We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A return visit and worth every penny.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
King sized bed in spacious living area with central heating
Dining area
Ensuite bathroom with bath, shower and under floor heating
Well equipped kitchen with under floor heating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
East Lavant, Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maria F
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“A return visit and worth every penny.”
Reviewed April 10, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

As with last time, this accommodation cannot be faulted, there is nothing that is too much trouble and nothing is overlooked, everything about Souter' is fantastic and I really hope we will be back again next year.

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2018
Thank you so much for your great review and look forward to seeing you next year hopefully.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greyteddy
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful romantic getaway”
Reviewed February 18, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Souters Cottage annexe. Not only was the location charming, the room, kitchen and bathroom were beautifully presented; the photos do not do it justice. Penny provided enough (actually more than enough!) food for the both of us for our two night stay: yoghurt, milk, orange juice, squash, mushrooms, eggs, bacon, sausages (from local butchers), a range of cereals, white and brown bread, croissants, hot chocolate, coffee, tea, sugar, chamomile and green tea, a selection of sauces and a bowl of fresh fruit!! It was amazing.
Add to that was towels replaced every day, and Sky television so we could keep up with the Winter Olympics. The bed was very comfortable, the towels large and soft, and mustn’t forget the shower gel, bath milk and shampoo & conditioner! As well as all that, a hairdryer and iron with board was provided; everything was thought of.
It was so peaceful the only thing I wish we could have enjoyed more was the garden where there was a table for two but of course it being winter that was a little out of the question!
There are a few little things I would look out for if you are looking to stay here - if you are particularly tall you may find the doors and sloping ceiling a literal pain (we are both about 5’5” - not tall - and my husband still managed to hit his head!). If you stay in the winter like we did a couple of blankets to help feel slightly more cosy unless you are happy to snuggle under the duvet during non-sleeping hours - it wasn’t exactly cold and the heating worked well; there was also a space heater available so I’m only suggesting it for the extra cosy feeling.
Finally a warning that phone signal is very ropey in that area (the cottage is just in the South Downs after all!!) - GPS works fine but if you use your phone to navigate be warned. It doesn’t take long to find signal though. There is wifi in the cottage but it would cut out frequently - but frankly if you want a peaceful, romantic getaway why would you need to be glued to your phone or tablet?
Thank you Penny for a wonderful stay!

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barca406
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Years Eve Retreat!”
Reviewed January 14, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We wanted to hide away for NYE and what better place than Souters Cottage annexe. It is in a beautiful country setting and the attention to detail and the level of hospitality within the annexe was amazing. There is everything you need, the fridge was fully stocked with everything we needed for breakfast, bread, croissants, chocolate biscuits and even a bottle of Merlot and peanuts!!! There was a choice of cereals and condiments in the cupboards, a little Xmas tree and bowls of sweets and fruit and all of this is included in the price! !We will definitely be going back but will stay longer next time to make the most of the locality and to enjoy the beautiful garden.
Would definitely recommend a stay at th

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2018
Thank you so much for your great review and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 30, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 31, 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review - very pleased you enjoyed your stay. I really hope you will visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Allison O
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A fabulous find”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I stumbled across this accommodation purely by accident and I am so pleased I did. We have just thoroughly enjoyed a lovely two night stay and will definitely be returning. Everything about the annexe is of such a high spec with excellent attention to detail. The linen, towels, toiletries and local produce really enhance the experience. The location is gorgeous (we were blessed with beautiful weather) and to be able to sit in your own garden area was a bonus, as was the bottles of complimentary wine, fresh fruit and sweets. We really cannot fault this place and would recommend it to anyone looking for a luxurious and relaxing break.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2017
Thank you so much for your splendid review - very much appreciated and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“I would award 6 stars if I could”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is an absolute gem, a beautiful property, clean, welcoming and with an attention to detail that is second to none.
The breakfast provided was excellent, the variety astounding with nothing more you could want and plenty of extras, every cupboard was a revelation of treats.
I would love to come back and will certainly recommend to friends and family.
I need more words to describe just how good this really is !!

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2017
Thank you so much for your great review - much appreciated and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
935tracyb
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant recommendation”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Friends of our had stayed here for 1 night and suggested it for a birthday treat. What a find!! Great location, beautifully decorated and everything you could need for a weekend away. Breakfast is provided for guests to cook themselves as the kitchen has everything you need. Penny shopped to feed us for days!! Local sausages and bacon plus fresh bread, pastries and yoghurts and all the other essentials to have a feast for brekkie. We ate locally both Friday and Saturday evenings and both the Earl of March and the Royal Oak served delicious food. Would love to stay again and maybe explore the local villages on bikes during the summer months.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2017
Thank you so much for your great review Tracy.- really appreciated and look forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing