We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel”
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Withypool B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Absolutely awful.
Dirty rooms and appalling service.
if you want to be a good nights sleep without bed lice don't stay here.
Stayed here with my girlfriend and had the most horrid time.
We would not recommend this to any one, there are much better hotels in the area this place should be shut down and re built from top to bottom.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ginger r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 156 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

wonderfully rustic yet comfortable inside with good service and excellent food.Great choice on menu scudding lovely fresh fish. Had a very nice evening here with friends all at reasonable price (food only - didn't stay)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jelico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The manageress was very helpful & friendly giving us a choice of rooms on arrival. Beautifully kept and fresh towels every day - nothing was too much trouble.
Excellent breakfast and even produced a sausage on a plate for our little dog's breakfast. Great bar meals if you dont want to go into the "Blue Room".
Dogs were very welcome.
We will definitely be visiting again and recomending to friends as well.

Room Tip: Any room would be good but perhaps best avoiding the one on the left of the main stairs (double with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outforsupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Royal Oak at Withypool was recommended to us by a friend so we were a little taken aback when we drove into the inn car park. It looked a little run down and in need of some decorative attention. We were booked in to stay for three nights so we entered our room with some trepidation. The room was not as large as we might have expected and was a bit on the creaky side. The bathroom was a decent size with a large victorian style roll edge bath and shower overhead. My wife and I decided we would make the most of our break so we were determined not to be negative about things - we did not have to worry.

The bed was so comfortable and the room so quiet (after closing time) we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

The food was very good and the staff were all local and very friendly.

The location is superb - miles from anywhere and no mobile phone coverage - absolute bliss.

If you are put off by old buildings and need your up-to-date amenities this place is not for you. But if you want a unique and genuine English inn this is it.

Room Tip: Ask for information on the rooms when booking - our room did not have a chest-of-drawers and was als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aarovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Have just returned from a fabulous weekend break at this hidden gem right in the heart of Exmoor National Park. Rooms are outstanding and full of lovely little touches like bathrobes, toiletries, refreshments and even paracetamol. Was spoilt for choice for breakfeast, usual toast and cereal was offered but then had choice of full english, smoked salmon and scambled eggs, poached haddock, kippers or cinnamon porridge. Evening meals are also of an exceptional high quality. Jeanette is an excellent hostess and could not do more for you, eventhough I was on a special diet she made every effort to make sure my needs were met. We went on our motorbike and the surrounding roads are a bikers dream, Purlock Hill is a must !!! Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: We had room number 6 that has a roll top bath and a spiral staircase to outside which is handy if li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were out for a drive and ended up in Withypool. We dropped in for a beer and were so impressed with the menu we decided to stop for food. It was well worth it. Large portions and great quality produce at decent prices. A good mix of traditional and creative kept both myself and hubby happy. Staff were friendly and efficient and service smooth.
I would have preferred a better selection of ales. My hubby was driving, otherwise he would have complained about the cider choice.
We are thinking about Booking in here next time we come down, the accommodation looked so nice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianthe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

It's hard to beat this Exmoor gem when it comes to Sunday Roast! Fantastic tasting meat, all the trimmings and as much veg as you can eat cooked to perfection. All the staff are very friendly and make you very welcome. Well worth a stop if you are in the area on holiday. Luckily we only live half an hour away so we can go regularly!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Withypool
10.4 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
745 reviews
1.8 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
5.1 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
184 reviews
3.7 mi away
Royal Oak Exmoor
Royal Oak Exmoor
#1 of 2 in Winsford
228 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel, Exford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Inn

Address: Withypool, Withypool, Exmoor National Park TA24 7QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Withypool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Withypool
Price Range: $112 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Withypool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing