We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Millers At The Anchor
Ranked #2 of 3 Porlock Weir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
warwickshire
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Quirky place to stay”
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night as we were travelling through. Quirky hotel with lots to look at, good breakfast & friendly staff. Didn't eat in the hotel as the restaurant was closed so ate in the pub next door, good pub grub.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazjosmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    159
    56
    33
    13
See reviews for
61
364
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed a this hotel a few years ago and thought it had seen better days. We were therefore quite excited when we found out Martin Miller of the Miller's Gin and Antiiques Guides had bought the place and it was also still dog friendly. We decided to visit for a special birthday treat on their mid-week break DB&B package with afternoon tea. Things started OK with a nice cream tea in the lounge amongst the paintings and antiques. Dinnner however turned out to be disappointing mainly due to lack of attention to detial on the service front. We came down for dinner and were offered an aperitive. There was an empty bowl of peanuts on the table, just salty debris, when we asked for a fresh bowl we were advised that they didn't have any left. One of our party ordered a sheery and was given a very small glass, when he asked for a second sherry it took ages to come. We were given menus and a wine list, our order for food was taken and the waitress commented that everyone was ordering the scallops and the duck, I asked if there was enough left and was assured there was. The wailtress returned later to apologise that there were not enough scallops left after all - lack of communication between the kitchen and the waiting staff. Noone took our order for wine until we had been shown to our table and the starter had already arrived. We were brought the wrong wine initially so we had nearly finished the starter when the correct wine for the starter arrived. Two adjacent tables sent thier duck back because it was tough, we persisted but it could have been better. The salad garnishes on all the courses and the grapes on the cheese board all loooked tired and the cheeses were not Somerset cheeses even though we were advised they were! We were not offered any coffee so we decided to decamp to the pub next door for a beer! I think this is yet another case of someone with with a name and some capital branching out and buying up more and more properties and then having no control over what is going on. The staff were friendly but noone seemed to be in charge. Such a shame when we had expected so much more given the prices charged and the write ups in the press.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOCH-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Returned to the hotel in June with mother-in-law, having enjoyed a couple's break back in February. Ironically the weather was summer-like then and we'd enjoyed long sunny walks as well as cosy evenings by the fire... but cold, grey and wet when we visited last week. Never mind, we were giving mum-in-law another trip down memory lane and she thoroughly enjoyed the blustery walk along Minehead prom, tea at Dunster and the chance to enjoy the lovely views of (and from) Porlock Weir. She loved the hotel and the staff treated her beautifully - so our second stay at Millers was another success!
We love it all too, but there are definitely disappointments over some aspects which potential guests need to take on board before they arrive so that they know what to expect. The bathrooms are not great - OK but not great. Our's had a broken loo seat which we discovered on first use - admittedly it was replaced as soon as we brought it to the attention of staff, but the room should not have been left in that state. The bathroom door sticks and so there was a struggle to open it to get in and out - which created a sort of vacuum that then made the bath panels pop out. All easy to remedy and not enough to spoil our holiday but I just think that, bearing in mind the cost of our stay, the hotel is really missing a trick over small issues like this. The food is also only OK, some meals better than others, so don't go expecting gastronomic excellence (and we had to call the waitress back to exchange hot milk for cold with our afternoon tea!) but the eating experience is such fun that it would be a shame to miss it. The definite pluses, apart from the decor which we love, are the charming, attentive staff, the relaxed ambience, the location and views. We loved being able to kick off our shoes and relax in the sitting room or by the fire, to read, play Scrabble or chat - without feeling in the way. We'll probably be back sometime, but we will have to save up for our next trip!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babeth49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Check in was fine but when being shown to our room the receptionist apologised for the bathroom, gave us the key and disappeared very quickly. On checking out the supposed "bathroom" I can understand why. It consisted of a shower and toilet with very little room between either. The sink was in the main bedroom and was an inconvenience when using the loo in the night as you then have to navigate your way to it whilst waking up your partner. The room itself was OK, nothing special although the sea view was a plus. For £140 for the night I was expecting something a lot better.

I would also point out that the carpets on the stairs are a dark blue, the lighting in these areas is rather poor also. This resulted in me taking a tumble on the main stairs and also a near miss on the very narrow stairs leading from our room.

The only redeeming feature of this establishment was the restaurant. The food was excellent, very tasty and large portions. There was also a good vegetarian selection. The only downside was that we had a rather loud table of boorish Londoners down for the weekend who maybe should have been seated in the seperate dining area.

So to sum up, I would eat here again but definitely wouldn't stay the night unless I started to suffer from agrophobia in which case the bathroom would be perfect!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at the hotel, this time for a few quiet days away following our wedding. Once again Tanya and the team delivered a first class break. The room was wonderful, with a HUGE comfy bed, wonderful views across the bay and a lovely refurbed bathroom. Breakfast and dinner both beautiful, they even managed to find me a phone charger when I discovered I'd left mine at home. The second night was very windy so the windows rattled a bit, but it 's what you expect when you stay in such a lovely old hotel. Absolutley wonderful place, we'll be back!!

Room Tip: If you don't "Get" quirky hotels, check into a travel lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countessdotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

The recommendation for afternoon tea lived up to our expectations.
Everything was deliciouse, fresh and there was defiantly no shortage of food. The surounding are very unique like stepping back in time.
Well work the money, would like to return in the future and stay in the hotel to sample more of the millers gin

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Most of the reviews speak about this wonderful place butwhat we really made our stay was the excellent English Breakfast cooked bt Jane.
Very friendly and professional member of the staff.
Cakes and Scones with cream also baked by Jane very , very good.
Would come back again.
Thank you once again Jane for service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinnymas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock Weir
1.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
170 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
714 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
236 reviews
6.0 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
8.8 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millers At The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millers At The Anchor

Property: Millers At The Anchor
Address: Porlock Weir, Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock Weir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Millers At The Anchor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 200 years the Anchor has served Porlock Weir's 15th-century harbor for sailors, walkers and huntsmen alike. Where Exmoor meets the sea, Porlock Weir is an idyllic working harbor with stunning coastal views. Martin Miller together with his daughter Tanya have created a hunting lodge by the sea. This 14-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Anchor has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning Gin and tonic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Millers At The Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millers At The Anchor Hotel Porlock
Millers At The Anchor Porlock Weir, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing