We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Coachman's Cottage has it all.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda S
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Coachman's Cottage has it all.”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My sister, who lives in Perth Australia, chose the Coachman's Cottage in Porlock as an ideal place for us to relax, catch up, sleep and eat well and at the same time explore one of the most beautiful of Britain's National Parks, Exmoor. The Coachman's Cottage delivered spectacularly on all fronts!!! Ideally located within walking distance of Porlock village, the Cottage catered for our every need. Homely, warm and practical in every way...the Cottage offered privacy, comfort and an amazing view of the coast. Our hosts, Davy and Nicky, made us (and my two Westies) exceptionally welcome with suggestions for terrific local (not to forget the dog-friendly pubs with good grub) and both shared with us their knowledge and interest in the social history of Exmoor - indeed Davy is published on the subject. Moreover, the dogs just loved exploring the (secure) meadow behind the Cottage and the adjacent woodland, coastal paths and open moor. This is an ideal place for walkers, particularly those who enjoy hills but there are plenty of level paths too should you prefer a stroll. The surrounding garden is fantastic too and when not out on a walk we were happy just to sit and enjoy the autumn colours.
This is a wonderful place and one which I hope to return to very soon :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewed October 31, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ian C
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We were met at the cottage by David who gave us a very warm welcome. The cottage itself was beautifully decorated with stunning views across the marshes to the sea from the bedroom window and the paddock behind the house was perfect for our dog. Porlock itself was only five minutes walk away and there was a reasonable selection of dog-friendly pubs to choose from. There were numerous walks to be had from the doorstep and David was very helpful in giving advice about the area (and a can of petrol when we ran out!). All in all a superb place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from bedroom window is great
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary A
Bromley
1 review
“Tremendous. A beautiful and peaceful adventure!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Me and my husband were tremendously blessed by our stay at Couchman's cottage! Wonderful views of the country and the sea, exploring and learning about the history of Porlock and enjoying the calm and pleasant scenery. We had a great time and will definitely go back again soon! We would recommend this cottage to anyone who is looking for a escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the hospitality of the owners and the peaceful countryside experience
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DZC
Brockenhurst, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fantastic break on Exmoor!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

A fantastic break! Not really sure what was the highlight: the cottage itself, or the range of activities quite literally on its doorstep.

The cottage is perfectly located: easy to access, loads of space for parking and wandering around (the gardens, with views of the sea, are beautiful). Extremely comfortable to stay in (would seriously think about coming back in winter to appreciate spending more time by the woodburner). And, loads we could do nearby: from wandering down to local pubs, to exploring walks on the moors and in the woods, to the more adventurous one getting a great horse ride from a recommended stables nearby. The hosts are welcoming, friendly, and a font of local knowledge. Thank you; and highly, highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The variety of opportunities available
Liked least: Not having enough time to enjoy everything on offer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bergholt
Reviewed September 12, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RLQB
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

As stated by other reviewers the cottage has everything you will need, it is in a beautiful location just outside the lovely little town of Porlock. The owners are very welcoming and are very knowledgable regarding the area. We found everywhere in this part of the world to be extremely dog friendly and welcoming. There are a wealth of good pubs, restaurants and tea rooms nearby and so many places to visit and walks to do! Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to not like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing