We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic venue for a lunch party”
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Withypool B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our party was 17 family and friends .We were not kept waiting and the food was amazing. Would recommend it to both locals and tourists, not expensive and well worth a visit. New Landlord certainly knows how to run a decent pub. Bonus is that its dog friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mopdraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 159 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

We spent three nights at this pub in the tiny village of Withypool in the midst of the Exmoor National Park in November. Our room, Bedroom 1, was very comfortable, well-equipped and with a large bathroom. We had our evening meals at the pub and every time the food was superb, well above average pub food. Breakfast were also a delight. Paul, Sarah and their staff were friendly and helpful, and we would certainly go back again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: Bedroom 1 is very comfortable with a large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michaelelvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

we stayed for two nights in October, the rooms were lovely and had all you needed, the bed was comfy with proper cotton bedding and comfy pillows. The menu was interesting and we were spoilt for choice the food when it arrived was simply amazing, good choice of wines also. The breakfasts were wonderful, lots of choice and freshly cooked, we're already planning a return trip in the spring
Pam C

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamcheeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Once again The Royal Oak Inn on Exmoor Withypool came up with a really nice plate of food.
Both main courses that my wife & I chose were perfect.
Nice choice of beers, ales & a really nice wine list.
Combined with a professional and friendly service made good the end of a busy day.
We shall be back!
I really like what the new owners Paul and Sarah have done since taking the Oak over.
Even the office/reception has changed for a "Cleaner" look
The food is now well balanced and you fight with your self as to what you'd like to eat.
I'm not really a "Drinker" these days but looking at the wine list, it certainly rivals the restaurants we visited in our recent cycle trip across France.
Sarah is not just owner but also a highly accomplished chef and it shows!
This Lovely Traditional Exmoor Inn is truly worthy of a visit or three...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDFtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We decided to stay in Exmoor at short notice for just a weekend get away and I'm glad we did.
The Royal Oak is set in a small village in the middle of Exmoor away from everything (no phone signal ..... great but free wifi)
On our arrival on Friday night we checked in to a lovely room, dog was catered for with welcoming biscuit bowl and blanket. Bathroom was spacious, lovely big bath and very clean. Bed was to die for.
Ate in the bar which had open log fire and a great rural feel to it. Then the food, quality through and through and superb value. I had the Partridge which was exceptional and my girlfriend had the fish which was equally as good.
Don't get me started on the breakfast......... incredible variety from porridge to naturally smoked haddock with poached egg. You need to take advantage of the local walk or you would be the size of a house. The walks were great by the way.
Truly made to feel very welcome and would highly recommend. Am already planning to take friends there as a treat.

One word of warning, the Mad Apple Cider on draught, not for the faint hearted.

Room Tip: Bring a Sat Nav
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Lovely peaceful village deep in Exmoor. Splendid old inn, with attractive bar(s), friendly landlord, but the food is the standout - far FAR above the norm, with a sure touch, plenty of imagination, and a good big plateful as well. Bedroom clean and comfortable. I am being a bit stingy in going to only 4 here - the bathroom was a shade cramped and tired (though it's an old building: I shouldn't expect anything else really) - and really it's 4 and a half at least. I'd stay again, no fears at all, and warmly recommend this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

have been staying here for 12 years always good but new ownership this year
food overcooked and cold, manager offhand and rude and refused to apologise.
will not be returning much better places around this area.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank 438Jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Withypool
10.4 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
765 reviews
10.4 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
147 reviews
5.1 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
987 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
259 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel, Exford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Inn

Address: Withypool, Withypool, Exmoor National Park TA24 7QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Withypool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Withypool
Price Range: $115 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Withypool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing