We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll be Back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Millers At The Anchor
Ranked #2 of 3 Porlock Weir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I'll be Back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

Fabulous hotel filled with the most interesting antiques. Wonderful location. The hotel is old, and very charming. While the plumbing may not be right up-to-date, the very comfortable bed and delightful furnishings more than make up for a slight delay in getting hot water! The staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltlwing64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    147
    50
    32
    12
See reviews for
59
344
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

The Anchor Hotel has changed hands recently and it was a place that we used to go frequently so it was with slight trepidation that we went to stay this time. We had a wonderful welcome from the daughter of the owner (she seemed to be doing everything in the hotel other than cooking and cleaning!) The location is fantastic, overlooking the bay and the beach with wonderful views from most of the rooms including the dining room. The Millers are well known for filling their hotels with all kinds of antiques and curios and they have done the same at The Anchor. It is fasinating to sit before dinner with a drink by the fire or in a cosy corner just gazing at the collection of antiques. The food and service is very good, our hotel deal was all inclusive but without that i think the meal would have been expensive but it was well cooked and nicely presented. The view, of course, was fabulous. The rooms are great, packed with antiques and pictures but the bathrooms need updating. The breakfast was very good, well, mine was, but my partner chose scrambled eggs with bacon and he got scrambled eggs on bread with no bacon but no matter, as we were gazing at the bay and a lovely sunny day. I hope the new owners do well at this hotel, they have obviously worked hard so they deserve to.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CotswoldsChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

Travelled with friends for a walking weekend-room booked by friend for self & wife-we were allocated a back room (we knew it was to be at the rear )but it was very disappointing--small with strange ensuite-wife not happy & asked if it was possible to change to another room--told OK & had the choice of 2--chose nice room at front & moved bags etc in--within an hour we were told they had made a mistake could not move us at all--full tomorrow--we would have to go back to original room-we compromised -we would have new room tonight & move to rear room in morning (we were charged the lower rate for both days which was fair but it did seem rather strange & as if they didn't really know what they were doing Had evening meal first night very good but we were only table (8)Breakfast was different however--went down 1st morning only 1 other table interested to see what was available--On menu--cereal fruit juice& Full English which then listed out contents plus extras 50p--I asked for Full English withBlack pudding-then had to be asked for room number of extra 50p charge
Next morning we got down early to avoid rush--people were now asking for variations to Full English eg Scrambled on toast with bacon & toms--what a muddle--kitchen could not cope we got our breakfast orders twice---& there were only 4 jars of Jam/Marmalade for whole dining room--great debate--do we take our plate of toast to the Jam& cereal table for a spoonful--or grab the jamjar & take it to our own table ? we did latter --horrified to find mould in the Blackcurrant!!! Come on Millers you can do better than this--A pot or three of Jams per table-& don't charge extra for extras (black pudding ) you don't knock any off for deduction from Standard English----Staff were very friendly & it was difficult to get upset--but a few basic improvements would make a world of difference

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

I was fortunate enough to hear about this hotel through a friends recommendation. On arrival, i was greeted by the owner Tanya Miller with a genuinely warm welcome, and was made to feel like an old friend staying at her very special home.
I stayed with my son in a unique room with the most tranquil and serene of views. On one side you have the lock and the other Exmoor park. My son couldn't get his wellies on quick enough. The whole establishment is full of antiques and trinkets. You can not help by be facinated by all that is around you and be pulled into a magical world of old and new. Quite special!
The restaurant was child freindly and catered to both our pallets. I had a delicious meal from a really great menu full of good old favourites with a modern twist. The staff were so friendly and efficient. We were made to feel like the most important people there.
I can not recommend Miller's at The Anchor more. It is so different and we can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teapot07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

On arrival I was greeted by an extremely friendly member of staff who showed me to the lounge area, it was beautifully decorated with old english artifacts.
The atmosphere in the hotel was calm and tranquil and was beautifully enhanced by the breathtaking views of the sea outside.
Every member of staff I talked to was polite and professional and it was clear that the hotel was well run by people who had extensive experience in the hotel business.
The menu offered a good variety of different foods which was refreshing. I will certainly be visiting again in the summer months. A hotel definetely worth recommending.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toby22s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

It is in the most marvellous location but clearly has had a chequered history. The good news is that it has been bought by Millers who know how to run a hotel but unfortunately they are trying to do it whilst still having it open to the paying public. For starters it needs rewiring and re-plumbing - some of our group had good water pressures, others had terrible pressure. Re-decoration is under way very much in the 'Millers' style which is fine but a nicely decorated bedroom is accompanied by a dire bathroom - small and cramped and beds that would be considered poor in a one star establishment. They also need to look at their housekeeping staff who are not doing a good enough job - just a couple of examples: dead flies in both room and bathroom and linen that didn't fit the bed. Kitchen staff were also obviously under strain as they couldn't cope when they had a full hotel for cooked breakfasts.
Could be great but they need to shut it, gut it and invest in good quality furnishings and bathrooms and get in a strong and experienced management and then they would have a complete gem.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank pzamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock Weir
1.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
#1 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.9 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millers At The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millers At The Anchor

Property: Millers At The Anchor
Address: Porlock Weir, Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA248PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock Weir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Millers At The Anchor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 200 years the Anchor has served Porlock Weir's 15th-century harbor for sailors, walkers and huntsmen alike. Where Exmoor meets the sea, Porlock Weir is an idyllic working harbor with stunning coastal views. Martin Miller together with his daughter Tanya have created a hunting lodge by the sea. This 14-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Anchor has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning Gin and tonic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millers At The Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millers At The Anchor Hotel Porlock
Millers At The Anchor Porlock Weir, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing