We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Find”
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Withypool B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Have just returned from a fabulous weekend break at this hidden gem right in the heart of Exmoor National Park. Rooms are outstanding and full of lovely little touches like bathrobes, toiletries, refreshments and even paracetamol. Was spoilt for choice for breakfeast, usual toast and cereal was offered but then had choice of full english, smoked salmon and scambled eggs, poached haddock, kippers or cinnamon porridge. Evening meals are also of an exceptional high quality. Jeanette is an excellent hostess and could not do more for you, eventhough I was on a special diet she made every effort to make sure my needs were met. We went on our motorbike and the surrounding roads are a bikers dream, Purlock Hill is a must !!! Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: We had room number 6 that has a roll top bath and a spiral staircase to outside which is handy if li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    43
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
14
82
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were out for a drive and ended up in Withypool. We dropped in for a beer and were so impressed with the menu we decided to stop for food. It was well worth it. Large portions and great quality produce at decent prices. A good mix of traditional and creative kept both myself and hubby happy. Staff were friendly and efficient and service smooth.
I would have preferred a better selection of ales. My hubby was driving, otherwise he would have complained about the cider choice.
We are thinking about Booking in here next time we come down, the accommodation looked so nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianthe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

It's hard to beat this Exmoor gem when it comes to Sunday Roast! Fantastic tasting meat, all the trimmings and as much veg as you can eat cooked to perfection. All the staff are very friendly and make you very welcome. Well worth a stop if you are in the area on holiday. Luckily we only live half an hour away so we can go regularly!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

excellent food,clean tidy rooms very helpful staff, a very warm welcome on arrival.you can eat in the restaurant or bar area we chose the bar it has a wonderfull oldy world feel about it.if i was being very fussy i would say the rooms could do with updating but my wife insisted it all added to the charm of the place. loads to see & do all around you. the tarr steps and river walk is a must.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colincher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Accommodation for day 2 of our two moors way walking holiday. Great welcome and food. Room was slightly small with an external bathroom that was spacious and had a deep bath that helped soak away the pains of the days walking. The hotel suffered from noisey guests on the evening we stayed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miket72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed at this lovely old pub in exmoor for three nights. Made my husband and myself very welcome and our little dog even more welcome, on arrival we was shown to a very clean, nice smelling and well equipped room, there was even a towel and blanket for our dog and a bowl with welcome biscuits.Breakfast was excellent. All the staff are very helpful and friendly. (Unlike some pubs/hotels that insult you with shabby rooms because you have a dog, the Royal Oak spoils you with genuine 4*accommodation) Totally recommend a real treat. Well done to all at the Royal Oak Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We love the Royal Oak at Withypool and this was our third visit. It is ideally located for long moorland walks and offers a warm welcome on return. The rooms are quirky - as befits an old Inn - but immaculately clean and comfortably kitted out. Breakfast is special - check out the berries compote with yoghurt and follow with any of the delicious mains. I think the mushrooms are superior to any I've had elsewhere - must be the Exmoor terroir.

Jeanette runs the place in ship shape manner, nothing is too much trouble and she always has time for a chat - or more likely - a good old laugh. Indeed we had excellent service from the whole team.

Room Tip: Telephone to ask about the differences between the rooms - some don't have showers because of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannaMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Withypool
1.8 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
10.4 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
5.1 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Royal Oak Exmoor
Royal Oak Exmoor
#1 of 2 in Winsford
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
King's Farm
King's Farm
#2 of 2 in Withypool
59 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tarr Farm Inn
Tarr Farm Inn
#1 of 2 in Tarr Steps
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Inn

Property: The Royal Oak Inn
Address: Withypool, Withypool, Exmoor National Park TA24 7QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Withypool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Withypool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Withypool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing