We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent position lovelly views. Porlock Wier...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
halcyonri...
Burton Upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent position lovelly views. Porlock Wier has charm and character”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lovelly relaxing holiday. Accommodation excellent views. Slightly annoyed by minor niggles. No shelves/shaver socket in bathrooms. Knob needs gluing on kitchen cupboard. DVD not working. Toaster needs repair. All these are minor compared to the location and cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“charming cottage and a great stay”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The cottage is pretty much faultless and we had a superb stay. It is clean and well equipped, cosy and comfortable and we felt completely at home from the moment we arrived. The garden is perfect for summer nights watching the world go by and there is a great little pub a few minutes walk away which is also very dog friendly, as is most of the area. Outstanding sea views from every room. Porock is a lovely little village only a few minutes away by car and you can pick up everything you need from there. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will definitely return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sea views
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex-and...
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You will love everything about Crows Nest”
Reviewed February 18, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed at your beautiful Crows Nest cottage in Porlock Weir earlier this year. The cottage was cosy, comfortable and well equipped with amazing views, sitting in the dining room looking across to the sea is a complete joy. Each room has sea views and the gardens are wonderfully kept, lovely for a family summers night sat outside. Its warm and tastefully furnished and the kitchen had everything we needed. There is a great pub a few minutes walk away that is also dog friendly. Whats not to like? We booked through The Best of Exmoor and they were very helpful and I will use them again. You wont be disappointed and we cant wait to go back......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weirdypap...
Bristol UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfy cottage with beautiful views out to sea”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
6
people found this review helpful

We were looking for a short break away from the city and ideally by the sea as a mini retreat. Porlock Weir was a perfect location and the Crow's Nest was a perfect play to stay. We could only stay a couple of nights, which is shorter than the normal minimum stay of 3 nights; but Chris and his team helpfully and speedily got back to all my queries and organised for us to stay 2 nights only and to get into the cottage a couple of hours earlier than would normally be allowed.

The cottage was very well-equipped and the rooms were spacious and comfy. It was really easy to both work and relax. Every room had a view of the sea out to Wales, and every evening we'd stand outside and listen to rolling sound of the waves.

Porlock Weir is tiny, and friendly. The rock beach is amazing in its colours (but the algae can make the rocks slippery, so wear sturdy boots and watch your ankles if you walk the beach.) We also spent some fun times in the Ship pub, which we'll definitely be going back to if we get to stay again in the future. And if we do get to come back, we'll bring our dog - there are lots of excellent dogs in Porlock Weir!

No hesitation in recommending the Crow's Nest. Hope we'll be back there again some time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and feel of the cottage
Liked least: The ensuite and adjoining cupboard to the main bedroom smelled pretty damp and musty
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean S
Ascot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely bay view accommodation suitable for ramblers and their dogs.”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our family of five plus two Weimaraners stayed in this perfect location in Porlock Weir. It offered us a chance to get away from the hustle of work and relax together. Many walks, some rigorous hikes and lovely runs were enjoyed as the pathways are in such good condition. The large dining table was a focal point in the evenings, as we cooked some tasty meals in the well-equipped kitchen. The fireplace also proved to be welcoming to end our busy days. Although it is rustic, there were a few issues which came up during our stay. The fireplace stove was not cleaned out and the available wood was too wet to burn. Luckily I had my husband bring firewood from home. The en-suite shower does not drain and ventilation is lacking, however the tub in the family bathroom is ideal. Half way through our week, we realised the washer didn't spin properly and the tumble dryer was useless. And lastly, thankfully we Frontlined our dogs prior to our trip for there are numerous tiny ticks lurking about in the forests and paths. Nightly combings were greatly appreciated by our two. One of our daughters managed to have a tick embedded on her leg, which we removed, and once home sent her to the GP for the appropriate antibiotics.
Please visit this beautiful place, just be diligent on the critter search.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Numerous ticks prevalent
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Reviewed April 17, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Reviewed April 10, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing