We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend break”
Review of The Bottom Ship

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock Weir
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bottom Ship
Ranked #3 of 3 Porlock Weir B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We booked a special offer on website with our parents which was very inexpensive so were unsure what to expect, we were pleasantly surprised our rooms were large and very comfortable. The pub was as we remembered it with lovely open fire and good homecooked food and very welcoming staff. We also met some of the locals and chatted away like old friends. We will be returning for another break hopefully before the special offer ends in march. Thanks to all at the Ship for making our stay with mum and dad very special.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 986Debs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 82 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

a drenched couple of blokes entered the Lower Ship, having spent a pleasant couple of hours at the Upper Ship in Porlock, having aperitifs. welcome was excellent, food was definitely what was required, and a lovely evening in the bar relaxing. Breakfast was good, and the setting superb. recommend for any walkers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We called into Porlock Weir very briefly on the way home from Barnstaple. Decided to have something to eat in "The Bottom Ship" and as a result we shall certainly be returning! The atmosphere is proper old school pub and the food was lovely. Staff were pleasant and accommodating and the service was very good. To be fair this was early evening on a Monday in October so they weren't exactly under full pressure but we're certainly going to be coming back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sophielouiseemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Porlock Weir's situation is just ideal, without anything of major intrusion. The Bottom Ship (same landlord as the Top Ship) has a splendid atmosphere from the moment one sets eyes on it. The staff team are friendly and delightful, the building emphasising what an old village pub, steeped in history, was like.
Good range of drink choices and ample bar/restaurant menu all served in good quantity at a fair price. The new "Steak Night" on Thursday and "Fish and Chips" on Friday are SUCH good value, with a free drink included! Can't better this offer these days.
I like the dog-friendly atmosphere, which always encourages locals and visitors to engage in friendly conversation.
"WincantonTristan" ought to have assured himself of what his Crab Mayonnaise consisted, prior to ordering. I'm sure that he could have ordered what best pleased him from these obliging girls.
The car park charges are grotesque but that is governed by the grasping hand of he who is laird of the Porlock Estate. The Ship can do nothing about the charges.
Ed. Raphael

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERaphael_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Have eaten here several times before but found it disappointing this time round. The member of staff who served us was in a world of her own and did not listen to what we ordered, hence the wrong order arrived. When we questioned it she told another member of staff 'That is what they ordered!' The menu was not very extensive so very little to choose from. The pub itself is in a lovely location and interesting.
Downside was the staff, some spent most of the time on their mobile phones than being attentive to customers.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank globalman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stopped at the Anchor for a light lunch before walking up the hill to Culbone Church (well worth the walk!!!). The choice of veggie options was good but we opted for the potato longboat with ratatouille - the portion size was good. It was well presented and the staff friendly. The interior of the pub is oldie worlde....but warm and welcoming. It was a lovely day so we sat outside where there is plenty of seating.....can get busy and meals stop at 3pm during the day.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank gilly_lou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We Stayed 2 nights at the bottom ship last week, the Pub is traditional and the staff on the whole were friendly.
Accommodation was a little dated but clean and tidy and of a good size. We ate in the bar on the first night and the meal was very tasty, we both had Fish and Chips as were at the coast so it would be rude not to... and when the meal arrived that what it was, Fresh Battered Fish, Chips and a dollop of Mushy peas with a lemon wedge to boot no salad.... not cheap at £9 but did the job.
Our room was over the entrance of the bar, so as it was a very warm evening we had to leave the windows open... so due to a few load members of staff enjoying a drink or too I was not able to get to sleep til gone 12 which after driving 5 hours to get to Somerset was a little annoying on a Wednesday evening as we thought it would be a quiet night.
We not asked during breakfast if we had slept well "I did have to shout out of the window and ask them to please be quiet", and as we were staying 2 nights I did not bring up the subject...
Luckily there was no Staff party on the 2nd evening so a good nights sleep was had...
Porlock Weir is a great place to go if like us you have a dog. I would stay at the ship again as they were very accommodating towards dogs.

Room Tip: Ask for the room away from beer garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Ducky259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock Weir
0 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
147 reviews
0 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
566 reviews
0 mi away
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
#1 of 3 in Porlock Weir
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
0 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
90 reviews
0 mi away
Chapel Knap Accommodation
Chapel Knap Accommodation
#1 of 1 in Porlock Weir
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bottom Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bottom Ship

Address: Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock Weir
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Bottom Ship Porlock Weir, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing