We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Withypool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Loudwater
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Straight from the start, we had a wonderful welcome - a great couple run the place and their hospitality is amazing. The food is absolutely lovely with incredible portion sizes (smoked salmon and scrambled eggs at breakfast was huge!!), the beer is kept really well, the surroundings are beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful company. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KD1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    38
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
76
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We returned to the Royal Oak after an absence of a few years, and were reminded of all the things we love about the place. It may be under new management, but the rooms remain a delight, the service is excellent and the food wonderful (large portions). And Jake is still behind the bar! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajrSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I had walked all day in the pouring rain so was very glad to arrive at the Royal Oak in Withypool. The bar area is quite dimply lit and has a real fire at one end making it a lovely hideaway from the cold and wet outside. My room was lovely and had a double bed with a really terrific country-style bathroom. Everything worked as it should and had a rustic charm distinguishing it from the main-stream hotel chain offerings. My room was actually part of the fire escape route and consequently had a lock which, in emergencies, could be opened without a key. It didn't really reduce the security of the room at all but did make locking the door quite tricky. I'd say they should have another look at the lock on that door! Also, the bed had a 13.5 tog duvet on it which may be luxurious but I found it massively too hot and could not sleep under it at all. I used the duvet cover and spare blanket from the wardrobe instead, which was fine with me.
The food in the bar/restaurant was actually very good, and while the dim lighting meant it was hard to see much of it, it tasted great. I'm not so sure about the beer though! Maybe it was just the make of ale but I won't be hurrying back for more. The wifi worked very well both in my room and in the bar.
The service was friendly and efficient and overall I'd say I had a lovely stay and would recommend the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Well I don't know where to start. Booked via the Internet on Tuesday afternoon. Double room with breakfast included £90. Although I assume the last room I had due to the iron man being on so had a private bathroom across the hall. But that was no problem at all. From time of arrival to departure everything was just fantastic.
Great cider, ales and service. After a nice relaxing bath went back down for a couple of drinks before dinner. Then this is where it all went wrong!! I must point out at this point for the rightreasons!!
The choice on the menu was just amazing so it took sometime to choose. So after sometime thinking the deed was done.

Deep fried Brie wedges, my goodness I have never seen so much cheese
Chicken liver parfait , just lovely both to start

Followed by,

Baked fig risotto and turbot and king prawn linguine .

Oh and Eton mess for afters and a good couple of glasses of rose.

The bar was buzzing the staff were fantastic and provided a warmth to the stay.

Just one warning to anyone who visits the royal oak! You will not go hungry especially if you stay over night and go for the full English breakfast. I like my food but I have to admit leaving what can only be described as the best English breakfast I have ever had.


Room and bathroom very clean quite and well presented.

Well worth a visit!!!!!!

Thanks to Paul and Sarah and your staff for just a brilliant stay.

Will be back very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrumpy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Erth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked dinner for 5 people.
My wife & I (and we love our food , it has to be good!)
One of my wife's clients who had come over from Italy
and our friends Mother & Father of whom are two "Time Served" now retired hoteliers from the busy resort of St Ives. (The Father being a accomplished chef of some 35 years) and both well travelled.
This is as I have said before an "Old World Inn" and therefore no surprise that the "Rustic, Traditional" Bar ticks all the boxes. It has a nice atmosphere, yes it is "Low Lit" lighting wise, but that only adds to the atmosphere.
The young waitress (I believe new to the establishment) was very helpful, pleasant and did her level best to answer all our questions.
Dinner selected was 3 x fish and chips, 1 x steak and kidney Pie, & 1 x "Rabbit" dish.
All cooked beautifully, delivered to the table together, the only complaint on first ovbservation? That portion of Steak and Kidney pie and veg is big!
The Fish and Chips, really nice, The Steak and Kidney pie had a very artistic puff pastry crust , obviously hand designed...A nice personal touch by the chefs.
The dish that was given the highest scrutiny it has to be said was our friends father, being a chef, his comments were, "Beautifully Presented, Nice balanced dish" Needless to say, all the plates were clean! (well except for the steak and kidney pie as it was a big portion!)
With a good selection of beers, ales, soft drinks and wine available, no complaints there.
We finished off with Mint teas for the ladies and coffees for the rest of us.
Paul (Owner Manager) was very attentive, friendly and could not have made our meal any better.
The new waitress, was very nice and efficient.
All I can say is, If you have had a bad experience here, I feel you should give it a second chance, I watched others in the Inn receiving their meals, from an amazing "Pint of Prawns" to "Rib Eye" steaks that floated by, all seemed very happy and there was a great buzz in the room.
To give an idea of cost.
With a round of drinks, Main courses and coffees to finish. £86.00 was the order of the day. So for 5 persons that's hardly a bank buster for good food.
The second part of the Royal Oaks Deal is that it is a couple running the show. Paul & Sarah, Sarah is an accomplished Chef and has along with new chefs at her side, they've changed the menu.
We will be going back. It'll be the 5 time we've eaten there since Mothers Day weekend.
Nuff said

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TDFtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed for one night and the staff were superb, very busy pub and great food. The bedrooms and bed were very comfortable and very clean and had a great nights sleep. Took the dog with us, great long walk from the tar steps, then after dinner brought her into pub, no problems at all, everybody made a fuss of her. No problems in recommending a stay here.

Room Tip: Not no 6 as its above the bar, if you are early to bed, but nice bath!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jura11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great old inn and bar and friendly hosts. Good size rooms. Good shower, hot and with good pressure. A nice big bed, but a bit soft. Good wifi. Very nice meals and ales. Nicely decorated throughout but ceiling in room three needs attention as is is discoloured and cracking. Lovely quiet village and location. Nice breakfast and a great packed walkers lunch the next day. A nice overnight stay while walking the Two Moors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david102a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Withypool
1.8 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
5.1 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Tarr Farm Inn
Tarr Farm Inn
#1 of 2 in Tarr Steps
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
5.1 mi away
Exmoor Forest Inn
Exmoor Forest Inn
#1 of 3 in Simonsbath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
2.0 mi away
Edgcott House
Edgcott House
#1 of 8 in Exford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Inn

Property: The Royal Oak Inn
Address: Withypool, Withypool, Exmoor National Park TA24 7QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Withypool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Withypool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Withypool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing