We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - treat yourself.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
Ranked #1 of 3 Porlock Weir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful - treat yourself.”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Oh yes! We have visited and stayed in Porlock Wier for many years, always at another hotel which has changed hands.
Such a friendly and professional service here, very personal, excellent, really excellent, food and what a location.
We had to take a back room but no matter, this did not spoil the visit at all.
Do yourself a favour and try it, you may find one visit is not enough.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view could mean you would never get out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    82
    27
    5
    6
See reviews for
23
264
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, Dorset England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at The Café recently through a Travel Zoo deal. Bed and Breakfast and 5 course fish extravaganza meal in the evening. Didn't know what to expect as with some special offer deals you get treated as a second class citizen and it is not good value. However this deal was totally different. We were treated very well from the time we arrived to the time we left. The 5 course meal was excellent. The room was very comfortable with sea views and the bed was very comfy. Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: We did not select our room but with sea views I would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Warm welcome, great afternoon tea, fine views and a first class room, Drinks were reasonably priced and our five course tasting menu was beautifully presented and each mouthful was a delight, we slept like logs and ate a breakfast that kept us going until the next evening meal. All in all a Travel zoo bargain We would certainly consider coming back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodger43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
349 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here on the Travelzoo £99 DBB deal. Superb location, and the room we had was excellent with an awesome sea view. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The only downside was the five course seafood taster menu - four courses and a dessert. Whereas the food was really tasty and well presented, there really wasn't too much of it. In fact the fourth course, I was expecting the main course, was the smallest piece of monkfish I've ever had. My partner doesn't eat seafood and, to their credit, the staff and chef went out of their way to provide her with excellent alternatives. However, overall, I'm pleased I didn't have to pay the full price for the meal. Breakfast was very good witout being stunnung.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soul_man_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked a 5 course taster meal with accommodation from Travelzoo, back in July, our children had bought the experience as a Father's Day present. On our arrival the receptionist showed us to our room, which was a dark room at the back of the hotel, the only window looked out onto a brick wall a few feet away, the on suite was in a corridor with the toilet one end and the hand basin the other.

I went back to the receptionist and said I was very disappointed with the room, as the other rooms had lovely sea views and it transpired that all the other guests were on the same travelzoo deal. She said the rooms were allocated on a first come first serve basis and this was all they had left when I booked. I said if she had told me back in July that the only room left was a dark room at the back of the hotel with no view I could have picked a different date. She said there was nothing she could do about it and became quite hostile when I said I didn't like the room. I suggested that she give us a refund and we would go home. She said she was unable to do this.

We decided to put this behind us and went for a drink in the local pub . On our return the receptionist stopped us and said she had been thinking about it and she would now give us a refund. I said as we had both had a drink we would be unable to drive home, so we would have to stay now.
We went to our room and changed for diner,as we were about to enter the dining room the waitress stopped us and asked us to wait in the corridor. After some time waiting the receptionist explained that the cook, I struggle to use the word chef as this implies a professional,would not provide us with our meal, even though we had paid for it some time ago. He was upset that we didn't like the room so refused to cook for us.

We contacted our son, who lives over an hour away to come and collect us.

We got in touch with Travelzoo and they were appalled when they heard how we had be treated. They looked into the whole matter getting both sides of the story. They were extremely apologetic and gave us a full refund and said it has then been passed to their senior management to deal with as they have never had this happen before and they were considering making the owners go on a customer service course if they want to be recommended by Travelzoo.

Room Tip: Don't complain of they won't cook your diner
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Pat388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew d, Owner at The Cafe - Porlock Weir, responded to this review, August 6, 2015
Thank you for your review we remember very well your visit and we would like to say that we have never been talked to in the manner that you talked to us on that day in all our years in the catering industry..
we remember very vividly the scalding you gave your husband for booking the wrong room, and in fact when the booking was made all rooms were available but on the day of your arrival we were actually full and we could not move you into another room. our web site and all third parties booking sites clearly state that this room has no view and is at the rear of the building. On booking the room your husband would have seen this.

The reason that you were asked to leave was the fact that you were very rude and abusive from the moment you walked through the door and you told us before you even set foot in the dining room that you did not care how good your dinner may be you would make sure that the review you were going to write would be the worst ever. There was obviously no point in going any further and in an ideal world you should have left on your own accord as you stated while you were ranting at your husband.

There is always two sides to a story and for once an innocent hard working couple can have the right to reply to some seriously untrue accusations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful hotel last weekend unfortunately only for 1 night. The location is idyllic and the hotel is simply lovely and before checking in we had a look round the lovely Porlock village. We had the most spacious Allerford room which had wonderful sea and bay views and the double bed was simply dreamy. Our visit included the 5 course seafood taster menu which was truly scrumtious and the wine flight was purchased alongside as a welcome treat. After a blissful nights sleep we were treated to a delicious full breakfast before exploring properly. An absolute must is to download the Porlock trails app to your Smart phone- detailed in the little shop. We went on 2 wonderful walks using this app with a pit stop at the Ship Inn for lunch. The walk from the Bossington NT car park is an absolute must and beware Holm Oak woods. A fabulous break away and one we will be repeating for sure.

Room Tip: The Allerford is lovely and had an amazing nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondie3767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The Cafe is in a fantastic location! The peace and quiet and the view over the water are superb. The hotel staff are friendly and welcoming. The lounge and dining room are fabulous. The food and drink are excellent...even if you are not a lover of shellfish. The Dunster room we stayed in, while comfortable, has a rather unusual but quite serviceable en-suite bathroom. We enjoyed our stay here and would have no hesitation about a return visit and recommend this place as a great get-away break.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maggiecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock Weir
1.5 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cafe - Porlock Weir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cafe - Porlock Weir

Property: The Cafe - Porlock Weir
Address: Porlock Weir | Somerset, Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB, England (Formerly Andrews on the Weir)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock Weir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cafe - Porlock Weir 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Exmoor National Park in front of the 13th Century harbour at Porlock Weir, Somerset. The Cafe, formerly known as ‘Andrews on the Weir’, was relaunch in Summer of 2011 for those who want to enjoy the countryside retreat by the sea but weren’t prepared to compromise on high standards in accommodation and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cafe - Porlock Weir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cafe - Porlock Weir Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing