We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter H
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed March 10, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We spent a wonderful few days, at the Coachmans Cottage, back in November. The cottage itself is the perfect place, for two people-plus your dog, should you have one.
Beautifully decorated and furnished throughout, the cottage was comfortable, warm and fully equipped with everything you may need. It is situated in a truly lovely part of Somerset.
The owners, Nicky and David, couldn't have been more kind and helpful! There if you need them but also, unobtrusive and respectful your privacy. We look forward to returning to Coachmans Cottage, just as soon as we can.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hannah P
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cosy, pet friendly weekend hideaway”
Reviewed November 11, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a long weekend with my partner and dog. We can't recommend this cottage enough! The surroundings are beautiful, with a sea view from the bedroom and a lovely paddock behind, where dogs can happily run about. There is also a gate leading to a beautiful forest path, where you can enjoy a traffic free walk to with the village or the weir, as well as linking with many other walks in the area.

The cottage itself was spotless, beautifully decorated and lovely and warm. The heating was extremely effective, with the added bonus of a beautiful log burner in the lounge and even electric blankets either side of the (very comfortable) double bed. The stairs leading to the bedroom were a little steep, but the addition of brass grab rails at several points helped immensely.

The Kitchen is a great size and comes very well equipped, for those like myself who love to cook and bake, and the bathroom boasts a lovely large bath and underfloor heating. The living room is spacious, warm and comfortable, and the bedroom has a beautiful view of the sea and surrounding hills.

Our hosts were very welcoming and friendly, whilst being respectful of our space. We were given advice on where to walk/eat etc and made to feel that we could make requests if needed, to make our stay more comfortable (we didn't need to)! I was particularly grateful when they contacted me upon returning home, to let me know that I had left behind some precious jewelry, which was posted to me the next day.

We have stayed in other "Best of Exmoor" properties before, but can honestly say that this was the best yet. Our only regret is not staying longer. We will most definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jilly R
1 review
“West Polock, Coachman's Cottage.”
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great position to visit Exmoor, and in particular Porlock and Porlock Weir.
Well presented and beautifully clean and well supplied cottage.
I would definitely return and stay in the Coachman's Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val B
West Sussex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful property”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Comfortable lounge. Good size kitchen diner with all needs. Bedroom charming. Bathroom downstairs off kitchen, large . Enclosed pretty courtyard. Only minor downside is the stairs, VERY steep, owner has put hand holds, but if you need loo in night - beware! Position of cottage is up owners drive, but little road to Porlock is quite busy with no footpath. Large paddock behind cottage for dogs. Can walk to Porlock through woods behind paddock, or walk other way to Porlock Weir, cute little village.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of sea from bedroom
Liked least: Stairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, dog friendly”
Reviewed October 8, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Had a really nice holiday here with my dog.
The hosts were really friendly and helpful; great to be able to use the large fenced garden. The accommodation is really comfortable in a nice and quiet location.
The area is good for walking; recommend a walk to Bossington or go for a drive to Watersmeet.
Would recommend staying here, especially for short breaks with the dog.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing