We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mature Couple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Millers At The Anchor
Ranked #2 of 3 Porlock Weir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mature Couple”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had an excellent welcome at this hotel. It was fun looking around all the collectables. The food was not fine dining (but we were not expecting that) but tasty, well cooked and presented. I could not fault the ambience and am sure to go back. Walks were good from the front door and a lovely view of the harbour from our room and the dining room. An old building so windows rattle a little with gale force winds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    152
    55
    32
    12
See reviews for
59
354
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My partner and I arranged to go here for Good Friday for a quick getaway. The room was not ready when we arrived so we had cream tea in the main sitting area before being shown to our room. The service was friendly (although at times difficult to find staff) and our room was clean and spacious. We also had dinner there and the food was very good and would highly recommend eating in the hotel.

The down side for us was it was freezing in our room and throughout. I had my coat on when in the sitting area and had to get a cardigan to be able to sit comfortably in the restaurant. The shower was very temperamental and in the end we both had baths as the plumbing simply wasn't up to it. This was a great shame and was irritating given the money we had spent to stay there. The hotel was not properly heated and even with a radiator in our room and a separate oil radiator it was still freezing.

If the hotel can deal with the plumbing and heating during the colder months I would have no difficulties giving it a much higher rating as the room quality, service and food were very good. The gin is also worth trying.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
138 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Millers for several nights while visiting family in Porlock. Both Porlock and the Weir are two of my favorite places to visit. Millers is completely over the top with antiques and curiosities - loved it! The staff was pleasant and reception was quick to take us to our room. We stayed in the Oscar Wilde room on the 3rd floor – my husband and I found this a very funny coincidence indeed! The room had a wonderful view of the weir, a nice bed and teeny tiny water closet (literally) that also included a teeny tiny shower. The sink for the bathroom was across the room which was a bit unseemly but this was the solution for this old hotel. The sink (as another hotel on this trip) did not have a mixer faucet so we were blessed with only icy cold or hot water for whatever activity was taking place. Seems a bit antiquated in 2013 for a hotel. We had the full English breakfast every morning which was very pleasant with wonderful hot coffee and warm service. For a special treat we had an absolutely incredible dinner in the hotel’s restaurant one evening. Everyone agreed it was delicious and the service perfect. One afternoon I had the most delicious cream tea - I like a moist scone! I would highly recommend staying at Millers if in the Porlock region.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Weir.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a charming place furnished out of an antiques warehouse. The staff are good when you meet them but could show a little more presence when guests arrive or call the hotel. The dinner was excellent as was breakfast. A great place to stay for walkers but it isn't cheap.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backzapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We returned to this lovely hotel for our first wedding anniversary weekend April 6th --7th after staying there for our honeymoon last year. It was like returning home. The staff remembered us and we stayed in the same room as last year. Nothing was too much trouble to enable us to enjoy our anniversary. The staff so friendly, the food amazing -- afternoon cream tea, scones warm and fluffy with clotted cream and jam, the evening meal delicious to the breakfast in the morning. Left feeling that we wished we could stay longer, relaxed after a wonderful nights sleep in the huge four poster bed. An amazing hotel tucked away in a lovely setting. We will be returning and next time longer. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Stay in the harbour deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finnagan0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We spent a night here last month for my birthday and got an upgrade to a sea view room complete with a four poster bed. We left one of the curtain undrawn as it was pitch dark outside and woke up to the most beautiful view in the morning. Breakfast was great as was the staff. The location of the hotel was absolutely fantastic with lovely walks nearby. Last and not the least, the hotel itself was rather quirky, a bit of an acquired taste, but definitely makes a change to the normal hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pchipstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is crazy! The whole place is stuffed full of 'collectables' and antiques. Including many stuffed animal heads on the walls. Even the bedroom walls are completely full. The setting is spectacular - we had a family room sleeping 4 overlooking the harbor. The night time views across to the twinkling lights of Wales were stunning. The staff were very friendly and the breakfasts good - large with a good choice - although we didn't eat evening meals there as the vegetarian choice was somewhat lacking as were the children's meals.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock Weir
1.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
159 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
#1 of 3 in Porlock Weir
354 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
69 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millers At The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millers At The Anchor

Property: Millers At The Anchor
Address: Porlock Weir, Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock Weir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Millers At The Anchor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 200 years the Anchor has served Porlock Weir's 15th-century harbor for sailors, walkers and huntsmen alike. Where Exmoor meets the sea, Porlock Weir is an idyllic working harbor with stunning coastal views. Martin Miller together with his daughter Tanya have created a hunting lodge by the sea. This 14-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Anchor has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning Gin and tonic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Millers At The Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millers At The Anchor Hotel Porlock
Millers At The Anchor Porlock Weir, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing