We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 2 night stay”

Miller's at the Anchor Restaurant
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful 2 night stay”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed on a deal for 2 nights (Sunday & Monday) which included B&B and afternoon tea. The staff were fantastic, couldn't do enough for us. We were the only ones eating in the restaurant on Sunday evening and had a very good meal (1 x Sea Bass, 1 x Pork Belly) with very good sweets to follow. The food was a little costly and, as someone else has pointed out, 10% was added to the bill for gratuities, which we didn't realise till we checked out (I may have missed it mentioned on the menu), but we always tip if service is good and it was very good.
Afternoon tea was also very good and plenty of it - finger sandwiches, cake and scones with clotted cream & jam.
The room was good, facing the harbour (great views) & plenty big enough, with 4 poster bed.
WiFi was only downstairs and still a bit hit & miss, but that was no problem.
The lounges at the Anchor are great for relaxing and it is a very interesting hotel.
On Monday, when the restaurant was closed, we ate at the Ship pub next door. Food was average at best and the chips from a plate of scampi & chips were returned as they were cold. This is obviously no reflection on the Anchor and only mentioned in passing. The Ship's Beer was good.
The location of the Anchor is wonderful, the hotel is very good and the staff were fantastic.
Thanks to the Anchor for a very enjoyable stay!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    50
    23
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perthshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely location, quirky decor, terrible food”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We ate here on a Sunday evening, on a 'meal and film' basis.
On the positive side, the hotel setting is lovely, and the hotel decor quirky and memorable - really liked it. The staff we met were very pleasant too.
However, the food was truly awful. We should have realised this as for most of our meal we were the only people eating there! We had two courses - soup (no other choice offered) and a roast beef dinner. I can honestly say that it was the worst roast dinner I have ever had in a restaurant. The beef was like leather, and the gravy massively over-salted.
Also, if you do eat here, beware - the bill came with a 10% gratuity already included, which we thought was pretty shabby considering how awful the food was.
Avoid.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PerthshireKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lunch not served at 1pm on Sunday!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We visited this restaurant just before 1pm and sat at a table outside for lunch. When we went inside to obtain a menu we were told that they were not going to serve any more meals until 1.45pm as they had some 'large tables' booked. Given this occurred on bank holiday sunday one would expect a hotel to be able to serve food all through the lunchtime period. Staff were serving meals at adjoining tables but not one of them thought to advise us that they were ceasing serving meals, nor was there any indication to this effect on the menu displayed on the lectern at the entrance. We walked past the restaurant later after having eaten at the adjacent SHIP INN (very good, incidentally) and noticed that the restaurant was not particularly busy so I can only conclude that Miller's at the Anchor Restaurant is poorly managed if they cannot cope with serving meals on bank holidays. I shall NOT consider eating here in the future.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank candj37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a disappointment.......”
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Went to Millers at Porlock Weir as I had heard the food and service was good.

It never fails to surprise me how different people have such different opinions. Ordered Millers homemade beefburger and fries - what I got was frozen burger and frozen chips at £9.95. Waited 5 minutes for ketchup, mayonnaise, salt and vinegar. I can only assume the kitchen is a long way from the dining room. There was 5 of us eating and each of our meals was £9.95. 3 x frozen burger and frozen chips, (shameful) I x Caesar Salad (average) and 1 x fish and chips (average)

When we received the bill I was quite shocked to see it was for £112.00. We paid £62.00 for 2 x bottles of Pinot, 2 bottles of coke and I bottle of lemonade - extortionate!!!!

Think carefully before eating here - you can always go freezer shopping at Iceland x


Will not be going back

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location .... a tad costly”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had walked up hill and down dale all day and were ravenous ..... designer portions with designer prices - food was excellent though and service great (even with a wedding in progress). Recommend the whitebait and the liver !!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cragnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller's at the Anchor Restaurant also viewed

Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park
Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Miller's at the Anchor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing