We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous (Can't wait to return)”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wily-Were...
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Too much for too little!”
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Having stayed at Harbour House previously, I knew what to expect and it makes a very good bolthole for accessing Exmoor and the coast path.

There had been some changes with replaced carpets and fresh paint but the ancient cooker and useless fan extractor; no proper shower - a problem for my elderly mother - and an expectation that the stunning location is everything has started to wear a little thin.

Also the fact that there is no possibility of any low occupancy reduction means that I would recommend looking at other places.

They may not have the incredible views, but you'll probably get better value for your money.

I'll report back my findings!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location!
Liked least: The fact that there is the barest minimum of facilities and updating.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan B
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location and view but cottage needs updating”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The location and view from the cottage are fantastic and was enough to sell it to me. The cottage was clean and well kept but the kitchen and bathroom were very dated. There is good food and drink to be found within walking distance and the pub had a nice friendly atmosphere. I would recommend this to a friend but I would warn them about the fixtures and fittings as most cottages now are fitted out to a very high standard.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wander L
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous (Can't wait to return)”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I had an amazing week's stay here. The location is one to die for & I can't recommend it highly enough.. I will be returning as soon as finances allow.
A huge thank you to Mr & Mrs Carrell for leaving me in peace to write & for all the new friends I made in Porlock Weir who made me feel so welcome.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogweevil
Just off the M25
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely flat in sensational location”
Reviewed November 22, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Superb location right on harbour wall, with sensational views over bay and marsh, 70 metres to sea edge. Nothing that was not pleasing to the eye in the area.

Newly refurnished, clean, comfortable, warm, spacious for two, quiet , washing machine and drier, large fridge/freezer.

Parking space, corner shop almost below. Over clothing shop but no problems.

Had goodish weather for November and went out walking on the coast and moors, but if it had set in to rain, would have been perfectly snug stopping in with books etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, clean and snug.
Liked least: Some doors did not close and kitchen not as well equipped as would have liked. Tall people need to be careful.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LANGPORT
Reviewed November 20, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing