food.

Our cycle ride made us hungry for our evening meal, the staff on duty were outstanding in the friendliness and knowledge of the menu - so much so that even a new waiter was able to give me a first class tour of the excellent cheeses at the end of the meal.

The meal itself was cooked to a high standard, well presented and the wine list offered a good choice - in its range we found the quality of the food to be top notch and the kitchen's brigade should be complimented on the well executed and imaginative dishes we sampled.

Our room was on the first floor with dual aspects of the gardens with the front lawn immaculately cut and leaf free - no mean task in Autumn.

Overall the total experience at Ockendon Manor was first class and offered outstanding value for money - our only observation was that the breakfast in the morning didn't offer any muesli and was adequate rather than good as opposed to the outstanding dinner that we enjoyed.

We would very much like to return to Ockendon Manor in the future - this time in the car rather than the truck - as we received exactly the kind of quality service which is all too often missing from better quality hotels and restaurants these days.

Room Tip: We only have experience of our own room BUT the room we had overlooking the garden on two side was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANSE1855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuckfield
7.8 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
5.2 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,601 reviews
23.8 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
9.3 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
2.7 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa

Property: Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Address: Ockenden Lane, Cuckfield RH17 5LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Cuckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cuckfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ockenden Manor is a charming and tranquil Elizabethan Manor House tucked away in Cuckfield, one of the prettiest Tudor villages in England. With its history and character, elegant sitting room warmed by a roaring log fire and cosy, wood panelled bar, it's a wonderful place to escape to and yet it is just an hour from London and 20 minutes drive from Gatwick. The hotel is set in nine acres of peaceful gardens and parkland with views across the West Sussex countryside to the South Downs and some of the great gardens and stately homes of Sussex and Kent are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ockenden Manor Hotel And Spa
Ockenden Manor Hotel Cuckfield
Ockenden Manor Cuckfield
Hotel Ockenden Manor
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa Cuckfield, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing