We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There is nowhere better to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Millers At The Anchor
Ranked #2 of 3 Porlock Weir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There is nowhere better to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

I have just come back from my second trip to The Anchor at Porlock Weir and it was as perfect as the first.
The staff are so friendly and will do anything to make your stay comfortable.

The hotel itself is a very special place, it is like going back in time and if you are unable to unwind and relax there you will never do anywhere.

A library full of books, sweets everywhere and the view is something that will stay with you for an awful long time after your visit.

There is no noise from any other guest as everybody that stays there goes for the peace.

If anybody gives a bad review then shame on them

Room Tip: See if you can get room 5, although as long as it has the view of the harbour it will be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernicebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    147
    50
    32
    12
See reviews for
59
344
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

A quirky, friendly hotel where the staff couldn't be more helpful - even if they don't speak the language. A lovely room with very comfortable bed, but noisy plumbing. A relaxed atmosphere everywhere and a great position with lovely views. Good choice of menu but all food from scrambled egg (breakfast)to chicken roulade (dinner) was overcooked and dry, such a shame. Never going to be a budget hotel and doubt that we will return, but glad to have enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel or away from the fast running stream at the rear left corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in April 2014. I booked the hotel via secret escapes but a short while before going had to change our travel dates. I contacted the hotel and the booking was changed with no problem. We stayed in Room 6,a corner room, harbour view, four posted bed and the quaintest room possible. Two big armchairs fill the bay window which we turned around to face out to take in the view. Sipping a Miller's gin and tonic from the comfort of these chairs, admiring the view was heaven. We ate in the hotel and the food was good but a little pricey. The staff are so friendly and although we did have a few Fawlty Tower moments ( every time we walked into reception they thought we were another couple) it just added to the quirkiness The walks from the hotel are not challenging but great for a short break and the views wonderful. The hotel is full of old pictures, statues and the lighting at night is complimented by candles. We had a wonderful time and will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which was at the far corner of the hotel with windows at the side and with front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nj18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We LOVED staying here, we had a room with a view of the harbour and a comfy four poster bed. The staff were lovely and even though they were learning english on the job they tried very hard. We had a lovely meal on the Friday night (18.4.14) with great service and a view of the tide coming in. The building is stuffed full of antiques with a comfy lounge and library stuffed full of books and games. The only minor point is that our room needed better and darker curtains for summer (we always wear eye masks anyway) and some of the paint needed touching up BUT these are only minor points - I would not hesitate to go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: The sea view with a four poster bed is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenaCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This was our third visit here but our first stay. We had a room overlooking the sea which was beautiful watching the sun rise. The bathroom was clean and the power shower was excellent, good job the kids were not with us cos we would never have left the room!

Great choice of breakfast with attentive pleasant staff. The quirkiness of the place is bonkers and I loved the comfort and the honesty bar, which we used :) if you want to get away from it all then this place will not disappoint you, reading, chess, monopoly and a cinema all on hand. The food in the restaurant is superb.

If i could complain about anything here it would be a few cobwebs here and there which i suppose add to the character and antiques, a little sooty around the real fireplace and the torn sofas which are really worn and a bit grubby, but are comfy to sit in for a while.

The surrounding countryside is truly magical and a trip into Lynton and Lynmouth are well worth the ride along the coastal road. If your a walker then there are some great places to trek about.

All in all its a beautiful part of the south west to visit and the hotel well worth a stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bowler18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Just arrived back from a short stay at the Millers at the Anchor hotel. The hotel is set in Porlock Weir with beautiful views over the harbour. The inside is crammed with antiques and books. On arrival, we were welcomed and shown around the hotel and to our room, which had stunning views across the harbour. It was also spacious and the bed was very comfortable.

There was a choice of breakfast served in the morning, from smoked salmon and scrambled eggs to a full English. The breakfast was very tasty and the service was excellent.

Miller gin is delicious and the glasses that it comes in are very unusual. Definitely recommend!

Overall it was a fantastic break and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The sea view is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I went with some friends who arranged the visit and it was a total surprise where we were going. It is hard to describe what a gem this place is. Stuffed with antiques, rooms that are individual and trays of sweets everywhere. There is a little cinema with several sofas arranged cinema style. It wasn't in use the days we were there but it would be great fun to watch a film in there. Breakfast was good. didn't eat there in the evenings so can't comment. The bed was comfortable and the view from my window over the harbour was worth the cost on its' own. I am hoping to take my wife there later in the year. I just love the place!

Room Tip: I had room 5 overlooking the harbour. Perfect! (If you are a light sleeper the windows can rattle ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock Weir
1.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
#1 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.9 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millers At The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millers At The Anchor

Property: Millers At The Anchor
Address: Porlock Weir, Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA248PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock Weir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Millers At The Anchor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 200 years the Anchor has served Porlock Weir's 15th-century harbor for sailors, walkers and huntsmen alike. Where Exmoor meets the sea, Porlock Weir is an idyllic working harbor with stunning coastal views. Martin Miller together with his daughter Tanya have created a hunting lodge by the sea. This 14-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Anchor has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning Gin and tonic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millers At The Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millers At The Anchor Hotel Porlock
Millers At The Anchor Porlock Weir, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing